Posting your rating...
Clement VSOP 4-Year rum

Clement VSOP 4-Year

Martinique | Agricole | 40.0% ABV

6.5/10
174 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
2
5
12
53
60
29
5
2

Rate Clement VSOP 4-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

174 Clement VSOP 4-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Lanier from Belgium with 37 ratings

I had the feeling that I was drinking brandy.
This is more a kind of rum for people who also like to drink whiskey

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Jeffrey from United States with 2 ratings

Nice, light, and grassy rum. Sits comfortably on the palate like a grasshopper sunbathing on a blade of grass. Slow and steady wins the race.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Dean from United States with 54 ratings

Rated like a fine cognac. Strong, made from pressed sugar cane instead of molasses. From Martinique. With a splash of water it really opened up.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Garry Lelliott from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

As a first foray into rhum agricole, this proved to be a pleasant surprise as I had read how different agricoles were to molasses-based rums and was expecting something radically different.
Yes, it is drier than molasses-based rum, with a grassy note and a herbal undercurrent that I just can't place, but it has a pleasant sweetness and complexity.
Unlike others here, I found that drinking it over ice actually made it slightly less enjoyable.

Small profile 1

Posted almost 9 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 115 ratings

A very smoky rum with a lingering finish that seems to coat my mouth with a buttery feeling. Slightly harsh, better with a dab of water

Ffffff

Posted almost 9 years ago by Henry Mori from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Tastes like a whiskey! Smoky but not overly so. Long finish - taste really evolves/matures through the sipping process. Best mixed.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Francois from France with 106 ratings

Another great Rhum from Clement (much better than JM most of the time.
Strong sugar cane flavor but very smooth at the same time, perfect balance.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by tb420 from United States with 5 ratings

Tastes like a bad cognac mixed with a bad whisky. Super harsh and nasty to drink straight. Mix it with anything and it ruins that anything. I picked it up for $35 on sale and seriously regret it. I think maybe I'll use it to start the woodstove this coming winter. It hits the nose and the palette with a stink - like some bad moonshine that someone tried to make less worse by oaking it.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Greengator25 from United States with 14 ratings

My first foray into Rhum Agricole was definitely different than my normal sipping rum. There was much more flavor “up front” with a shorter finish. It has a pleasant smell and but has a little burn up front that may had benefited from a dash of water. Definitely looking forward to trying more.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 324 ratings

Delicious nose with warm grass, oak, and caramel. It's really a pleasure to smell. Unfortunately, the palate goes another direction: saltwater and brine, with grass and subtle sweetness. Briney rums just don't do it for me. After time, some pepper emerges.

This IS more refined than Select Barrel, with more wood and less harshness. But the salt's just not my thing.

I'm not sure about this one as a sipper, but I'm sure it would make a killer Ti Punch.

8-, 7+ (might be 8- with a future tasting)

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tom from United States with 228 ratings

Nice agricole rhum with woody, earthy cane flavor with dry notes. Definitely a sipper, just wish it wasn't so expensive. Complexity and smoothness on the palate affords this rum to be part of your rum collection.