Phraya Gold rum

Phraya Gold

Thailand | Gold

6.8/10
27 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
4
6
6
3
2

Rate Phraya Gold

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

27 Phraya Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

DAMITJOE 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Should you find yourself overstocked with real cane Coke or Pepsi (which I prefer), and an ample supply of limes, and friends who are tolerable only when you got your buzz on, here is he place ot enjoy this inferior spirit. There are many areas where Thailand is numero uno: Muay Thai, Food, Independence, loyalty, big darn cat fish, scenery, and of course, lovely, lovely women. I always a large frozen pilsner glass, start with 2 cut up and muddled limes, a squirt of coconut milk or better creme 3 shots of Pharya Gold,add clear, cracked ice chipped off a block of ice using an Aranyik knife. Fill the glass with cola, light up a Thai stick blunt, enjoy. Do not exceed two of these (drinks). No driving, best not to talk too much and do not be the stoned jack ass to volunteer to be a muay thai punching bag. Chill, enjoy the three hours or so of buzz.

Andreasx 🇨🇦 | 26 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Aged for a minimum of 7 years in new oak barrels. A medium amber color that is a little sweet on the nose. A very strong flavour that has a hint of sweetness, a little tangy, an alcohol edge and a pleasant heat. The strong edge and heat continue into the aftertaste and linger for quite a while. It has a slight resemblance to the regular 5 year Sang Som spiced rum. As they are both produced by the same company, I suspect that the characteristics of Thai rum are similar. I tried it neat and found it quite pleasant.

"Samuel Brunello" 🇺🇸 | 83 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Rum from Thailand. That's your first indicator that this is gonna be something different! Bright yet earthy aromas, featuring notes of moss, caramel, kola nut, and a light smokiness. Smooth going across the mouth. Enters with flavors of light cinnamon, then a damp cedar and caramel. Finish is VERY long! It carries flavors of brown sugar, balsa, and dirt (in the best way, I promise!), which swells into a delightful coconut creme brulee! Eventually, this settles into something like beef jerky, plums and just a hint of white chocolate truffle. I know that sounds weird. It IS weird! Phraya is eccentric, complex, and just amazing! If you are adventurous and ever cross paths with this curious beast, do yourself a favor and pick up of of these magnificent gilded bottles!

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 442 ratings
Posted 10 days ago

They had me at the bottle quite nice and different. First scent smells ok, hmm. First taste rolls off the tongue nicely mildly sweet easy baking spices flavors, maybe one hell of an auction find. No need for ice very smooth and a good contender at 7.5.

shindler 🇵🇱 | 38 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

"Max is comming and I would like to buy something to drink for him, what whiskey should I buy?". "He stopped drinking whiskey... He is now on rums, buy rum but not Bacardi's"... This is the exact conversation that my wife had with our friend which lead to, me having a "remote rum" and my exlusive disposition in my firend cabinet ;). The bottle is extra ordinary, but beyond that I cannot say anything more as nothing "recorded in my mind" in regards to Phraya beside the fact: as for a Thai rum, not from typical rum origin it quite ok ;)... For now I rate it 6/10 and give it a try next time ;)

Alas 🇵🇷 | 228 ratings
Posted 9 months ago

Nose is great like a light toast, but on taste feels watery and then there’s this rancidy orange taste

thebrowndram 🇵🇭 | 51 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

Nose: Turmeric and sweet ginger, leading to baby powder, walnuts, and crushed sesame seeds. Generally, the nose is very soft and subdued. Added water doesn’t change it much.

Palate: Also soft, but less complex than the nose (and the nose isn’t even that complex). Toffee and molasses, accented by a hint of powdered walnuts and hot chocolate mix.

Finish: An initial burst of walnuts then a sudden drop into only traces of ethanol. Disappointing.

jamesmacgauran 🇬🇧 | 1 rating
Posted over 1 year ago

Absolutely the best rum I've ever tasted. Incredibly smooth and rich and delicious day and night, for a good price. I just wish they would market it more.

Tomeczek 🇵🇱 | 12 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Very nice rum with strong vanilla and nut flavors. Tried solo and in mixes - finest cuba libre ever.

Rinushorn 🇫🇷 | 133 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Belle découverte que ce rum thaïlandais. La bouteille est originale et le breuvage se veut gouleyant avec un nez de fruits confits et de boisé. Beau produit !

Pollux 🇨🇦 | 252 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Très beau rhum de dégustation. Si vous avez la chance d'y goûter, faites-le.




Brand Details

Name: Gold
Company: Phraya
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading