Bayou Select rum

Bayou Select

United States | Aged

Bayou Select rum, a version of their base Bayou Rum that’s aged in used bourbon barrels for up to three years (with the traditional solera method) and bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report
6.4/10
45 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
2
5
13
10
8
2
2

Rate Bayou Select

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

45 Bayou Select ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

TommyVinegar πŸ‡§πŸ‡ͺ | 46 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Drank this when a representative of a spirits distribution company came to introduce his products at the hotel were I work. Not sure about this one, I might need to procure a bottle because it is intriguing and might secretly be good. Apparently it's a blend of molasses rum and sugarcane juice rum ('agricole' if you like) and it shows, it's fairly 'green' and dry and has some bite. It could probably have done with a bit more aging to take the edge off, it did taste a bit raw. Not many people would enjoy drinking this straight, I suspect, but for the hard drinkers out there - and I include myself - on the right occasion this might just be what you need.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 515 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

I'm generally not a big fan of American rums, but the Bayou (and also the Koloa) is one of the best.

Smells and tastes slightly sweet with sugar, spice, maple, oak, and perhaps a light hint of bourbon.

This is a nice rum that might do even better with age. The bottle doesn't say how long it's been aged, but I suspect it's still very young.

nomad πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 137 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

At first pour, a sipper with a small bite. After sitting for a bit, the bite is subdued and the slight astringency has disappeared. This will be a very good rum in 5 more years i think.

Steven Richardson πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 124 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

I like the bayou brand. This is a good sipper. I probably prefer it to the spiced.

Beukeboom πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 304 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This rum has so much potential but falls just a tad short. The color is a deep amber. It has a bit of an edginess in aroma...stinging the nose a bit. Hints of being harsh. It initially has an interesting molasses flavor with a little vanilla but fades into a bit overly hard oak tone. The burn is a bit harsher than I like. It's a good mixing rum especially in sweeter drinks (the dry aftertaste would counter the sweet well) and does well in Coke Zero but needs to be aged several more years to raise it to sipping rum status. This rum has so much potential and I sincerely hope they have more barrels of this in reserve to bring out in several more years.

I've tried their other rums (Silver, Spiced, and Satsuma) since they are readily sold locally here in this section of Florida. The Select is not and I had to go to Louisiana to get a bottle. It's pretty good stuff but I think it would be much, much better if aged longer.

N Bishop πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 18 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I was pleasantly surprised to find this rum today, Bayou spiced is one of my favorite rums. I have enjoyed everything that the Bayou company has put out so far, and this one is no exception. For a little less than twice the price of the regular Bayou you get a very smooth flavorful sipping rum. I do find this one to be more of a classic rum flavor than the regular spiced Bayou, but don't let that fool you, this rum tastes better than anything else at this price point. This reminds me of a rum I bought in Costa Rica, Ron Centenario Anejo Especial. Great rum to sip on in the winter.

Rsvec πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ή | 80 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Not much good is coming from the US - only the South has its merits. BAYOU is a cool brand with nice rums

Charles M πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 140 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I'm usually a molasses man, but I do like to expand into sugar cane, and this is a good, inexpensive expression. Not so refined as the French ones, but to me that's not necessarily a bad thing. Burst of sweetness on the body is appealing and not so typical of cane rums, but its nice. Smooth and easy to drink. Not the greatest rum, but very drinkable AND when the price is taken into account, not bad.

I always like to have different rums on board. It gives me a break from the great ones that I have and makes me appreciate them more when I come back to them. Having said that, that's a bit negative about this rum as its more than acceptable.

There is a problem though.... the Bayou Single Barrel which is only a little more expensive.

evvyemz πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 5 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Boy, what a find! I enjoy rum & bourbon and this is two in one. Aged in oak barrels, it is definitely flavourful and perfect for when you can't decide between the two spirits.

Freek Lambrechts πŸ‡§πŸ‡ͺ | 40 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Like it in cocktails, but not as a sipper. When you drink it as a sipper, you can smell and taste the agricole.

Chet πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 192 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Very nice rum, this is definitely Bayou's best. I would rate it at a 8.5. I have only tasted this stuff neat and it was very enjoyable from the nose to the finish. Definitely more complex than their other rums and more of a mans rum with less sweetness. Good Stuff!




Brand Details

Name: Select
Company: Bayou
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading