Phraya Gold rum

Phraya Gold

Thailand | Gold

6.8/10
25 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
3
5
6
3
2

Rate Phraya Gold

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

25 Phraya Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

DAMITJOE 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Should you find yourself overstocked with real cane Coke or Pepsi (which I prefer), and an ample supply of limes, and friends who are tolerable only when you got your buzz on, here is he place ot enjoy this inferior spirit. There are many areas where Thailand is numero uno: Muay Thai, Food, Independence, loyalty, big darn cat fish, scenery, and of course, lovely, lovely women. I always a large frozen pilsner glass, start with 2 cut up and muddled limes, a squirt of coconut milk or better creme 3 shots of Pharya Gold,add clear, cracked ice chipped off a block of ice using an Aranyik knife. Fill the glass with cola, light up a Thai stick blunt, enjoy. Do not exceed two of these (drinks). No driving, best not to talk too much and do not be the stoned jack ass to volunteer to be a muay thai punching bag. Chill, enjoy the three hours or so of buzz.

Andreasx 🇨🇦 | 25 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Aged for a minimum of 7 years in new oak barrels. A medium amber color that is a little sweet on the nose. A very strong flavour that has a hint of sweetness, a little tangy, an alcohol edge and a pleasant heat. The strong edge and heat continue into the aftertaste and linger for quite a while. It has a slight resemblance to the regular 5 year Sang Som spiced rum. As they are both produced by the same company, I suspect that the characteristics of Thai rum are similar. I tried it neat and found it quite pleasant.

"Samuel Brunello" 🇺🇸 | 81 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Rum from Thailand. That's your first indicator that this is gonna be something different! Bright yet earthy aromas, featuring notes of moss, caramel, kola nut, and a light smokiness. Smooth going across the mouth. Enters with flavors of light cinnamon, then a damp cedar and caramel. Finish is VERY long! It carries flavors of brown sugar, balsa, and dirt (in the best way, I promise!), which swells into a delightful coconut creme brulee! Eventually, this settles into something like beef jerky, plums and just a hint of white chocolate truffle. I know that sounds weird. It IS weird! Phraya is eccentric, complex, and just amazing! If you are adventurous and ever cross paths with this curious beast, do yourself a favor and pick up of of these magnificent gilded bottles!

Alas 🇵🇷 | 194 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Nose is great like a light toast, but on taste feels watery and then there’s this rancidy orange taste

thebrowndram 🇵🇭 | 42 ratings
Posted 6 months ago

Nose: Turmeric and sweet ginger, leading to baby powder, walnuts, and crushed sesame seeds. Generally, the nose is very soft and subdued. Added water doesn’t change it much.

Palate: Also soft, but less complex than the nose (and the nose isn’t even that complex). Toffee and molasses, accented by a hint of powdered walnuts and hot chocolate mix.

Finish: An initial burst of walnuts then a sudden drop into only traces of ethanol. Disappointing.

jamesmacgauran 🇬🇧 | 1 rating
Posted 1 year ago

Absolutely the best rum I've ever tasted. Incredibly smooth and rich and delicious day and night, for a good price. I just wish they would market it more.

Tomeczek 🇵🇱 | 12 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Very nice rum with strong vanilla and nut flavors. Tried solo and in mixes - finest cuba libre ever.

Rinushorn (PREMIUM) 🇫🇷 | 120 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Belle découverte que ce rum thaïlandais. La bouteille est originale et le breuvage se veut gouleyant avec un nez de fruits confits et de boisé. Beau produit !

Pollux 🇨🇦 | 246 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Très beau rhum de dégustation. Si vous avez la chance d'y goûter, faites-le.

Kasper Meijer 🇨🇭 | 36 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

This rum is surprisingly good for a rum from Thailand. While I was there I tried all the others they have to offer and got a headache from all of them! But it was worth the fun evening... Bought this one at the airport to bring home and tried it yesterday with some friends. Really nice actually. Its sweet but not too sweet, bit of vanilla. Not too strong taste and after taste is indeed very good. Happy I bought this!

Reiwa 🇯🇵 | 142 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Thailand Rum. This is not a strange one, certainly decent taste.
It has creamy vanilla and apricot flover, and suitable sweetness.




Brand Details

Name: Gold
Company: Phraya
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading