Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year rum

Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year

Cuba | Aged

7.0/10
87 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
25
24
21
7
3

Rate Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

87 Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Markus Lehto 🇫🇮 | 44 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Let it rest for a while and it blooms. Fruity, smooth and nice, but still not top of the line.

bar la moura 🇭🇷 | 109 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

nose i get sweet barrel notes and coffee, no alcohol burn (ok the bottle is just 1/3 full and open around 3 years, probably it have oxhidized, but in the good way), in the mouth
again oak from the barrel, raisins,
ripe fruits, darker color than the havana seleccion de maestros (both similar priced), sweeter (but natural sweetness), very smooth, very strong plum taste that reminds me of some well aged sljivovica
i will give a 9 like the santiago 20 that is a little bit better but much more expensive ...
this is the cuban style i prefer ! i don t care for the cheap plastic cork if it s a good liquid
in the bottle ...

dajana 🇧🇾 | 29 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Solid, round, soft, complete. No alcohol or sweetness. With prominent notes of prunes, leather, tobacco and barrel.

Единственный недостаток - завышенная цена.

tomps 🇪🇪 | 3 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

I actually liked Santiago de Cuba Anejo Superior 11 more than 12 years old. It tastes stronger and the alcohol is a little more noticeable, but it's still pretty good. There is a bit of oak and smoke, a rather sweeter taste. Next time I will buy another 10 € cheaper Anejo Superior 11, which has a softer taste.

Bog Monster 🇦🇺 | 23 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

It was just Ok and left me with a strange vibe / taste that was on the verge of being unpleasant. I will stick to Havana Club for my Cuban rum needs.

bat_svil 🇧🇬 | 44 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

This 12 year old cuban rum had a lovely mahogany colour with ruby hints, notes of caramel, vanilla, smoke and sweet fruits. Good rum too smoke a cigar whit friends!

Quintin 🇬🇧 | 76 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

The dark colour eludes to strong flavour and to start with it is quite harsh with overpowering bitter burnt wood flavours that fade fast. Left to stand for a few minutes on ice opens up the subtle flavours a bit more going from raisin to caramel keeping a slight woody after taste. It ends smooth with caramel and wood. It doesn't start well, but ends very smooth with complex flavours that need coaxing out. One I would look for again.

Örjan 🇸🇪 | 60 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Nice scent of oak, chocolate and fruit. The taste more boring, alcohol and some spices and a little vanilla at the end

ripperussr 🇨🇿 | 150 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

The rum has full body with stronger alcoholic accent. Brandier one. A touch of raisins.

Filip 🇨🇿 | 18 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

The best brand of rum from Cuba. Sharp not sweet but still really nice.

Christophe 🇧🇪 | 14 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Anejo - Extra Anejo - 11-years - 12-years - ... ze maken het een beetje ingewikkeld daar bij Santiago. Zou het daarom zijn dat Santiago Castro's favoriet was?

Vergis je niet de Anejo is een 3-jarige rum, die zich goed leent tot het maken van eenvoudige cocktails, een goede mengrum voor weinig euro's. Hier staat dan ook geen cijfer op het etiket!

Daar de 11-jarige vooral in Cuba vlotjes verkoop, wordt deze hier in Europa minder frequent aangeboden en durft men wel al eens een Anejo hiervoor laten doorgaan. Toch staat 11 duidelijk op het etiket (zie foto en mijn rating).

De 12-years is de best verkochte Santiago in Europa en is voor mij een zeer toegankelijke rum. De aanzet is quasi volledig gelijklopend met de 11-jarige. Ook een lichte alcoholroes in de neus, maar zeker niet agressief.
Bij het proeven is de amberkleurige iets ronder dan de 11-jarige en voelt iets vettiger aan. Zachte toetsen van caramel en vanille zijn duidelijk te onderscheiden, ook wat verbrande suiker en een houterig aroma komt even de kop opsteken. Maar verdwijnt al even snel als deze gekomen is. De afdronk is iets langer dan bij de 11-jarige, maar verder dan drie tellen kom je niet.

Kortom geen slechte sipper, zeker niet te zoet, maar ik moet onnoemelijk hard mijn best doen om enkele verschillen te ontdekken met de 11-jarige.
Zouden ze een marketing-loopje met ons genomen hebben? Of had Castro een iets betere binding met het nummer 11?




Brand Details

Name: Extra Anejo 12-Year
Company: Santiago de Cuba
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 12

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading