Posting your rating...
Key West Raw & Unfiltered rum

Key West Raw & Unfiltered

United States | Gold | 40.0% ABV

Key West Raw & Unfiltered rum, a version of their First Legal Rum that’s aged five months in charred oak barrels that are salt cured in sea water from nearby Simonton Beach. Bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report

7.5/10
9 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
1
3

Rate Key West Raw & Unfiltered

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

9 Key West Raw & Unfiltered ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2844 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of Raw and unfiltered rum at the first legal rum distillery in Key West FL. You will get the salt barrel flavor on the rum. The salt is very subtle to the nose, but stronger on the taste test. Mild burn at the end. The real question will be, is it worth $58 per bottle.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Frank Taylor from United States with 5 ratings

Full, rich flavor. Goes down easy on the rocks. Smoth. A very good USA rum.

Posted 1 year ago by Rhoffer97 from United States with 52 ratings

Flavorful really with a hint of vanilla maple. Unfiltered and aged

Posted 1 year ago by Mekpdue from United States with 18 ratings

I cite this as a custom rum due to the fact the barrels are charred and cast into the ocean for a day before filling with sugar based rum. This rum appears a bit cloudy, since it is unfiltered, but the aroma is pleasant with a bit of ocean breeze scent due to the salt (I believe).
Interesting first taste. My first taste was of a rum that has definitely soaked up the wood char (Woodsy) flavor and the saltiness of the ocean. Nice taste, different, but since I wanted to try this rum for awhile, I was not disappointed. The aftertaste, is of a young, vanilla, sugar based rum that hasn’t quite grown up yet (aged). I do wish it was an older batch.
I liked this rum straight. And, I’ll sip it slowly and not in one night. Go buy a bottle. Next try is their 105 Simonton when I can get my hands on one.

Posted over 1 year ago by Anthony C from United States with 161 ratings

Truly a great rum. You can taste the salt water of the keys.

Posted almost 2 years ago by plastre from Slovakia with 12 ratings

I bought it on trip in Key west. Full, rich flavor and very easy to drink. As a rum fan, must try in Key west.

Posted 2 years ago by C. F. from United States with 28 ratings

Very good flavor and color for such a young rum. Great distillery, too.

Posted 2 years ago by Lakrisnisse from Norway with 1 rating

Bought in store, while on holiday in key west. Nice color. Sweet aftertaste with a kick. Only tried it on the rocks. Went down smooth

Posted 3 years ago by eddieo from United States with 95 ratings

Allegedly, the liquid is stored in barrels that have sat in waters off Key West (I was told in the harbor by the salesperson, but that seems a bit unsanitary), so there is a faint briny flavor to this buttery, slightly sweet aged rum. Not briny in the agricole or charanda style spirits, but salty… anyhow, it makes for an interesting experience, although it is quite expensive for the style and quality. Also, this is marketed as a chef’s rum, and as such it would make a fine post-meal appearance with fresh local seafood.