Chairman's The Forgotten Cask 6-11 Years rum

Chairman's The Forgotten Cask 6-11 Years

Saint Lucia | Aged | 40.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

7.0/10
150 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
9
25
67
32
10
5

Rate Chairman's The Forgotten Cask 6-11 Years

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

150 Chairman's The Forgotten Cask 6-11 Years ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Cultov 🇨🇿 | 49 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

It is not strong rum. Golden color, Risens in nose maybe tabacco

Jonny Olsson 🇸🇪 | 162 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This one should be the best of there assortment. I was to start with suspicious because the cheap screw cap and not real cork. The rum is thin and smells oaky and the flavor is instant strong with long aftertaste. The rum is becoming better when letting it breathe for a while.

Docsarvis (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 347 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

This is excellent rum! Far better than the 6.9 aggregate score as of my review. This has a ton of body, Thick, chewy and smooth. Not sweet at all. Lots of oak, molasses, sultana black currant and even some faint fig notes. Long, mellow and satisfying finish. Great value too at $40. Another superb rum from a GREAT distillery.

Leo 🇬🇷 | 10 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

It is aged, smooth, feels like wood and leather, short aftertaste like smoke. Nice sipping rum, not too expensive, high quality too. Another great hit from Saint Lucia! Many people will probably like it, since it doesn't have a bold profile, or explicit characteristics, like the more advanced rums. This is well rounded and perfectly balanced.

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 447 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Out of the five rums that I bought yesterday on my 100 mile round trip, this was the pick of the litter. I walked into a gourmet grocery store with a very well stocked liquor selection, but they don't show what is in stock on their web site. A nearby liquor store has a well designed web site, so they were my first stop to buy two of those pricey rums shown to be in stock.

I was hoping to luck out and find a bottle of Chairman's Reserve 1931. Nope! But instead, they had this one as well as their Spiced and basic Reserve. There was now hope that one day they may also stock the 1931. Having read mixed reviews on this one, I was at first hesitant to buy it for $40 US. Then I figured that this could tide me over until I could finally get my hands on my bottles of 1931.

My first impression was like WOW! This is what rums that I rated as an 8 all remind me of. Way above average, but not quite a 9 or 10. The 1931 is supposedly even better, so this one has me wanting it even more! I won't go into detail on the tasting notes. Just check the most popular reviews on that and I thank them!

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 324 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Just tasted a sample so this is just a first impression, but I will come back to it when I have opened my 70cl bottle.

I suppose most of us have heard the story about the “Forgotten Casks”, but anyway, they forgot some barrels after the big fire 2007 and when they found them they were to aged for the “Reserve” and then they created the “Forgotten Casks” and started to go on aging barrels extra for further production of it.

It’s produced from molasses in coffey and pot stills then aged separately in ex Bourbon American oak barrels before being blended before aged in the same barrels for additional three years. The total aging is six to eleven years.
The aroma is very smooth.
In the front of the mouth it doesn’t taste very much, but when you swallow it comes and you can recognize oak, spices and vanilla.
The finish, which is rather long, you can recognize vanilla, cinnamon and raisins.
I really like Chairman’s Reserve and overall I think this is a more or less perfect everyday rum just as the “Reserve”.
Pictures: My St. Lucia shelf & My emptied sample together with my unopened 70cl.

PhM 🇧🇪 | 27 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Bought this while travelling on advice of a great shop with loads of rum’s. In first instance I wasn’t convinced but the more I drank it the better it got. Now I want to buy it again.

Rene Rum (PREMIUM) 🇨🇭 | 499 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Zum Glück für uns Alle wurden diese Fässer wiedergefunden !
Herrlicher Rum, in der Nase nahezu perfekt, Vanille, Karamell.....
Im Gaumen richtig vollmundig und deftig, nicht so süss, Leder, Holz, so richtig schwer.
Im Abgang schön nachhaltig, mmm und noch ein Schluck !

Fortunately for us all, these barrels were found!
Wonderful rum, almost perfect in the nose, vanilla, caramel ...
In the palate really full-bodied and hearty, not so sweet, leather, wood, really heavy.
In the finish beautifully lasting, mmm and another sip!

Adam 🇬🇧 | 33 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I had this as a Christmas gift and I really enjoyed it. surprised to see no one else has liked it as much as me. Really hit the spot for my enjoyed it straight for sipping but also with both a dash of coke and with lemonade TOP RUM

ZTrain1177 🇨🇦 | 74 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

An excellent tasting rum. Hints of spice and vanilla. Enjoyable on it's own or with your favorite mix.

Fozzie500 🇬🇧 | 34 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Great tasting rum, smooth taste, very little after burn, so good i had two glasses, quite a woody smell and taste, but mixed with an underlying sweetness of raisins and sultanas. added to my wish list.




Brand Details

Name: The Forgotten Cask 6-11 Years
Company: Chairman's
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
ABV: 40.0%

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading