Background Image
Preload image
Carta Vieja Anejo rum

Carta Vieja Anejo

Panama | Gold | 40% ABV

5.9/10
18 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
5
5
2

Rate Carta Vieja Anejo

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image

18 Carta Vieja Anejo Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Graham 🇺🇸 | 14 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

This rum has a very potent initial bite but then falls off at the finish. Has a toasted wood & maple flavor

Wyopyrate 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

A touch better than bacardi anejo, and not quite as good as havana club anejo. Makes above average mixed drinks, and is good enough to stand alone neat or on the rocks

dajana 🇪🇨 | 76 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

Very close to Abuelo Añejo, just smoother. You can feel barrel well, alcohol content is not expressed. For a young rum absolutely great!

alcozl 🇷🇺 | 21 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Ром из Панамы.
Заявленная выдержка – 3 года.
Дата розлива: 19.10.2017г.
Нос: карамель, ваниль, засахаренные фрукты (дыня, ананас).
Вкус: мягкий, сладковатый, простой.
Финиш: короткий.
В составе помимо сахарного колера указан сахар.
За счёт сахара и пониженной крепости получился очень мягкий и приятный ром. В нём нет смысла искать влияние древесины дуба и глубину вкуса. Он лёгкий и при этом ароматный. Этот ром создан для весёлой компании и лихой попойки.

Blacksun 🇺🇸 | 6 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Easy to drink and hard to find. there are better for the time and money

Andrey 🇷🇺 | 9 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Moderate sweetness, aromas of exotic fruits and vanilla. Easy to drink

Alas 🇵🇷 | 503 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Nose is solid but the finish is very harsh and peppery

Paul B 🇺🇸 | 472 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

I have been a fan of Carta Vieja 18 Year and 8 Year for many years. Then a website showed this one being $5 US cheaper than the 8 Year. When I finally got to their store, sure enough, it was in an entirely different labeled bottle with no age statement. Thinking that less wood aging would make it taste better than their 8 year old and always looking for a good buy, I bought two bottles (like a damn fool).

Well, their 8 year old rates as a 7 by me, but this one can garner no more than a 5. Their silver rum tastes so much better. Their choice of wood is what screws this one up. I will never buy this rum again, but so many other rums that I have tried are rated even worse. I will stick with their 18 year solera and 8 year anejo. If it works, don't fix it! The wood taste was so bad that I wound up giving both bottles to a neighbor.

Lloyd 🇦🇺 | 32 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Sipping this in Panama with little ice around it’s a lovely change to the usual on ice rums I’ve tried. Instantly you get a sweet taste followed by a smooth woody flavour. The flavour lingers too. Love it

Lukasz 🇵🇱 | 20 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Rum from Panama, three years old. Aroma of kerosene, dried cherries, dried plums. The taste has a lot of snuff, like Grande Champagne cognac, dry, zero sweets, skin, bitter tea, cherry juice, green walnuts. The finish is also very dry, tart, very leathery, tobacco, besides pears in syrup, raspberries.

Philip Rademaker 🇨🇼 | 50 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I had a Brugal extra viejo with soda, and after that I tried this one in the same combination. While the Brugal is not outstanding, though quite nice in the mix, The Carta Vieja did not deliver. a raw, unfinished taste, the alcohol coming through while the sweetness did nothing to finesse it. Quite cheap though, and I will buy it again, and have raisins and prunes soak in it, add a little honey and cinnamon for an after dinner "Bajativo".




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: Carta Vieja
Country: Panama
Name: Anejo
ABV: 40%
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No