Old Monk The Legend rum

Old Monk The Legend

India | Aged

5.4/10
20 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
1
1
8
3
2
1

Rate Old Monk The Legend

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image

20 Old Monk The Legend ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Andy (PREMIUM) 🇬🇧 | 120 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Serious molasses, a little too think and coats the mouth. Opens up with water and has a nice spice and hunt of cinnamon but still very sweet with a little sour aftertaste. Not my favorite but interesting rum and worth a taste

FilipT 🇨🇿 | 42 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Velmi výrazná chuť, která mě neoslovila. A jelikož mám radši jemnější rumy, tak to není nic pro mě.

Matagalpa 🇮🇱 | 8 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I bought this at New Delhi airport duty free and was sure 20 USD for 1 liter of positively reviewed rum is a steal, until I tasted it. Not enjoyable for sipping at all. Has a strong aftertaste I can't pinpoint, and it's not pleasant. No issue with sweetness and not all that harsh. It's just that foul aftertaste. I'll update my review once I try to mix it with Coke, but I normally drink rum neat, so that's not a priority.

BTW, the bottle is very nice, but why not invest a few more rupees for a better looking cap and labels?

Trevor Owens 🇺🇸 | 5 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Distinctly harsher than rums aged the same amount.

PaulB 🇬🇧 | 14 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

I can't profess to be an expert but I'm guessing that the great age of this has also made it boring. The flavour was heavy with molasses & somewhat flat. There was no spiciness or complexity of aftertaste.
It was drinkable & improved when opened up with a little water or ice but I personally wouldn't ask for it or buy it myself.

AC 🇺🇸 | 54 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

This was rough. I really wanted to like this but the aftertaste is indescribable. I'm not sure what it is, but its not pleasant as a sipping rum. argh......

tb420 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Has a decent vanilla oaky taste with something else that I can't quite put to words. Might be charcoally - from heavily toasted / charred oak, but not sure. It's decent enough to drink straight or with mixers, but not something I'd rave about by any means. I bought it because it's from India and it came in a head-shaped bottle. I always am on the lookout for something fun to sip with my neighbor's super cool Punjabi father when he comes to town. It didn't disappoint. Was better than I thought it would be. $27 NJ

evets0452 🇬🇧 | 18 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Was suprised by this rum, not a bad drink to be honest and a funky bottle to boot. Not many rums come out of India but this is a fair one.

Junkmanuk 🇬🇧 | 4 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Had a bit of a jarring taste, not unpleasant but also not a smooth experience either. Not one I would go for again

Ernie Higgs 🇨🇦 | 31 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Drank a lot of this in India as it seemed to be the best available and brought a bottle home. I sip it occasionally but not my favourite by any means. A bit harsh with lingering aftertaste.

Pieter 🇧🇪 | 2 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Drank this in Goa. Nice bottle. Cheap cap.
Caramel and Toffee smell.
More coffee and hints of chocolate in taste. Nothing harsh. Pretty smooth finish.
Taste more like an after dinner liquor that is a bit too sweet.




Brand Details

Name: The Legend
Company: Old Monk
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading