Rum Fire Velvet rum

Rum Fire Velvet

Jamaica | Overproof

6.6/10
14 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
3
5

Rate Rum Fire Velvet

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image

14 Rum Fire Velvet ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 324 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

It tastes like the Rum Fire so I believe it’s the same rum in another bottle.
In nose it’s funky and a little pungent and it’s possible to recognize fruits, fresh as well as overriped.
In mouth and palate it’s still fruity and I recognize Pineapple and Banana. I also recognize Pepper, Nutmeg, Raisins and som Citrus.
The rather long finish goes the same.
Overall it’s funky, potent, complex and powerful without being too pungent.
Pictures: My opened bottle and a poured glass out in the Stockholm archipelago.

clochardo 🇧🇪 | 64 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

J'au eu l'occasion de gouté bcp de rhum vieux provenant de Hampden et je n'ai jamais été déçu du résultat. Tous découlent de cette base et quel base!!! Incroyablement puissant et rond sur le végétal et la douceur de la canne à sucre avec ce coté trop mur intense. Moins complexe que le rhum bar mais se marie bien mieux avec du ginger beer et du coca.

Wolfe Tone 🇳🇱 | 91 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Good quality, funky stuff from Hampden, but too sweet and young for me.

Raven 🇫🇷 | 56 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

... just in-between the Wray & Nephew overproof and the Rum Bar overproof ! Quality white Hampden, though way less expressive than the amazing LROK white bottled by Velier in 2018. Get this one if you can't find the Rum Bar Overproof.

vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 396 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Nose: very young nose with aromas from a fruit brandy, like Rumbar White. I smell quince, lime, apple, metallic aromas. Everything that reminds me of a rum that has not been aged. The distillate isn't bad, but I prefer aged rums.

Taste: Fruity start, spicy but not unpleasant. The aromas from the nose are here, quince, lime, apple, metallic aromas in the background (like stainless steel tank).
The finish is spicy and fruity again, the rum tingles on the tongue.

A good destillate, but I prefer aged rums. It's has too young aromas for my liking.
I would say it's good for mixing, but for sipping there are better rums.

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 4/5
Spice: 4/5
Complexity: 1.5/5
Value 16€: 3.5/5

xCorporalx 🇩🇪 | 98 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

...first time putting my nose and taking a sniff it burnt my nostrils clear,...hard but fruity...quite funky.

The taste is burning at first but styles quick with a fruity bomb...many write blueberry, that should fit

It smells a lot better than W&N, yet the tastes are in my opinion not comparable even though they are % whise in the same league.

Both are nice and enjoyable whites.

Solid 8.

Simon_W 🇨🇭 | 35 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

There are certainly white Jamaican overproof rums with higher aroma intensity - and ester density, but this one isn't bad at all and very affordable in comparison. I use it for a Planter's punch, together with some aged Jamaican rum, lemon juice, orange juice, grenadine syrup and angostura bitters. The resulting cocktail has an intriguing grapefruit-like aroma.

Kieron wood 🇬🇧 | 573 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Obviously with the percentage this is not meant to be shipped but is a Jamaican cocktail influence that is amazing .... Very versatile but never lets you forget about it ..

JellyJortikka 🇫🇮 | 74 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Hampden estate jamaican pot still unaged white overproof, bottled at 63%, ester content of over 500 ppm while wray&nephew has somewhere between 100-200 ppm, so the "hogo" should be quite brutal.
Nose: toasted sugar, very strong funk and fruit aromas, blueberry most strongly, not so "rotten" as wray&nephew, quite lots of brine, subtle smoke and star anise aroma.
Taste: Huge punch of funky fruit and brine, very smoky. The fruit flavor is mostly reminescent of blueberry as other reviewer pointed out but i personally find it very enjoyable.
Finish: exceptionally smooth when compared to wray&nephew which has a brutal kick. Finishes on a dry briny palatte.
Overall: Best white overproof i have yet tasted, i personally prefer this to w&n but they are quite different, w&n has huge rotten tropical fruit taste with a brutal kick and this rum has more of a fresh blueberry forward fruit flavour without so much rotten or fermented fruit taste. Also this rum has quite big brine and smoke flavours which w&n doesnt have.
They are quite more difficult to compare than i thought since they are quite different but this rum is slightly more pleasant for me since it is so smooth.

Morthrag 🇨🇭 | 95 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Kräftiger Rum, auch im Geschmack
Leicht süss mit viel Fruchtigkeit.
Hat etwas von Obstbrand.




Brand Details

Name: Velvet
Company: Rum Fire
Type: Overproof
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading