Chairman's Reserve 4-6 Years rum

Chairman's Reserve 4-6 Years

Saint Lucia | Aged | 40.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

Chairman's Reserve rum is produced in St Lucia using continuous and pot stills. The rum from these stills are aged for 3-4 years separetly, then combined and aged for 6 more months to marry the flavors.

The first blend of Chairman’s Reserve was produced in 1999 by St. Lucia Distillers, which was founded in 1932, and overseen by the company's Chairman Laurie Barnard.

6.5/10
159 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
5
10
54
57
24
5

Rate Chairman's Reserve 4-6 Years

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

159 Chairman's Reserve 4-6 Years ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Durbs 🇬🇧 | 17 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Along with Barbados and Jamaica, St Lucia don't allow sugar to be added to their rums.
So all CR rums are smoothed out only by ageing.

This does mean their original is pretty harsh sipped neat, but stick an ice cube in it, or use it in a cocktail or with a mixer and it's a good step above the average

Richull (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 19 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Better than expected. Subtle with a pleasantly surprising and lingering finish. Caramel, banana, lasting warmth...not hot. Easy drinking. Not big but flavorful. Good sipper. Like it a lot.

Harrie 🇳🇱 | 91 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Though my bottle has the new label ('original') I want to rate it in the 'real' thread as the rum hasn't changed. Saint Lucia has only one distillery and the rums are a bit Bajan-like but with a stronger pot still influence (Jamaican-funk-Saint-Lucia-style).

My first impression of the Chairman's Reserve (CR) was that it was a little unbalanced. On the nose there is a smokey oak, raisins and some pot still funk with napalm-orange. On the palate a lot of things seem to happen independant of each other; at first some dried fruits, vanilla and alcohol, then the pot still part with funky orange comes rushing in very sweet, followed by tobacco, chocolate and very dry and smokey oak. It ran in all directions and didn't seem to care what I thought of it.

Half a bottle later (in multiple sessions....) it became to make some sense and I understood that this is exactly how CR should be; rather complex, not easy and with a pleasant dissonant. This is not a rum you serve when you introduce your friends to fine rums, or after a nice dinner (except a smokey BBQ maybe) . This is the rum you want to drink when the rain hits your windows and you feel like playing a Tom Waits album.

I never want to be without anymore.

Tomas 🇨🇿 | 173 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Nothing extraordinary. Decent rum for the price, but too boring.

Brian 🇺🇸 | 11 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

View: Pours golden brown.

Nose: A ton of honey on the nose with some char.

Initial Tasting: One of the smoothest rums I've tasted. No bite whatsoever. Raisin and spice.

Body: Drinks like a bourbon. Spice and oak.

Fade: Smoother than a baby's behind.

Ladislao 🇷🇺 | 36 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

Насыщеннный и плотный. Явно слышна мелассовая основа, хорошая доля перца, и черные сухофрукты. Отличный ром для знакомства!

Erik Marum 🇺🇸 | 40 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

This is a wonderful rum that is very smooth and has great character and flavor. Caramel and Toffee are most forward in this one which is what I like. Scents and smooth and pleasing and I really enjoyed sipping this neat. It is quite similar to Clement VSOP but this one has a bit more character and bit thicker in flavors. Definitely one I'd recommend and have again.

Skipjack 🇺🇸 | 20 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

This rum looks and tastes great in a flask and that is where you will find me enjoying it. On cold days when racing a single man dinghy, this rum will help keep me warm and reside in my PFD. My friends will come by and ask to partake and when we all come in, the flask will be dry.

Bottle: The label is interesting looking and a good representation of its birth home but the bottle fails to impress after that. Very little detail about the distillery, no syn-cork that says it is a better product, the bottle bottom notes indicates that it is not a cheap bottle. Presentation could be better.
Color: A very nice golden brown, it looks the part of a great rum.
Bottle Aroma: A heavy ethanol odor hits the nose first but the rum does come through.
Glass Aroma: The ethanol smell has dissipated and a light oak, easy drinking rum smell fills the nose.
Taste: The rum starts out light which surprises after the bottle nose, a good start of flavor hits and the caramel begins, then the oils leave the tongue and the heat comes back. This is another rum that I'll pack into a flask for cold days when the backbone needs strengthening, but this is not the rum I will chose in front of the fire.

This rum is a bit uneven but I do not dislike this trait in rums. Rums should not be 20 year old bourbons or 30 year old cognacs, they should bite a little and when they fail to do so, I tend to get bored. Some may find this rum a little harsh, but like my personality, I find the harshness true to character and enjoy the company.

thebrowndram 🇵🇭 | 42 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Nose: Soft and has an unannounced character. A hint of gasoline funk at the forefront, is not overwhelmed by cask influence, and has subtle shades of rubber, pineapples, and pears. Simple and honest.

Palate: A wider range of flavors here compared to the nose. Caramel, light-roasted coffee beans, almost-rotten bananas, and peanuts. The development is pleasant, ending in a curious sugar-coated churros.

Finish: Slightly drying, with some stonefruit and seasoned greens. Medium.

AZMark (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 21 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

Dry, somewhat spiced. If you are used to the zippy palate, this isn’t it, very smooth. Easy smooth sipper, not a zippy sipper. Buy, hey, ya need a rum from each and all of the Caribbean islands.

BoD 🇨🇦 | 7 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Had to try it of course. First taste that came through was bananas. I'm sure some will like it, but I prefer a little more bottom end.




Brand Details

Name: Reserve 4-6 Years
Company: Chairman's
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
ABV: 40.0%

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading