Posting your rating...
Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year rum

Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Dominican Republic | Aged

8.1/10
206 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
11
23
72
82
13

Rate Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

206 Kirk and Sweeney 18-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ric Mims from United States with 20 ratings

Out of the three the 18 yr is the standard for me. It has the perfect balance, nothing overbearing like many with molasses. I highly recommend it!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 138 ratings

One of the most disappointing rums I have had. I wouldn't say it was the worst rum I've ever had, but it certainly didn't seem a good one either. It seemed very under par for the press and build up it got.

Perhaps the clue is in the price...it's in a fancy bottle (which must be a chunk of the cost), it's supposed to be 18 years old and yet it only costs roughly £45...so maybe £40 for the rum and £5 for the bottle then...maybe even more for that bottle? Most 15 year old rums, let alone 18, cost at least a tenner more than that..hmmm

The nose was vanilla and sugar with a hint of cheap perfume; the taste was sugar and caramel, a subtle hint of violet cream in the background and a strongish alcohol burn that was a little insipid in the act of warming. The afertaste is quickly gone and is vanilla and caramel... and again that sort of cheap perfumey taste - violet, geranium, patchouli...dunno. I have previously only encountered a perfume-like quality in Pink Pigeon...I didn't like that either, but at least it was more fitting in a vanilla spiced rum aimed mainly at ladies.

If I had to sum this up, I'd say it's like a "premium rum" with someone deliberately adding a bland sweetener and sucking out some of the taste to make it as insipid as you can get away with whilst still being able to call it a "premium." I know there are many on here who like this a lot...but more than an other rum I've tried on here, I just don't get it. I can honestly see why some folk rave about Don Papa more than they do about this. The more I drank this, the more I really disliked it. I had to go and drink somethink else after it to remove the taste.

Pusser's, El Dorado, La Hechicera to name but three are several times more interesting. No contest.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 26 ratings

I'm not the sophisticated rum drinker that some of you are. So, this review won't contain descriptions of taste that make no sense to me. Quite simply, this is obviously a very high quality rum, smooth and amazingly pleasant, it is absolutely enjoyable to sip straight.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Amauri from United States with 29 ratings

Just tried. Well balanced. Notes of vanilla . I just compared to Zavala 23 and zafra 21, really good taste. I'm returning to the good rums to sip.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bradley Rich from United States with 2 ratings

I love both the K & S 18 and 23 year rums. Locally, 18 year is $42 and 23 year is $50. Molasses, caramel and vanilla overtones. Mellow oak. Very smooth.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonas from Sweden with 2 ratings

Really nice rum with a smooth taste and a softness that is fantastic.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 201 ratings

A good value rum with enjoyable oak flavors. A 6.5 on my scale.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael N from United States with 72 ratings

It’s a good rum with a lot of flavor and a little bite. However, I would say it is priced in the market where there are other brands and choices to consider that are comparable and even better.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by James thornton from Virgin Islands, U.S. with 6 ratings

Great rum, smooth vanilla smell. Very little bite with a not overly sweet taste

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

A very nice aroma of toffee, vanilla and a little bit of oak. A really great aroma.

This rum is very smooth. In mouth you get vanilla and toffee. This rum is not too sweet and not too dry, great balance. The aftertaste is short with a little bit of oak and mild spice.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Randy from United States with 3 ratings

Excellent sipping rum. Easy on the palate, and super smooth. Can't wait to add this to my bar.