Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.2/10
268 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
6
11
35
74
107
31

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

268 Kirk and Sweeney 23-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Rhun ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 14 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

This is a Grandmaster rum, more akin to a fine bourbon. Very, very smooth with clean aftertaste. There is only a slight caramel note and a very slight oak note. No burn. No bitterness.

mikethecactusguy56 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 6 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

That much better than the 18 yr. Worth the extra bucks.

Azun_the_Wise ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 6 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I just bought myself a bottle of this a few days ago, simply because it was a rum that is older than me by a year. I have only had one glass of it so far but I have to say I am very impressed. Comparing it directly to the 18 year version, the smell alone was significantly different and much less harsh on the nose. I am not an expert that can tell you all the different smells and flavors of the rum, but I can tell you that the smell was fantastic and the taste was even better, I had mine neat with about 15 minutes to breath in the freezer. There was a nice sweet flavor that and a very slow burn after taste in the throat. I will be buying more of this. Highly recommended

michael reid hunter ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 3 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

This is the perfect sipping rum, comparable to the Zacapa 23 but richer and a bit more fruity on the nose (the Zacapa can be compared to an old cognac!) and a round fruit nose (think orange and fig) on the way down. Astonishing and superb.

Pipestone ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฐ | 55 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I donโ€™t like too much a dry harsh rum with an alcohol bite. But whisky/bourboun drinkers - this one is for them.

Rhoffer97 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 61 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Good, but I don't think great. Not much to smell, but strong on the tongue, not much sweetness. I could drink it all the time

xCorporalx ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช | 98 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

...one thing to start with, I love the bottle design!

The color is great and the smell of it bedazzled my senses, I quite enjoyed the rum *thumbs up*

Nice and soothing charakter, went right down to my bar again to have a second glass.

Let it rest for 5 minutes though to enfold.

9/10

Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 66 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Vanilla, then caramel, then oak in a smooth rum with a mild bite. My favorite of this genre and one of my first reaches to sip neat.

torgo ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 12 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

This rum grew on me over time. With a bold age statement, I was hoping to love it instantly, but to be honest it didn't work that way.

It took time, and sipping, and patience, but after a few weeks and by the time the bottle was empty, I was sad to see it gone.

This rum is a little on the dry side, but it would be unfair to fault it for that, especially for the price point. I came to appreciate its light, pleasant caramel hints on the nose and lack of burn on the way down. Didn't find the palate to be lingering, which had me taking sip after sip. Near the end of the glass, subtle sweetness is detected without feeling like swigging sugar water. Despite my initial trepidation, I'm proud to call myself a fan

Scott spencer ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 33 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Nice rum just to sip on pour some over a little bit ice very good rum and
great value.

piratejabez ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 324 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Easily approachable and exceptionally smooth. Lovely presentation (I don't want to know how much has been spent on marketing this product.) Will update if I get another chance to try it.

8-

Update 11/17: After tasting over a hundred more rums since my original rating, I re-tried another in this range, and it's got curiously strong vanilla notes. I'm wary. Also, what's up with everyone thinking this is an agricole? Citation neededโ€ฆ

7+




Brand Details

Name: 23-Year
Company: Kirk and Sweeney
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 23

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading