Dark Matter Spiced rum

Dark Matter Spiced

United Kingdom | Spiced

6.0/10
49 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
4
9
8
9
10
2
3

Rate Dark Matter Spiced

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

49 Dark Matter Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Woody Charisma 🇬🇧 | 8 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

At first I wasn't too sure what to make of Dark matter. At first I felt it had too much going on but after a while I have really grown fond of it.

Ellis 🇬🇧 | 19 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

The marmite of the rum world. Guy who recommended it at our local spirit and wine shop compared it to spicy Hot Cross Bunswhile his brother stated that he hates it. The smell is overwhelming as if the rum is going to be very harsh. Surprisingly, there is no burn at all but leaves a very warm tingly belly. It has a bug taste of cloves and the spicy hot cross buns reference was actually accurate.

I think you just need to try this rum and not rely on reviews as much as on other rums as it is very divisive. However, I am interested to see what more this new distillery produces over the coming years

Andy Tee 🇲🇾 | 148 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

N- Reduced root-beer syrup infused with star anise and caraway. Dark caramelize apricot, subtle ashy tobacco notes and tangy mashed ginger underlay. Sweet but not cloying. (86/20)

P- Bold, heavily ginger with spiciness that excites, chewy ginger flower fragrant. May not taste in the gene of rum and more of a liqueur, but in a good way. Nicely infused with upfront and earthy character. (87/21)

F- Long, heavily infused, macadamia with spicy mix, sweet liquorice, warming molasses ginger syrup. Stir in some pure honey and this would make a rather 'healthy' booze in a cold Scottish night. (89/22)

B/B- 87/21

Weighted Rate- 84pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Terence 🇲🇾 | 56 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

It's a spiced rum for sure. Peppery, ginger spiced with prominent cloves and cardamom. It like munching marshmallow with a glass of ginger beer with tons of spices.

Earthy and herbicious which I enjoy very much (perhaps too much of angustura bitter shots lately, Malaysian Bartender's handshake) follow with gingery spice with touch of caramel. Ginger bread man!

Peppery, chili, gingery bite on the finishing. Follow with prominent sweet spices such as clove.

Might not suit everyone's palate unless they love gingery spicy food. Definitely not sugary sweet compare to many spiced rum.

Craig 🇬🇧 | 22 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I don't know if I got caught on a bad day or I poured heavy measures but It was going down pretty well but I don't normally get a bad head drinking rum but this stuff certainly gave me a sore head the next day lol. Will try it again tho

Dave 🇬🇧 | 24 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

The jury is out on this not smooth enough too clovey!

J12kef 🇬🇧 | 12 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Was bought this as a Christmas present and I wasn’t too keen at first taste but the further I get through the bottle the more it grows on me, now half way through the bottle and I’d certainly buy this again. Stronger to the taste (not %) than some of my other normal rums but still goes down smooth, a very strong clove taste throughout with a smokeyness to it.

Samuelsbay 🇬🇧 | 14 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Gifted to me so already a winner, I went in open minded and neutral (ish). Pleasantly surprised at how quickly I adjusted to it when I added ice. Good enough to sip like that and was a guarded bottle, so that’s a good sign. Clever people the Scots. Need to refine the chemical balancing a wee bit so it is untraceable.

Smeds04 🇬🇧 | 1 rating
Posted over 2 years ago

Has a unique spicyness to it that hits the spot. Totally recommend

Loscoles 🇬🇧 | 2 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Fabulous taste and full bodied. Packs a punch and delivers a long lasting taste.

anoinoz 🇦🇺 | 13 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

what a surprise this was. Was recommended it as “something special that’ll surprise you”. Surprised I was. As noted below, the rum is quite smooth, even though you’d expect otherwise from the aroma. But the spice. Chilli, peppery, gives you a warm inside feel. very peculiar and great for it




Brand Details

Name: Spiced
Company: Dark Matter
Type: Spiced
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading