Ron Esclavo XO Cask rum

Ron Esclavo XO Cask

Dominican Republic | Aged

9.0/10
126 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
7
16
45
52

Rate Ron Esclavo XO Cask

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

126 Ron Esclavo XO Cask ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 9 months ago by Simson πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 79 ratings

A blend of rums from the Dominican Republic aged 12 - 15 years, bottled at 65% cask strength. This is the 3rd version of the same name. The first version had rums aged up to 23 years.

Bottle: Slim, rounded. 0.5 litre only.
Colour: Dark amber.
Nose: Stronger (the higher ABV is really noticeable), but not aggressive. On the contrary, it is very pleasant. In the aroma I smelled honey, vanilla, caramel, Czech rum praline, dark chocolate, overripe orange and a little wood.
Taste: In one word, great! Sweet and strong, making the sip burn on the palate and tongue. You can find there spices (cloves, nutmeg), apricot-orange marmalade, dark-milk chocolate, sweet grapes.
Aftertaste: Long.

Summary: An excellent combination of sweetness and sharpness that warms the throat. This is a taste experience that I recommend. If it were a tad less sweet, I would give it a clear 10 points.

Overall rating: 9.5 out of 10

Posted 6 years ago by Staffan πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ͺ | 26 ratings

What can I say. I put QRM 30 on the top shelf as my all time favorite, but I think I have to put another one right next to it. The Esclavo XO Cast is pure magic. It literally explodes in your mouth. Distilled by Oliver y Oliver and marketed by Danish based 1423 you can clearly find similarities with QRM as it is very sweet, very rich in both nose and body. But this one attacks all your senses with it's high, but not intrusive alcohol level, rich in butterscotch, dates, sugar cane and it's slightly smoky flavor. The high alcohol rate gives it a certain sharp licorice touch to it. It's INTENSE! The only gripe would be that after tasting this everything, literary everything, taste bland. So don't start with this when you're testing other rums. Finish with it!
It really feels exclusive with the numbering and it won't break the bank for you. A new favorite!

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 514 ratings

This is one of the all time great rums I've ever tried. Purchased from Vinoble Skanderborg (Denmark), batch #5.

I thought I'd love this rum, as I rated the Esclavo XO very high. This one is even better (great rums taste better stronger). I like this even more than the Tres Hombres Captain's Choice rums, which are also quite amazing.

In fact, after over 400 reviews, I'd rate this as my #3 rum of all time (after the Centenario Real (#1) and the Centenario XX (#2)).

Very nicely sweet. Smells and tastes of caramel, butterscotch, vanilla, chocolate, and cinnamon spice. Simply a beautiful rum. And a pretty good value at only ~$70 (500ml). I hope I can find more!!!

Posted over 6 years ago by Carl Saxmark πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ͺ | 114 ratings

The color is dark, The taste is thick. The finish hit you like a sledge. If morse rums where like this i would be a happy puppy.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Stig Wolff πŸ‡©πŸ‡° | 167 ratings

Man fornemmer slet ikke at den er pΓ₯ 65%, den virker blΓΈd og rund i munden og pga. styrken holder smagen lΓ¦nge.
Der er noter af karamel, honning, vanilje og kanel.
Virkelig en rom der skal have en plads i samlingen og pga. styrken er det jo ikke en man drikker flere gals af, den skal nydes ;-) og det bliver den. ;-)

Posted almost 4 years ago by Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2915 ratings

All I can say is wow, what an amazing rum. Truly a masterpiece! After well over 1,900 aged rums later, what an amazing find and what a big surprise. Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength comes from the Oliver & Oliver group, so that does not surprise me a bit since most of their rums are simply stunning. The Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength comes in a black clay bottle, handwritten label, it has a very deep color, surprisingly strong alcohol to the nose from being 130 Proof. Cask Strength differs greatly from the Esclavo XO in a sense that Cask Strength is all about chocolate whereas XO is all about coffee. The Cask Strength does not have any burn at all at the end which is very surprising taking into consideration its 130 Proof. This rum goes directly to my top 2 spot after well over 1,000 rums later. Stunning. Masterpiece.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 10
10/100 Color of this rum 10
15/100 Nose test 15
20/100 Palate test 20
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 14
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 11
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 95

Posted over 4 years ago by LarsF πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ͺ | 39 ratings

At the first smell you get a knock from the alcohol. After a while the sticky alcohol fades a bit and you can sense beautiful sweet aromas.

In mouth you will first get a kick from the alcohol but almost immediately you can taste vanilla, caramel and some spice. The 65 % alcohol makes this rum different in a good way. It almost vaporize in mouth. A very nice experience.

The aftertaste is very long and sweet.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Neville Midwood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 11 ratings

Reading reviews I had built up in my mind how this might taste, and at the time when I started drinking Rum it was the best tasting (sweet) rum I'd tried. The bottle is boring and black with a white label. It is only 50cl.
The alcohol/sugar explodes in your mouth and the resultant aftermath tastes like I used to imagine a perfect sweet rum should taste. After a few months I could say maybe a little too much clove/five-spice.
There's also no depth, it's always wham, sweetness.
After a few months of drinking Velier, Foursquare and Agricoles I tried to go back to it. It wasn't enjoyable as a rum and it wasn't even worth keeping for cooking. Dumped down the sink.

Posted 6 years ago by Kent Henriksson πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ͺ | 17 ratings

This is a really strong and sweet rum with a big body and long finnish. Really good!

Posted 6 years ago by Niclas Carlman πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ͺ | 77 ratings

It's an explosion of sweet flavours in the mouth that lingers for ever. The only downside is the sharp hellfire burn on your tounge :-P

Posted over 6 years ago by Christoffer Sandberg πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ͺ | 4 ratings

This one has a great aroma and the taste is even better. Even though it's a strong rum the alcohol taste doesn't take over as I expected it to do, instead there's an explosion of of different flavors that makes it very enjoyable. The aftertaste lasts several minutes afterwards.




Brand Details

Name: XO Cask
Company: Ron Esclavo
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
2915
2. Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§
559
3. Michal Micko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
546
4. Adrian Adame πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
514