Old Captain Well Matured rum

Old Captain Well Matured

Multiple | Gold

4.3/10
17 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
5
3
2
4
1

Rate Old Captain Well Matured

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

17 Old Captain Well Matured ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 years ago by Olaf ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 77 ratings

As a mixer with coke it's a nice rum. Not too harsh and with a good taste of raisins/vanilla. It's how I like a rum&coke. Don't drink this neat.

Posted 5 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 233 ratings

Sampled this rum while in Cuba, aromas of caramel and molasses are evident to the nose. This is a decent quality rum that I would qualify as a good sipper rum. Oak is noticeable and the finish is smooth.

Update: purchased a bottle of Havana Club 7 yr and this is definitely up m6 alley. Reminds me somewhat of the Mount Gay XO although not as strong or sweet. Deserves an 8 rating.

Posted over 6 years ago by Jonny Olsson ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 162 ratings

Not greate as sipper! but ok for Coke drink and other drinks.

Posted over 6 years ago by Dieter De Kรฉe ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช | 1 rating

It's a good rum to start your collection with. It's flavours aren't to strong so you can use it to learn to drink rum straight.. Also comes in handy to give your cocktails an extra punch and a bit stronger rum-taste than a regular white rum.

Posted over 7 years ago by Casi 1896 ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช | 24 ratings

Der Preis schwankt immer zwischen 20โ‚ฌ und 28โ‚ฌ. Man kann ihn pur trinken, aber meiner Meinung nach ist er besser fรผr einen "sehr guten" Cuba Libre geeignet.

Posted 2 years ago by Tito ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฎ | 2 ratings

After reading many good reviews I had to try this rum. It is nice on the nose. That's the only positive for me. Some see this as a smooth rum. This is not smooth at all. It burns and it is bad for stomach, mine started to protest right away. Thai Sangsom can give it a lesson in smoothness for 10 euros and it is also much much easier on your stomach. This Havana rum has some strange woody aroma which is disgusting to me. And it never goes away. I don't think this is a good mixer. This woody aroma is so strong, you have to like it to be happy with any drink made of this rum. I strongly recommend trying before buying. This was my first and also my last bottle.

Posted 3 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 317 ratings

Time for Birkaโ€™s rumcruise 2019 at the Baltic Sea. This was one of the rums that were included at Ian Burrellโ€™s Master class, โ€œBlindtestโ€. We tested it neat and I had some problems to distinguish it from the Abuelo 12, but got it right.
I donโ€™t think I will drink this neat again, but itโ€™s a nice mixer rum when you want a dark one.
Picture: Brands included at the blindtest.

Posted 5 years ago by ZZ ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ | 13 ratings

Very available rum. Can be bought at any store. Slightly spicy and smoky flavor. For me better than Flor de cana 7yo.

Posted 5 years ago by Miguel ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 4 ratings

This is the classic rum anyone should start with, affordable balanced, surprisingly.

Posted over 5 years ago by Nezarov ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 11 ratings

The first time you open the bottle and drink it, you find it strong with abondant alcohol taste (as is the case with most rums) but let the bottle sit for a week and try again.

Nose: very clear smell of honey and chocolate. And in the background you get tobacco and vanilla. Exactly what's written on the outside of the bottle, no kidding.

Palette: Full body. This is NOT a mellow rum. Not detecting much taste. There is a slight harshness.

Finish: Long finish with the exact same flavors mentioned above. Flavors are full and rich, yet not too strong. Flavors aren't too mixed together so you can still distinguish every flavor (this also implies it isn't a refined rum)

Unlike what many people say, this is a great sipping rum, if you're looking for clear rich flavors. This is an excellent rum to pair with heavy cigars. Don't drink it with mild cigars though as this rum will overpower the cigar's taste.

This was a gift from my brother John from overseas. Thanks bro!

Posted over 5 years ago by Rene Rum (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ญ | 494 ratings

Sehr guter Mix-Rum, durchaus auch pur zu trinken (in der Not).
In der Nase und Gaumen ein wenig streng, Karamell, Toffee.
Abgang schnell weg.

Very good mix rum, quite pure to drink (in the emergency).
In the nose and palate a little strict, caramel, toffee.
Finish quickly away.




Brand Details

Name: Well Matured
Company: Old Captain
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2920
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
546
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
514