Bayou Satsuma rum

Bayou Satsuma

United States | Flavored

6.0/10
22 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
1
3
7
5

Rate Bayou Satsuma

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image

22 Bayou Satsuma ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

N Bishop ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 18 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Everything I've had from Bayou has been fantastic and this is no different. This rum has a sweet satsuma flavor with minimal bite, I enjoyed it most just on the rocks as a nice sipping rum in the heat of the summer. I tried a variety of sodas and mixers but none of them really caught my fancy. It was interesting mixed with regular Mountain Dew, might also work in Mountain Dew Live Wire. I would have liked to have found a really good mixer. This is one of those rums that's great to break out at a rum tasting, great to have on hand.

Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2928 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Rum tasting in San Antonio Texas continues with Bayou Satsuma Infused Rum Liquor. Very nice and unique bottle and label design. Syrupy golden color. Extremely sweet start continues all the way to the end. Not bad if you like Orange flavored sodas, but I don't.

Eidolon (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 51 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

A bit sweet for my tastes, and while the orange flavor was unique, it was not really to my liking. I tried to mix it into a cocktail, but I still couldn't find the right combo to make it work.

littonsteve1 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 25 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Wonderful orange flavor. Reminds me of the orange push up pops I ate as a kid. The low alcohol content makes this easier to drink neat than the stronger rums. Not my favorite but I would not turn down a bottle as a gift.

Ubertulsons ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ป | 7 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Sweet fruity, like aperativ, sip slowly, apricot aroma

TheGolfBallGuy ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 10 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

I'm planning to use it in the place of orange liqueur for cocktails.

Paul B ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 452 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

It is late autumn in southeast Louisiana, which means that satsumas are in season. At 80 gpl of added sugar, I have been long hesitant in buying a bottle of this. However, after stuffing a duck with satsumas for Thanksgiving, I told myself WTF and bought a bottle of this for only $15 more than a week later.

Somehow, this distiller does indeed capture the flavor of satsumas, which is a close relative to the mandarin. Both are naturally sweet. This distiller does not lie and states on the label that it is only a 30% ABV rum liqueur.

I cannot see myself sipping this one neat, but when drinks such as the Mai Tai or Goombay Smash call for an orange flavored liqueur, this one should work quite well. Since Clement Creole Shrubb is somewhat hard to find where I live and this one is always on my grocer's shelf, this makes a great substitute. However, no matter what quantity of this stuff that I use, it ruins a perfectly good Margarita.

Update 19 days later: This rum liqueur has great flavor, but is so disgustingly sweet that it cannot be consumed any way. For a Mai Tai, I would rather use orange juice instead of this syrup. I now drop my rating from a 6 to a 4. (Notice that I never use the word "cloying" to describe excessive sweetness. No one has ever accused me of being a gentleman, since I have always been brutally honest.)

Chet ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 192 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Very nice from the bottle to the finish. Excellent flavor, ya itโ€™s not your typical rum but take it for what it is and you will enjoy it. I like it neat or you can float a shot to your current rum and coke and kick it up a notch. Great price at 15$. Good stuff.

Joseph Blossman ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 40 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Probably the best of the Bayou line. However, this to me is more like a rum version of Grand Marie or Cointeau. After trying it I put it in in some home-aid daiquiris with capt morg, and pineapple coconut daquori mix.

Mike ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 6 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

Good for what it is I like it now to come up with some drinks.

Tom ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 29 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Not bad for a citrus liquor with a rum twist added to it. I'm not usually a liquor guy. I actually like more whiskey style rums over ice. So needless to say a sweet citrus flavor rum is not my typical wheel house. However this rum liquor was a good addition to the cabinet and it fills its roll when I'm looking for something on the sweet side. I'm sure it would make a great mixer as well for people that want that sweet orange kick added to their favorite cocktail.




Brand Details

Name: Satsuma
Company: Bayou
Type: Flavored
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading