Avua Amburana Cachaca rum

Avua Amburana Cachaca

Brazil | Cachaca

6.6/10
16 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
2
6
2
1
1

Rate Avua Amburana Cachaca

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

16 Avua Amburana Cachaca ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Raphael 🇺🇸 | 19 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Really interesting stuff Has a lot of cinnamon and allspice notes, from the Amburana wood. The Amburana also gives it some sweetness, and makes it smooth. Use it in tiki cocktails that call for Martinique Rhum/Rhum Agricole, especially ones like Three Dots and a Dash, Last Rites, and the Donga Punch.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 516 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

This is a very good cachaça (though I'm not a huge cachaça fan). It's like an agricole with a unique and interesting scent/flavor added in. I'm guessing that's the amburana aging, though I've never smelled amburana wood before. It's truly unique and therefore very difficult to describe, but it makes this a fun rum to try!

This is definitely the best Avua Cachaça I've ever tried!

steveinny 🇺🇸 | 36 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

The wood certainly has a great effect on the flavor. Cinnamon, spicy and great as a sipper. Recommended.

Michael Huff 🇺🇸 | 100 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Avuá(av-wah) Cachaça is a darn good cachaça. This is made even better and more unique in that it has been aged in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amburana wood. It tastes of cinnamon and "je ne sais quoi". It's nose is pleasantly spicy and almost tangy.

beeporama (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 64 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

I have not developed a complex palate for Cachaça; it is still clairin's less funky cousin to my tongue. But of the dozen or so I've tried, this is probably the best one for straight drinking, sufficiently complex from aging but still essentially the same drink as its unaged peers. Vegetal and oily with a hint of cinammon and amber.

Mascarum 🇺🇸 | 22 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

It’s aged. But that’s all I can say. I love the cocktail but this is not one I’d spend much time on.

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 371 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

My tasting continued at Saks in New York, wonderful new bar on the 9th floor to get your happy place when your wife is shopping. Great selection including this unusual Cahaca with an Amburana finish for 2 years. Taste and scent of bananas foster with a slightly woody finish, reminded me a bit of Mezcal. Very smooth and worth trying.

BigChief17 (TASTING CLUB) 🇺🇸 | 53 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

When the bottle is opened, an immediate aroma fills the air.

The Nose is something to behold: Cooked Plantains, Cinnamon and Wood.

Unfortunately, it is not as pleasant on the palate. The alcohol takes over and spice lingers.

Great to try, but not "go-to" sipper.

Tim 🇨🇦 | 80 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I’ve been drinking my way through the cachaças in this line and this one is a stand-out. The aging in the amburana wood has added a bold baking-spice element that’s really lovely. There’s a good cocktail with it as well, though it’s a great supper: 2oz amburana cachaça; 1oz oloroso sherry; 1/2oz giffard’s Banane de Brésil c/o @cocktailwonk I believe. Santé!

Smovens 🇺🇸 | 103 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

solid overall, very smooth but I usually dislike aged cane rums because they lose the intensity and funk of the base, and agree here. Not too different from oak

Engwild 🇺🇸 | 153 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

With a subtle dark berry flavor toward the end of it all, it's better than many.




Brand Details

Name: Amburana Cachaca
Company: Avua
Type: Cachaca
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading