Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year rum

Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year

Cuba | Aged

7.0/10
87 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
4
25
24
21
7
3

Rate Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

87 Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) 🇨🇦 | 228 ratings

Picked up a bottle of Santiago de Cuba Extra Anejo 12 yr Rum ($50 CUC) during a recent trip to Cuba. While there, I tried several low end Rums (but no premium offering) at the all-inclusive resort but this is the first premium Cuban Rum I taste. Wow, after initial notes of cherries and molasses, I tasted some licorice along with caramels flavours with just the right amount of oakiness. This Rum is very smooth and has a profile that is completely different to any other Rum I have tasted so far. A most pleasant addition to my liquor cabinet.

Posted 26 days ago by bar la moura 🇭🇷 | 95 ratings

nose i get sweet barrel notes and coffee, no alcohol burn (ok the bottle is just 1/3 full and open around 3 years, probably it have oxhidized, but in the good way), in the mouth again oak from the barrel, raisins,
ripe fruits, darker color than the havana seleccion de maestros (both similar priced), sweeter (but natural sweetness), very smooth, very strong plum taste that reminds me of some well aged sljivovica
i will give a 9 like the santiago 20 that is a little bit better but much more expensive ...
this is the cuban style i prefer ! i don t care for the cheap plastic cork if it s a good product

Posted 5 months ago by dajana 🇧🇾 | 29 ratings

Solid, round, soft, complete. No alcohol or sweetness. With prominent notes of prunes, leather, tobacco and barrel.

Единственный недостаток - завышенная цена.

Posted 6 days ago by tomps 🇪🇪 | 3 ratings

I actually liked Santiago de Cuba Anejo Superior 11 more than 12 years old. It tastes stronger and the alcohol is a little more noticeable, but it's still pretty good. There is a bit of oak and smoke, a rather sweeter taste. Next time I will buy another 10 € cheaper Anejo Superior 11, which has a softer taste.

Posted 4 months ago by Bog Monster 🇦🇺 | 22 ratings

It was just Ok and left me with a strange vibe / taste that was on the verge of being unpleasant. I will stick to Havana Club for my Cuban rum needs.

Posted 8 months ago by bat_svil 🇧🇬 | 36 ratings

This 12 year old cuban rum had a lovely mahogany colour with ruby hints, notes of caramel, vanilla, smoke and sweet fruits. Good rum too smoke a cigar whit friends!

Posted over 2 years ago by Quintin 🇬🇧 | 76 ratings

The dark colour eludes to strong flavour and to start with it is quite harsh with overpowering bitter burnt wood flavours that fade fast. Left to stand for a few minutes on ice opens up the subtle flavours a bit more going from raisin to caramel keeping a slight woody after taste. It ends smooth with caramel and wood. It doesn't start well, but ends very smooth with complex flavours that need coaxing out. One I would look for again.

Posted over 3 years ago by Örjan 🇸🇪 | 60 ratings

Nice scent of oak, chocolate and fruit. The taste more boring, alcohol and some spices and a little vanilla at the end

Posted over 3 years ago by ripperussr 🇨🇿 | 150 ratings

The rum has full body with stronger alcoholic accent. Brandier one. A touch of raisins.

Posted 5 years ago by Filip 🇨🇿 | 18 ratings

The best brand of rum from Cuba. Sharp not sweet but still really nice.

Posted 5 years ago by Christophe 🇧🇪 | 14 ratings

Anejo - Extra Anejo - 11-years - 12-years - ... ze maken het een beetje ingewikkeld daar bij Santiago. Zou het daarom zijn dat Santiago Castro's favoriet was?

Vergis je niet de Anejo is een 3-jarige rum, die zich goed leent tot het maken van eenvoudige cocktails, een goede mengrum voor weinig euro's. Hier staat dan ook geen cijfer op het etiket!

Daar de 11-jarige vooral in Cuba vlotjes verkoop, wordt deze hier in Europa minder frequent aangeboden en durft men wel al eens een Anejo hiervoor laten doorgaan. Toch staat 11 duidelijk op het etiket (zie foto en mijn rating).

De 12-years is de best verkochte Santiago in Europa en is voor mij een zeer toegankelijke rum. De aanzet is quasi volledig gelijklopend met de 11-jarige. Ook een lichte alcoholroes in de neus, maar zeker niet agressief.
Bij het proeven is de amberkleurige iets ronder dan de 11-jarige en voelt iets vettiger aan. Zachte toetsen van caramel en vanille zijn duidelijk te onderscheiden, ook wat verbrande suiker en een houterig aroma komt even de kop opsteken. Maar verdwijnt al even snel als deze gekomen is. De afdronk is iets langer dan bij de 11-jarige, maar verder dan drie tellen kom je niet.

Kortom geen slechte sipper, zeker niet te zoet, maar ik moet onnoemelijk hard mijn best doen om enkele verschillen te ontdekken met de 11-jarige.
Zouden ze een marketing-loopje met ons genomen hebben? Of had Castro een iets betere binding met het nummer 11?




Brand Details

Name: Extra Anejo 12-Year
Company: Santiago de Cuba
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 12
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2886
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
545
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514