Saint James Reserve 2-Year rum

Saint James Reserve 2-Year

Martinique | Aged | 43.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

4.6/10
17 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3
3
4
1
1

Rate Saint James Reserve 2-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

17 Saint James Reserve 2-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

rumfan69 🇬🇧 | 6 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Ok some digging around reveals that this is a blended Caribbean with rums of various ages in the mix - and it is a big mix. Now this stuff is cheap but I wouldn't say it was crap. It's actually not bad especially if you enjoy a bit of tobacco influence from the ageing process. It arrives sweet and spicy with fruit and light banana. Develops medium cracked black pepper and some nice tobacco wood. Finish gives more light banana light spiced heat and a touch of rum sourness. You can drink it straight and its not loaded with sugar. It is however loaded with E150 oh well.. Anyway if you find it for about 15 quid give it a crack.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2924 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Tried the Saint James Reserve on a sunny Sunday afternoon. 6 to 10 year old rhum agricole made from cane juice at Saint James in Martinique means its super dry and absolutely no added sugar. Bottle and label looks mediocre. Golden color. Very strong alcohol to the nose. Rhum Agricole dryness and a nasty burn at the end. Not my cup of tea.

Demno 🇨🇿 | 92 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Most rum beginners love Diplomatico, Spiced rums, whatever tastes so smooth and sweet (thats because Diplomatico has over 40g sugar per bottle added). This rum is just what it is, it has 43% of alcohol, thus it really bites... but you can feel the taste of sugarcane in there, the freshness.

I do really recommend this agricole rum, it is cheap and it is great (if you want smoother ones, go for Reserve 12 or let it stay for like 5 minutes to eliminate the alcoholic scent).

Jipla 🇧🇪 | 77 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Basic taste. Good for weekdays and to get the mojito taste to the next level

FaithMonax 🇨🇦 | 13 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Decent standard rum, but still prefer Appleton V/X in the same category (price/style).

Martin Kennedy 🇦🇺 | 222 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

This rhum smells better than it tastes. Nice dark amber colour in the glass with a nose of caramel , ethanol and maybe a slight honey note. In taste though thats when it goes downhill..
Strong burn with a whisky profile.. no fruits just a sweetish first impression in the mouth which rapidly turns dry and whisky like. Had to swamp with cola to finish it.

Amauri 🇺🇸 | 29 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

I didnt really like it. The aftertaste was something really bad like a really cheap alcohol

Jan Staněk 🇨🇿 | 121 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

This is more like agricole rums, which I dislike, si this was really hard for me to drink.

bill 🇺🇸 | 88 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Nice color and good legs. The aroma is ok but nothing special. The taste is a little harsh but I got a bottle for 17 bucks. I probably wont buy it again but I am glad I tried it once.

Kieron wood 🇬🇧 | 566 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

This is a good rum that smoky and has a lot of flavour. It's my rum to a good standard I had it on the rocks which is a delight ...

Loxias 🇨🇿 | 170 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Aroma with tones of smoke and ash.
Taste bit spicy from 43% alohol volume but quite smooth. Strong notes of smoked oak casks.