Montebello 2001 8-Year rum

Montebello 2001 8-Year

Guadeloupe | Agricole | 42.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

7.1/10
9 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
3
1

Rate Montebello 2001 8-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

9 Montebello 2001 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2925 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Visited the Montebello Distillery while vacationing in Guadeloupe. Distillery tours were closed for the season, but very nice pour yourself tasting being offered at the distillery. Montebello Vieux 8y was priced at EUR 45 per bottle. Deep amber color. Nice and good looking bottle and label design. Sweet Rhum Agricole flavors complemented with tropical fruits, grass and strong oak to your nose and palate. Stronger burn at the end than the 6 year old Montebello. Rhum Agricole lovers can add 2 points.

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 323 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

The 8yo Montebello rum from the Carrere distillery is aged in ex-Bourbon American oak barrels before being reduced to 42% and bottled.
Carrere/Montebello 8yo is possible to find as several vintages 1997, 2001, 2003, 2005 and 2007. The 1997 is bottled in the Winch bottle while the other ones is bottled in the normal stubby bottle. The vintage is written on the back label.
Right now I have bottles of the 1997 and the 2001. I will come back to the 1997 later. This review is about the 2001 version.
The nose is rich, complex, pleasant, vegetal, floral, fruity and woody.
In mouth and on the palate I recognize sweet cane, spices, raisins, and fruits including apple and apricot.
During the rather long finish it’s very rich and I recognize hints of licorice, prunes and banana besides what I recognized on the palate.
Overall a great Agricole as most of the rum from this brand which is one of my favorite brands.
Pictures: My opened bottle & Part of my Montebello shelf, here the rum from 3-10yo.

Nobleman 🇱🇻 | 18 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

Good balanced rum. Nice aroma and good taste. Recommended

Marc Cardinal 🇧🇪 | 399 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

The nose is very oaky with vanilla and also exotic fruits. In mouth, the exotic fruits are still present with spicy notes and the wood that is always present. It is very fine in the mouth with a very long finish and a final on the spices. Very good one.

LD 🇮🇹 | 34 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

I love Rhum agricole. This is a fantastic Guadeloupe example.
Dense, never tannic, with a mature fruits taste. Infinite persistence

Noname 🇫🇷 | 98 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Un bon rhum qui conserve la signature de Montebello mais pas exceptionnel pour autant.

Nad971 🇬🇵 | 3 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Definitely my pick for Montebellos... and I live right on the same hill

Phil 🇷🇪 | 158 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Rhum agricole 8 ans d'âge de Petit-Bourg (Guadeloupe), distillerie réputée pour ses rhums vieux.
Design : vieillot, le packaging ne met le produit en valeur, le rhum est assez clair.
Nez : après aération, très fruité.
Bouche : on retrouve le goût fruité (orange, banane), caramel, boisé, pas mal du tout.
Finale : ?
Assez éloigné des rhums vieux martiniquais, ce Montebello 8 ans est agréable à boire.

IKEDA JUNICHI 🇯🇵 | 19 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Nose: apricot, somewhat chemical, passion fruits, pepper

Taste: dried fruits, honey, apricot

Finish: light wood