XM Special 12-Year rum

XM Special 12-Year

Guyana | Aged

5.4/10
15 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
3
2
3
2

Rate XM Special 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

15 XM Special 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Mo McGurk 🇺🇸 | 215 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Found it on sale for $9.99. Oaky sweet flavor straight and mixed well. Very little after-burn when straight. A pleasant surprise. Went into it with low expectations and this one far exceeded my expectations. A 6.5-7 on my scale, helped in part by the price to taste ratio.

Tomy 🇷🇴 | 439 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

A 12 year old rum blended and bottled in Guyana by Banks D'Aguiar Industries & Holdings. Complex notes of brown sugar, molasses, aromatic leaf and coffee.

Henrik Hansen 🇩🇰 | 63 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Dejlig duft. Men den brænder ens smagsløg af. Puha

Hedonist 🇩🇪 | 59 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

I bought this, after I really liked the XM 7yo. This one is not much better and looses against the El Dorado 12yo, which is even a bit cheaper than this one.

Mr. Rumantic 🇩🇪 | 205 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

First of all, many thanks to Adrian for this free sample for a blind tasting. Since I had a long night with an El Dorado 15years a few days before, it was relatively easy to guess the origin. But it was also nice to be right one time.

The XO Special 12years is a rum from Guyana. It certainly comes from an El Dorado barrel from the Demerara Distillery. The rum produced in column style was bottled with 40% alcohol. I think it contains sugar and dye. I didn't find more information.

The nose is quite typical El Dorado. Lots of caramel, wood and palatable caramel fruit. On the palate then everything rather thin and sweet. Caramel again. Roasted aromas and a good portion of wood. The finish is short and watery.

It is on the level of the El Dorado 12. A typical rum for party evenings. This is for getting drunk with friends and not for hours of tasting.

Als erstes vielen Dank an Adrian für dieses gratis Sample für eine Blind Verkostung. Da ich ein paar Tage vorher eine lange Nacht mit einem El Dorado 15years hatte, war es relativ einfach den Ursprung zu erraten. War aber auch einmal schön so genau zu liegen.

Der XO Special 12years ist ein Rum aus Guyana. Es kommt ganz bestimmt aus einem El Dorado Fass der Demerara Distillerie. Der im Column Stil hergestellte Rum wurde mit 40% Alkohol abgefüllt. Ich denke es ist Zucker und Farbstoff enthalten. Mehr Informationen habe ich nicht gefunden.

Die Nase ist ganz typisch El Dorado. Viel Karamel, Holz und süffige karamellige Frucht. Am Gaumen dann alles eher dünn und süß. Wieder Karamel. Röstaromen und eine gute Portion Holz. Der Abgang ist kurz und wässrig.

Ungefähr auf dem Level von dem El Dorado 12. Ein typischer Rum für feuchte Abende. Hier geht's um das gesellige Betrinken und nicht stundenlange Verkosten.

TroyB 🇨🇦 | 23 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Pleasantly surprised by this rum. Smooth and great for a classic cuba libre. A value buy.

Joe Tortorello (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 18 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This was a gift and I was pleasantly surprised. Nice color and aroma. It’s from Guyana. It’s not harsh at all like some other 12 year runs I’ve tried. My metrics for comparison are Facundo Exquisito or Ron Malecon 1979 and this one compares well to them, just slightly less, but a great sipping rum.

Russ 🇺🇸 | 111 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Even though El Dorado rums are the most well-known rums from Guyana there are other fine makers from there as well and XM is one of those. This one has a great nose of caramel and oak and the first taste adds dried fruit and a little spice. It's a nice combo of sweet and oaky and the same time that I like. Overall I'm very happy with this one and would definitely buy another bottle in the future.

Egghead66 🇨🇦 | 26 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

I probably won’t pick up another bottle of this. There are many better rims out there for the cost of this bottle. I still drank it though!

firsthuman 🇩🇪 | 32 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

I like the smell and the spiciness. But I do not like the unpleasant and overwhelming harsh alcohol. There are way better and way cheaper rums out there!