Cayman Reef 5-Year rum

Cayman Reef 5-Year

Caribbean | Gold

6.3/10
36 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
14
11
3
2

Rate Cayman Reef 5-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

36 Cayman Reef 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 2 years ago by CaptainGreen (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 80 ratings

Aye, this be another sweet rum that the rum snobs will say ain't a rum because it be under 80 proof. To blazes with them! This rum be on par with Bumbu Original at half the price! Vanilla and caramel to be sure, and what tastes like chocolate, but no spices. There be no burn sendin' this down the hatch. If sweet rum not be to your liking, keep some anyway for your friends who are new to rum, the lovely ladies, and prospective crew members... Huzzah!

Posted almost 2 years ago by RummyDog πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 34 ratings

Tonight's Rum, a milestone, number 150, Cayman Reef Rum from Barbados. On the nose, it's got a hint of honey underneath a stronger almond and caramel bouquet. Perhaps even a bit of pepper in there. The first notes in the mouth are soft like the bouquet. It’s rich but not overpowering, chocolate and macadamia nut come through. Not spicy as with some rums. A little bit of orange comes through on the finish. In the throat, it continues with its soft pallet, disappearing as you swallow. Not harsh at all. The true finish does leave a bit spice behind, not overwhelming at all. This is a nice Rum however could use a bit more sweetness and flavor. 7 out of 10. OK served neat.

Posted 2 years ago by jazz.tomtom πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 19 ratings

The flavors from this rum go very well with ginger beer in my opinion just like this brands Double Black Rum. More spice to be had than the licorice of darker rums. I enjoyed the Oak feel particularly with my dark n stormy

Posted over 2 years ago by Mo McGurk πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 215 ratings

There are better rums out there, but for the price ($21.99), this was good value. Maybe not great straight, but less of an after-burn than I would have expected and there was a bit of oak flavor. A little better mixed than not.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 220 ratings

Sampled this Cayman Reef 5 yr rum and was pleasantly surprised by the dryness, oakiness and slight sweetness of the rum. Not the best but given its price it is nevertheless a great value.

Posted 1 year ago by Don πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 161 ratings

For only a 5 year rum of Barbados it shows quality and good balance. Deep amber in colour, Cayman Reef is warm on the first sip, and then a delicate sweetness builds, with vanilla and nutty flavours. Five years in barrel contributes some spicy and woody notes. Can be sipped but mixed drinks are great. 41$Can at LCBO.

Posted over 1 year ago by George πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 31 ratings

Overall not a bad rum. I found it a little on the side for my taste but better than the average main stream garbage rums out there. It has a smooth finish’ amd notes of oak in there . Would be interesting to try the older version of this .

Posted over 2 years ago by Ryan πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 33 ratings

I just thought I would try it. Not to expensive, but it was a lot better then I thought it would be. I wish I could find it closer to me. It is smooth and full of flavor.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Tom πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 228 ratings

I also purchased this rum at an ABC store in Florida. Inexpensive and definitely worth the effort of finding a bottle of the 5 year Cayman Reef. A little burn and oaky flavor that is offset somewhat by its delicate sweetness.

Posted over 6 years ago by Beukeboom πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 304 ratings

At under $20 a bottle this isn't a bad rum. Not great but not bad either. In this area of Florida it seems it is an exclusive product for ABC Fines Wines & Spirits chain. The label indicates it has its origins in Barbados but other than that there's really not much that can be discovered about this rum. The flavor has some sweetness to it as well as hints of vanilla and toffee. I seem to detect some woodiness to it so it may be aged in wood barrels of some sort (oak?). Seems a bit dry and has a bit to it. This would probably appeal to bourbon drinkers. It's pretty good but not great. Works well as a mixer.




Brand Details

Name: 5-Year
Company: Cayman Reef
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 5
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
2886
2. Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§
559
3. Michal Micko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
545
4. Adrian Adame πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
514