Hamilton Jamaican Pot Still Black rum

Hamilton Jamaican Pot Still Black

Multiple | Dark

7.5/10
54 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
2
4
11
19
13
2

Rate Hamilton Jamaican Pot Still Black

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image

54 Hamilton Jamaican Pot Still Black ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

oedelpino ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 35 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Pure Jamaican pot still with plenty of funk on the nose - overripe bananas, molasses. At 46.5% ABV, this is perfect for adding character to cocktails.

Mo McGurk ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 215 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

A 5.5 on my scale. Very strong molasses smell and flavor. A little less strong on the afterburn than the Hamilton Demerara

Smovens ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 103 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

This is a Jamaican rum that perfectly straddles the line between richness and funk. Itโ€™s not overly aggressive like a rum fire, but packs an amazing amount of flavor in there alongside the funk. Notes of Carmel, grassy flavors, overripe fruit, all at a great abv

Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2929 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Enjoyed two glasses of Hamilton Jamaican Pot Still Black Rum while in San Francisco. Cheap looking bottle and label design. Almost black color from a massive amount of artificial coloring. Super strong funk and plenty of oak mixed with pure alcohol to your nose and palate. Extremely strong burn at the end. As a mixer rum, you still get the funk shining through your soda.

Rob Pettigrew ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 22 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Got to have the funk! My second time drinking this one (in a Jet Pilot). Got a big whiff of licorice which I didn't the first time. Regardless, amazing rum in an amazing drink!

Glenn ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 20 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Much like Smith & Cross, lots of hogo, just a tad less strong, more darker ( molasses, burnt and smoky, brown sugar), deep like Hamilton 151 Demerara but without the cinnamon and burn.

Update: picked up a bottle of Myers. The 2 are very similar. The Hamilton has a little more flavor. I don't think anyone wiil be able tell the difference if you put these 2 in the same cocktail. Since the Hamilton is hard to find and is more expensive I'll only get it for special occasions.

Raphael ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 19 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

This rum is flavorful and intensely funky. Being unaged, its funk is pretty wild. In some ways, it is more overpowering than say, Smith and Cross, even though it is not as high proof. It would overpower most cocktails that call for "Dark Jamaican Rum". However it is ideal for the Jungle Bird and the Doctor Funk

Wayne Upton ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 136 ratings
Posted almost 5 years ago

From Worthy Park, this is a blend of three non-aged rums. Color is from added caramel. The same exact rum as in the Hamilton Jamaica Gold, but with a different caramel color(batches will vary slightly).

nomad ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 137 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

It has taken me years to learn to love this rum and its ability to bring instant richness to any drink. I will add this to other rums straight up for a little kick. Same review for this and the gold because they are the same.

chris ambler ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 23 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

a deep dark molasses and burnt sugar aroma and taste. such a unique flavor.

Matthew Brown ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 27 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

You will invariably get a lot of comparisons to Smith and Cross with this guy. I will say there is something kind of like day old coffee, that acid you get from old gas station coffee left in your mouth when drinking this sucker. That being said, it is a cool ingredient to have in your collection, I just can't really seeing myself ever gravitating back towards it.