St. Nicholas Abbey 5-Year rum

St. Nicholas Abbey 5-Year

Barbados | Aged | 40.0% ABV | Pot Still Distilled

8.1/10
16 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
6
8

Rate St. Nicholas Abbey 5-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

16 St. Nicholas Abbey 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 4 years ago by Alaska Joe πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 41 ratings

There is little doubt that this five year old rum is top notch,beautiful color, clean and crisp taste with a nice finish. Saint Nicholas Abbey imho is one of The greatest producers of rum on the planet. Because of its youthful five years, it obviously is not quite as refined as its older siblings, thus the 8 rating,( probably an 8.5 ) but this is a rum not to be missed, I encourage everyone to broaden their horizons and incorporate this vintage into their collection! Enjoy!

Posted over 6 years ago by martin jeppesen πŸ‡©πŸ‡° | 254 ratings

The first rum 100% produced at st. Nicholas abbey (10, 12 and 15 year was made at foursquare). It's a cane juice based pot/collum still rum. The color is lightly golden, and almost clear. Beautiful. The first thing that hits my nose is fresh, sweet peaches followed by a bit of vanilla and newly cut hay. There's a very summer like feel to the scent. My mouth is met by a rum that, given it's age, is astonishingly and sublimely smooth and so well balanced. Slightly floral notes of hay, vanilla, peaches and figs unfolds in my mouth and finishes on a gentle wooden note. As with the 15 year big brother, this is an incredibly elegant rum, with delicate frail notes. St. nicholas abbey, more then lives up to the quality of the foursquare benchmark, and i'm really looking forward to seeing where this product lands with further maturation. This is bloody good!

Posted at Sea Water Front over 2 years ago by Drew πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 1 rating

Smooth, sipping rum that finishes like an 8 year old that grew up before its time. Small barrique, single estate, Barbados owned & run, this is the real McCoy of authentic Caribbean Rum.
Nice bottle too. I met the people who make this rum & they are passionate & friendly. Check out St Nicholas Abbey on your next trip to Barbados πŸ‡§πŸ‡§

Posted over 5 years ago by Earl Elliott πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 213 ratings

Sugar 0 - 5 GPL.
Finally got a chance to taste this rum and now I can't wait for a chance to sample the 10, 12, or 15 year old versions. Golden yellow in color with the taste of honey and some vanilla and orange,finishing with a little bit of spice. On the nose it has the aroma of clover blossoms. It's like bees made this rum. Extremely smooth finish with no harsh bite at all. Great rum!

Posted 6 years ago by mistercoughy πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 239 ratings

Hard to believe this rum is only 5 years old. Uncommonly smooth, with a delicate fragrance and a light presence. Because it hasn't been resting in wooden barrels in the hot tropics for very long, the oak tones are slight, making room for fruit and gentle spice. Wonderful stuff here.

Posted over 6 years ago by BoscUlrich πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 2 ratings

After getting the 2011 12-year old as a gift and picking up the 10-year and 15-year of 2013, I was really looking forward to getting my hands on the Estate-produced St. Nicholas Abbey 5-year. The 5-year, although not a Fourquare-produced rum as the previous aged offerings were, carries the tradition of amazing Abbey rums. This is much more smooth and complex than what would normally be expected from a 5-year rum. It has more earthy tones to it than the older Abbey rums and is less sweet, but it so smooth. No harshness at all. No lingering bite. There is no way I would be using this as a mixer given how difficult it is to get it.

Posted 7 years ago by Helena Tiare πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡ͺ | 110 ratings

Exceptionally well balanced and the same soft velvety character that was in the nose comes forth here too. It`s rich, warm, welcoming with notes of toffee, vanilla, orange peel and tropical fruit backed up by some spicier woody notes.
Use this as both sipper and mixer.

Posted 5 months ago by Kevin πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 23 ratings

I visited St Nicholas Abbey plantation in 2008 and after a tour of the estate, I was given a sample of their 5 year old rum. Until then, my spirit of choice was either whiskey or brandy and rum did not even appear on my list. To say that I was amazed at the quality of the rum is an understatement. It was smooth, complex and full of flavour. Although it was much sweeter than I was used to, I found it delightful. Since then, rum has been my spirit of choice. Unfortunately, St Nicholas Abbey rum is just too expensive for me, but there are many exceptional 12 year old rums that are within my budget. One day, however, I will treat myself.

Posted 9 months ago by RumTraveler πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 7 ratings

St. Nicholas Abbey rums are very special expressions. Each is made as a single batch and hand-bottled from a single cask, but all are exquisite rums with character and depth. Because their rums are made from sugar cane syrup instead of molasses, they have a slightly more herbal and fruity flavor than other molasses-based Barbados rums. The 5 Year Rum has a subtle sweetness to it, in the form of a light caramel and vanilla from the ex-bourbon barrel in which it was aged. There is also a light peppery spice rounded out with notes of mocha.

Posted over 2 years ago by Steven Richardson πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 124 ratings

Gorgeous aroma, not harsh at all and it tastes wonderful. Can’t believe it’s such a young rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Gareth J πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 8 ratings

After enjoying the 10 year I was pleasantly surprised by th 5 year old obviously not a smooth. As this rum is made from the sugar can rather than molasses, you get a much great depth of flavor. So although the young expression, I would keep this for sipping, its robust enough to mix but for me it would beca waste.




Brand Details

Name: 5-Year
Company: St. Nicholas Abbey
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot Still
ABV: 40.0%
Aged: 5
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
2912
2. Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§
559
3. Michal Micko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
546
4. Adrian Adame πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
514