Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Cockspur 12-Year rum

Cockspur 12-Year

Barbados | Aged | 40% ABV | Pot and Column Still

7.0/10
72 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
0
0
5
2
14
20
25
6
0

Rate Cockspur 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

72 Cockspur 12-Year Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

laurent 🇫🇷 | 64 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

Nose : I smell some esters : very slightly "jamaican" I would say ? Mostly Alcohol at the beginning but let your glass breathe for a while and some better aromas will come. Taste : quite smooth, oaky/vanilla. I find the taste very different (and smoother ) from the nose which is always something interesting.
OK it is not smooth and complex as others (RL Seales...) bot honnestly at this price tag it is really more than decent ! A good surprise. Perfect to try a "true" bajan rhum for a budg if you only know sugar-syrup like rhums.

Le nez me rappelle un peu les rhums jamaicains , toute proportion gardée. Comme beaucoup d'autres rhums il mérite de s'évaporer un peu quelques minutes sinon on sent surtout l'alcool. En bouche c'est plutôt sympa, finalement beaucoup plus doux et rond que le nez le laissait présager. Pas mal de boisé et de vanille, pas autant que du RL Seale's ou des rhums plus chers mais franchement à ce prix c'est plus qu'honnête. Une bonne surprise quoi.
Je le recommanderais à ceux qui veulent savoir ce qu'est du "vrai" rhum de la Bardbade sans se ruiner.

Helena Tiare 🇸🇪 | 110 ratings
Posted 10 years ago

Makes lovely rum punch! Best to use for cocktails I think rather than sip it.

revsteph (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 409 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Tasted at Ruins, San Antonio
November 6 2023
Appearance: Amber
Aroma: smoke, pepper, brown sugar
Flavor: brown sugar, vanilla, white pepper. This is a peppery rum, with peppery staying power. Not unpleasant - but unusual for its pervasiveness
A drop of water opens up floral notes

Lodni sroub 🇨🇿 | 3 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Bronze, sweet, nice smell, tastes of citrus and spices

sketcher1255 🇺🇸 | 22 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

A REAL good one at ANY price. A “Best Buy” anywhere under $30!

johncaddell 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted over 3 years ago

This is a fine Bajan rum. I get notes of orange and subtle smoke. Little to no burn. It's a polite, pleasant spirit, and I enjoy it immensely.

Harrie 🇳🇱 | 91 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

This is as Bajan as they come. Light, fruity, medium bodied and flawless. On the nose there is, apart from the usual suspects (vanilla, fudge and oak) a similer accidity as in their Cockspur 5 stars rum. Though I got sour berries in the last one, the accidity in the "12" is more like baked pinapple with something I can't get pinned down. It is a rather easy and light rum, not very complex but certainly more interesting than the (also nice) "5 stars".

There is but one problem and that is the price overhere; I could get this bottle with a nice discount but normally it is priced similar to R.L. Seale's 10yo and Mount Gay XO and there is no way this Cockspur comes even close in terms of depth and complexity. So a really nice rum that is (easily) surpassed by other Bajan rums in the same price-range.

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 506 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

I will always have a soft spot for Cockspur after my surfing adventures in Barbados in the late 70’s early 80’s. But with that said Cockspur has not held up with Mt Gay and Doorly’s (now four square). The 12 was ok but Ron Abuelo 12 from Panama is much better as is Doorly’s 12 and Mt Gay XO. I wanted to love it but not worth my money.

Seko 🇨🇿 | 205 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

The nose is very nice tropical fruits mix, with pronounced coconut, the body is light, sweet, but without any sugar added, full of tropical fruits, some toffee, playful and sexy composition. The cask is not much present in the taste, it is quite muted compared to Doorly's 12y or Mount Gay XO, as if the used barrels were somewhat old. On the other hand the overall feel is very smooth, maybe even smoother than the other two mentioned Bajans. For this price (some 20% cheaper than Doorlys 12y and 30% than the Mount Gay XO), and someone who loves Bajan style - this is a must-have. Very good sipper, for affordable price.

5691Aa 🇺🇸 | 30 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

We've been spoiled by Doorly's. This is a nice rum. Pleasant aroma, caramel?. Smooth, but not distinct in flavor. Works well as mixer. Neat can work, but leaves more to be desired. Good Bajan rum

Chet 🇺🇸 | 199 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Bought this stuff at the source. Very surprised, i went into it half hearted but was pleasantly astonished at how good it was for the price. This is a full bodied rum, not sweet or tampered with in any fashion. I would recommend it neat or with a rock. Enjoy you sum uh dis.... Tasty stuff..




Brand Details

Type: Aged
Company: Cockspur
Country: Barbados
ABV: 40%
Years Aged: 12
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

1. Luxurious Drinks
2. Total Wine
Loading...