Coruba Dark rum

Coruba Dark

Jamaica | Dark

6.4/10
28 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
2
3
11
7

Rate Coruba Dark

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

28 Coruba Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Beukeboom ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 304 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

First off, I admit up front I'm a bit confused...the label says this is an "imported 100% Jamaica rum" and the neck label reads "The Rum Co. of Jamaica" but their website has a New Zealand address and from what I have read online via multiple sources Coruba is a very popular source of rum in New Zealand and it is produced by J. Wray and Nephew. So it's kind of all over the map.

It's color is a dark, rich mahogany and it has a strong yet satisfying aroma. One point needs to be made at this time: according to some online sources, their website says caramel was added for color and flavor however as of the time of this review I do not see that indicated on their website. In fact, I don't see any mention of the Coruba Dark rum anywhere on their website. Could it be that this is a discontinued rum? If it is then it's a shame...but I'm getting ahead of myself.

Rums from Jamaica tend to be fuller in flavor and not sweet. This rum is no exception. It is a rum with character and punch. It is a blended rum that has been aged for a few years in American oak barrels (not sure if charred, toasted, or plain -- or whether bourbon, whisky, rye, or what was initially aged in the barrels). There is evidence initially of molasses in the flavor rapidly overtaken by the oak tannins. So there is a bit of initial sweetness and a little vanilla/toffee undertone but then the oak nature becomes apparent. There is a decent burn with this rum but it does not last. The finish is a bit drier than expected with a little metallic aftertaste.

Definitely not a sipping rum but a very usable mixing rum. Admittedly my current favorite dark rum is Cayman Reef Double Black but that's more of a sweeter/spicier dark rum. This one is more pungent and full-flavor. Both are good mixing rums worth adding to one's rum cabinet. And it's quite inexpensive as well.

Maximilliano ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 7 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Coruba has a longstanding history with Tiki. After Trader Vic used up the worldโ€™s supply of the 17-year-old J. Wray & Nephew, he reformulated his Mai Tai recipe with the 15-year-old J. Wray & Nephew and Coruba.

That said, Coruba is one of the best (after Kohala Bay) dark Jamaican mixing rums - that is, in terms of the money and for what you get in terms of a quality, funky, and versatile product who's history goes all the way back to our Tiki forefathers. Coruba is not a rum to be sipped and contemplated; it is solely a mixer where a heavily-bodied and slightly funky dark Jamaican rum is called for.

As a testament to many Tiki historians, rum connoisseurs, bar owners, and mixologists, many will tell you that Coruba is the preemptive dark Jamaican mixing rum. Other popular choices are Myers's dark, and Appleton Estate, although the latter two are considerably more expensive.

NOTE: Coruba is colored for extra depth and sweetness and is heavily charred in small American oak barrels for at least two years before high quality molasses is added to it. In New Zealand, Coruba dark is marketed as 'Coruba Original Blend,' with the proof slightly lower at an odd 37.2%. Coruba is distilled and imported from Jamaica by J. Wray & Nephew, but is not distributed commercially in Jamaica.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 516 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This rum smells of molasses, which is kind of nice, but it's also very dry. Has a fair amount of oakiness to it as well.

Though it's good, I had it alongside a Myers Dark, and I definitely preferred the Myers because the Myers was a little sweeter and had a touch of spice.

But if you prefer dryer rums, you might appreciate this for the money.

mdkempfert ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 28 ratings
Posted 18 days ago

Good for what it is. Did a blind side-by-side vs. a similar competitor that's been a staple on my shelf and they're neck and neck. Not quite a sipper but functions very well as a mixer in a category any serious tiki drink fan will be sure to need.

DB ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 24 ratings
Posted 26 days ago

I like it! Yes, you know it is Jamaican, but not overly funky. Nice notes of pineapple and baking spice on the nose and palate. Sweet but not overdone. Some alcohol heat and pepperiness, but reasonably smooth. Sipper? Only you can decide, but I've had worse! For sure a great mixer. Works nicely in the Jungle Bird, with some solid molasses notes.

ScottN ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 35 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

The start of this rum is fine, particularly in a cocktail like Queen's Park Swizzle or with some ginger ale. But then all I get is a burnt taste. This just isn't the rum for me, but maybe others might like it.

Marnellp ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 6 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

I love this rum. I'm predisposed to liking dark rums. I'm sure you can find a better rum, but you will be pressed for a better value.

Krustyfats ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 34 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

It's a base mixer. Not much going on. Overused in my opinion. It's a dark colored rum. Blackwell is my tiki replacement for this.

AZMark (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 21 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

Dark with added color (supposedly), some funk, oakiness is ok. Have yet to try it in a traditional Trader Vic Mai Tai. Might be a very different dark floater. Hmmm.

Raphael ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 19 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

The perfect amount of flavor: it can always punch through in tiki drinks that call for "dark Jamaican rum," yet it never overpowers. It has a really interesting flavor: there is both that banana funk, and also a little bit of that smokiness that reminds me of a Demerara rum