Posting your rating...
Plantation 2001 Barbados rum

Plantation 2001 Barbados

France | Aged

8.1/10
58 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
12
25
17
3

Rate Plantation 2001 Barbados

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

58 Plantation 2001 Barbados ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 5 years ago by Matthew Brown from United States with 27 ratings

Great sipper, good old fashioned or grog ingredient. Dried fruit and toasted black pepper and allspice. Subtle wood. My favorite Plantation rum yet.

Posted almost 6 years ago by James from United States with 17 ratings

This rum embodies the essence of discernment between what is referred to in harsh terms as "heat", and what is affectionately referred to as "warmth" when talking about alcohol taste.

2001 Barbados warms the palate and throat in the best way I’ve ever experienced. It's smooth, with a dominant butterscotch note on the smell and taste, and the finish is warm and soothing. Everything else takes a back note to mostly butterscotch and vanilla notes, however, the dominant flavours don't overwhelm the palate. For extra credit, even if you've had a bit too much of it and gotten a bit tipsy, the flavour is still right there with you until the very end.

Bravo Plantation! The 2001 Barbados is top notch to me!

Posted 6 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 304 ratings

I am rapidly becoming a fan of the Plantation brand. This is the second type of Plantation rum I've purchased and it is just awesomeness in a bottle. I think I will have to pursue more of their other rums to see if those are as good. I ranked the first Plantation brand rum (Plantation XO 20th Anniversary) as a 9 as well but I look at is as a 9.95 for the XO to a 9.75 for the 2001 Barbados. Incredibly smooth, somewhat sweet with a nice vanilla undertone. Not really a burn but an enveloping warmth coating the back of the throat. A true sipping rum. I don't think I will be using this in mixed drinks or Coke Zero. If you run across a bottle of this, buy it immediately. But save for special occasions.

Posted over 4 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 75 ratings

Na XO 20 to samozřejmě nemá ani z dálky, ale za své peníze (700-800 Kč) dostanete, co jste chtěli, a je to určitě lepší než mnohé jiné rumy z Barbadosu v této cenové kategorii, zejména pokud nemáte rádi příliš sladké.
Opakovat to ale nemíním (a nejspíš ani zkoušet jiné ročníky).

Posted almost 5 years ago by Joey from United States with 10 ratings

In my opinion yes. Probably my favorite rum that I have had so far. Very similar to the XO in terms of flavor (lots of sweetness but never cloying) with an added touch of funk/grass. Full bodied. Outstanding.

Posted 20 days ago by Wolfe Tone from Netherlands with 54 ratings

Nice warmth, with wood shavings, spices, honey and sweet fruits.

Posted 2 months ago by Rhoffer97 from United States with 52 ratings

Great nose, very smooth, wonderful taste with a lingering tingle.....typical Plantation wonderdul rum

Posted 5 months ago by olivier vm from Belgium with 10 ratings

A bit less smooth than the Plantation XO which i rated 10. Still very pleasant rum

Posted 7 months ago by Thorsten Bouillon from Germany with 13 ratings

Best vintage bottling of plantation Barbados so far. Highly recommend.

Posted 2 years ago by mswoodruff from Singapore with 16 ratings

Great aroma and smooooth. Certainly not a bad tipple

Posted over 2 years ago by Daan from Netherlands with 56 ratings

Given to me by David. Was a good rum. Never could find it anywhere. Just rememer it was a good one