Bayou Satsuma rum

Bayou Satsuma

United States | Flavored

6.1/10
21 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
1
3
7
5

Rate Bayou Satsuma

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

21 Bayou Satsuma ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Eidolon (TASTING CLUB) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 50 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

A bit sweet for my tastes, and while the orange flavor was unique, it was not really to my liking. I tried to mix it into a cocktail, but I still couldn't find the right combo to make it work.

Earl Elliott πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 213 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Sugar: estimated at 80 gpl.
This is not rum, and the label is honest about that as it does state that it's an orange rum liqueur. The rum part is smooth enough and it has a very nice aroma of oranges, but drinking this will put you into a sugar coma. I tried it on the rocks, with club soda, and in a Hurricane, but it failed. I suppose that with some effort you could come up with a decent orange flavored rum drink. There is some potential but with so many good rums on the market I think it's a waste of rum time.

N Bishop πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 18 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Everything I've had from Bayou has been fantastic and this is no different. This rum has a sweet satsuma flavor with minimal bite, I enjoyed it most just on the rocks as a nice sipping rum in the heat of the summer. I tried a variety of sodas and mixers but none of them really caught my fancy. It was interesting mixed with regular Mountain Dew, might also work in Mountain Dew Live Wire. I would have liked to have found a really good mixer. This is one of those rums that's great to break out at a rum tasting, great to have on hand.

Beukeboom πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 304 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This is actually labeled Bayou Satsuma Rum Liqueur and comes in at 30% ABV rather than the normal 40% or higher ABV for rum. Also it's not for everyone considering it's quite sweet with the Satsuma flavor. With that said I like it. To me it's as if someone used a good, smooth rum in a 16oz bottle of Diet Sunkist orange soda (or Diet Orange Nehi, or Diet Orange Crush...you get the picture). That's not necessarily a bad thing but unique enough where many just won't care for it. It isn't all that bad straight either once you get used to its sweetness and citrus flavor. This would be an interesting rum in various mixed drinks...maybe a "Satsuma Hurricane"?

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 515 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

This is a very good orange rum. It has a fantastic nose and a nice taste. My biggest complaint is that it is weak at 30%abv, and for that reason I definitely prefer the Clement Creole Shrubb (40%) and the Santa Teresa Orange Rhum (40%) which are similar, but better. Still a very good orange rum, ESPECIALLY if you find 40% too strong for you.

Doug Buhler πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 4 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Finally a rum my wife will drink. Great straight on rocks. But I love it with Coke Zero.

NobleEskimo πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 33 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Bayou Satsuma is an interestingly fun product, full of satsuma essence. It's fresh and fragrant on the nose, zesty, rich, and warm or the palate, and has a smooth and somewhat delicate finish. I've personally found success drinking over ice during the summer, mixing it with soda (odd, I know), and even making some fun and fresh summer mojito variations. It's a definite addition to any rum fanatics bar, and worth a try if you can track down a bottle.

RRose (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 44 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

I want to like this rum liqueur & feel like it has its place...but I haven't found it yet. This is likely dynamite in a cocktail recipe I've not yet discovered. Until that happens, though, my impressions are that this is pretty cough syrup-y on the nose and palate.

Cyril Squirrel πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 13 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Quite medicinal in its smell and taste. Not unpleasant but not a winner. There are better similar items. Diablesse for example.

Agrumm πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 7 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

This is excellent smooth and sweet with a strong tangerine taste. I do not like flavored rums besides the typical spiced rums or vanilla but this was excellent love it drink it on the rocks

Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2925 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Rum tasting in San Antonio Texas continues with Bayou Satsuma Infused Rum Liquor. Very nice and unique bottle and label design. Syrupy golden color. Extremely sweet start continues all the way to the end. Not bad if you like Orange flavored sodas, but I don't.