Damoiseau VSOP 4-Year rum

Damoiseau VSOP 4-Year

Guadeloupe | Agricole | 42.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

6.9/10
34 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
9
13
8
1

Rate Damoiseau VSOP 4-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

34 Damoiseau VSOP 4-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 361 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

I have the 8yo and the 15yo in the old green bottles and it can’t compete with them of course.
But it’s really not bad at all. I think that the fruitiness dominates especially in nose and afterburn. Besides that it’s oaky and spicy.
Picture: My VSOP together with my other Damoiseau Rhums

Vestty 🇨🇿 | 43 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

The first agricole I've tasted, that tastes a lot more like regular aged molasses rum. Still a bit of that acetone smell that is normal for agricole and some of that funk, but it all feels muted. I don't know if that's a good thing or a bad thing but I like it.

JackOrion 🇺🇸 | 61 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

42% but feels a little hotter. Starts off with a big nose of oak and leather. Once it breathes the sugars start to come through along with a bit of orange peel and the oak turns to vanilla. Give it more time and a scent of cut grass and pineapple make an appearance.
Sipped it lights the tongue up with heat. It's stringant from the oak, viscous, smokey and sweet. The cane is not missing one bit here and finishes with dark chocolate caramel. It lingers too.
Overall fantastic and does not disappoint on any level.

Tomy 🇷🇴 | 439 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Well, it's a good rum all around with fine notes of cocoa and wood. Long aftertaste, balanced, a little bit too dry.

Noname 🇫🇷 | 109 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Loin d être fan des vieux Damoiseau j ai trouvé ce VSOP surprenant une attaque franche et agréable une présence de boisé et de fruité très équilibré avec l alcool. Une longueur en bouche plus que convenable laissant apprécié à nouveau le boisé.

MacekMičiMottlů 🇨🇿 | 14 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Taste is woody, bitter, hints of orange, smoky aftertaste.

rumtrinker 🇩🇪 | 34 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

Golden in the glass, looks good.
On the nose, we get some oak, some strawberry (which is always a bit earthy and slightly funky), some floral notes. There is some alcoholic burn in the nose, which some might call minty freshness. To me, there is some resemblance to arrak.
In the mouth, it is more sharp, more alcoholic burn that anticipated. Very dry, practically no sweetness. I get berries, like in some red wines. Some vanilla. Very noticeable oak. The finish is, again, slightly sharp and harsh with a distinct aroma of oak.
Nice overall and a great rum if you can deal with the harsh edges. For me, it is a bit too harsh and I normally like slightly harsh rums. I hope that is helpful.

Mujuru 🇺🇸 | 135 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

This is my first rum from Guadeloupe. I had been looking to add a Guadeloupe rum to my collection for a long time but could not find one locally. Given the specs of what I could locate most of the rums I could order from EU were just not worth the total price I would pay after shipping and whatnot. Thankfully, to my surprise a local shop I recently discovered carried this one, though it was the last one on the shelf. At $38 it seemed a very reasonable bargain for a rum I had been trying to get for a while so I snapped it up.

Damoiseau is made in Guadeloupe in the French West Indies. Guadeloupe is in the same island chain as Martinique. While Guadeloupe doesn’t technically have an AOC like it’s neighbor island Martinique does, it’s rums are essentially, and in pretty much every respect, Rhum Agricole. Now, there are some molasses based rums made on Guadeloupe, but this is not one of those. This rum is made in the Agricole style from fresh pressed sugar cane juice, distilled on a column still and then tropically aged on site on Guadeloupe for 4 years in ex-bourbon casks. This is specific bottling considered by some to be an essential rum of the world.

One of the reasons I had been angling for a Guadeloupe rum was that I had heard that they are a bit more characterful than those of Martinique right next door. That’s nothing official, just something I had heard. So is it?

On the nose right away I get a blast of Black Cherry Ice Cream. Underneath that I get Black Vanilla Bean. The notes after that are not as pronounced but I still pick up Liqueur Chocolates, Graham Cracker, and just a faint whiff of tiramisu.

The palate is shockingly simple. It starts with a mouthful of fine scotch followed by vanilla, oak, and traces of Macadamia nut…though it did take a few sips to pick up the Macadamia nut note. Mostly the palate is reminiscent of sipping a nice scotch with rum undertones.

The finish is fairly short and features the return of Black Cherry Ice Cream (which is quite nice I might add) accompanied by vanilla and just the faintest hint of bike tire patch rubber.

This is a fine rum to sip on, especially if you enjoy scotch, but it is nowhere near as characterful as I was hoping it would be. Don’t get me wrong, it is enjoyable and I can definitely see what they are going for, but this rum is fairly tame and one dimensional compared to my expectations going in. Perhaps it’s an unfair comparison, but I find Neisson Reserve Speciale (a French Oak aged Agricole from Martinique) to be far bolder and more characterful than this bottling. On the other hand this is “fuller” and richer than the comparable Rhum JM VSOP to my tastes. I guess my ultimate verdict is that this is a fine rum. It doesn’t jump out of the glass at me but I can appreciate what is going on here.

Short Description: A decent scotch with some nice rum undertones. A perfectly fine sip even if it doesn’t blow you away.

ABV 42%

Country of Origin: Guadeloupe (French West Indies)

Distillery: Damoiseau at Bellevue

Nose: Black Cherry Ice Cream, Vanilla Bean, Liqueur Chocolates, Graham Cracker, Tiramisu

Palate: (thin) Fine Scotch, Vanilla, Oak, Macadamia Nut

Finish: Black Cherry Ice Cream, Vanilla, faint bike tire rubber

Michal Micko (PREMIUM) 🇨🇿 | 593 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Aroma is nice and gentle, with wood and flowers. Taste is woody bittersweet, bit sharp not very complex due to short aging, but not bad. Aftertaste could be longer, but is pleasant with typical agricole tones on palate. Good aged agricole, for fair price (40Eur in Czech Republic)

filovo 🇨🇿 | 404 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

barva : světlejší jantar
vune suchost, vanilka, rozinky
chut: lehce umělá chut
zaver : za mně jemný s lehkou sladkosti
hodnoceni 7,7
koupit ano z 40%
Alcohol 42 %