Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.1/10
216 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
12
28
76
82
13

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

216 Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

cmpopp1 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 21 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Fantastic on the nose, with the vanilla scent coming through. Front end heat gives way to a very smooth sipper. I recommend letting your bottle air out a bit after the first decorking. I left the cork off for about a half hour and then poured and enjoyed with a single ice cube which really allowed for the deeper flavors to come out. Really a quality rum. I initially liked the 23 year old better because the flavors are more even and the slight taste of oak is slightly more pronounced, but I think this one is just a bit smoother. I DID throw back half a bottle while at a recent gathering friends, so I guess that says something. Buy with confidence.

James Young 🇺🇸 | 6 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

This is my first foray into aged rums. I've always been impartial to Capt Morgan Private Stock or Bacardi's Oakheart for straight up. I left the refined drinking up to my love of scotches. I noticed here on this site that the 18yr had a slightly better review than the 23, and for the price, why not. I absolutely love it. I will get the 23 year after this is gone to give it a try, but I would recommend this to anyone.

I am anxious to try more aged rums now.

Matt 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Wow, its just about perfect. Need to try the 23 year old.

Scott 🇺🇸 | 9 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Great stuff with sting vanilla and butterscotch notes. Right at the edge of being too sweet perfect in fall, warm spice cocktails , neat, or as a float in a daiquiris

Benjamin Rose 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted over 5 years ago

When I saw this rum at the store I was excited to try it just based on the bottle. Got home and waited for the wife, and pulled the cork. The smell was awesome and had heavy sweet caramel tones, and on the first pour the color did not disappoint. I loved the taste and was pleasantly surprised by the mellowness of the rum. It had a very strong start and went mild very quickly, and finished even more subdued after I swallowed. This is in my top favorites to date and I have had many many different rums from all over the world. I'm excited to try the 23 but for the cost, this rum is in the top 5 in every way.

Ric Mims 🇺🇸 | 20 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Out of the three the 18 yr is the standard for me. It has the perfect balance, nothing overbearing like many with molasses. I highly recommend it!

Nathan French 🇺🇸 | 21 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Rich caramel and butter toffee goodness. Far too smooth for it's price. $35 at Total Wine. It's hard to pony up for single malts when rum like this exists!

NutterSipper 🇺🇸 | 20 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I keep this one and Pampero next to each other. Some days I like Pampero better, some days this one. Both are very similar in flavor profile, notes of tobacco, vanilla, oak and caramel. Fantastic stuff.

Carl 🇺🇸 | 9 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Great rum with a hint of vanilla. Good for sipping. Love it!

Dean 🇺🇸 | 54 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

A little sweet with a bite at the end. A little pricey for the end result but is quality.

Rum-Schnacker 🇩🇪 | 131 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

molasses. dry!
i smell raisin, vanilla, caramell and some dried fruit. cherry and marzipan.
i taste wood, some smoke. dark chocolate. spicy notes of raisin. pepper. creamy on the tongue, vanilla, spice, toffee in the afterburn. prune.
9/10 - drop 5 points if the diplomatico is your favourite rum!
very good and dry rum from the dom rep. bold and with high charisma :)




Brand Details

Name: 18-Year
Company: Kirk and Sweeney
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Aged: 18

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading