Loading...

Background Image
Preload image
Phraya Gold rum

Phraya Gold

Thailand | Gold | 40% ABV

6.6/10
30 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
0
1
1
2
3
6
5
6
4
2

Rate Phraya Gold

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image

30 Phraya Gold Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

DAMITJOE ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 8 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Should you find yourself overstocked with real cane Coke or Pepsi (which I prefer), and an ample supply of limes, and friends who are tolerable only when you got your buzz on, here is he place ot enjoy this inferior spirit. There are many areas where Thailand is numero uno: Muay Thai, Food, Independence, loyalty, big darn cat fish, scenery, and of course, lovely, lovely women. I always a large frozen pilsner glass, start with 2 cut up and muddled limes, a squirt of coconut milk or better creme 3 shots of Pharya Gold,add clear, cracked ice chipped off a block of ice using an Aranyik knife. Fill the glass with cola, light up a Thai stick blunt, enjoy. Do not exceed two of these (drinks). No driving, best not to talk too much and do not be the stoned jack ass to volunteer to be a muay thai punching bag. Chill, enjoy the three hours or so of buzz.

Andreasx ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 26 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Aged for a minimum of 7 years in new oak barrels. A medium amber color that is a little sweet on the nose. A very strong flavour that has a hint of sweetness, a little tangy, an alcohol edge and a pleasant heat. The strong edge and heat continue into the aftertaste and linger for quite a while. It has a slight resemblance to the regular 5 year Sang Som spiced rum. As they are both produced by the same company, I suspect that the characteristics of Thai rum are similar. I tried it neat and found it quite pleasant.

"Samuel Brunello" ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 83 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Rum from Thailand. That's your first indicator that this is gonna be something different! Bright yet earthy aromas, featuring notes of moss, caramel, kola nut, and a light smokiness. Smooth going across the mouth. Enters with flavors of light cinnamon, then a damp cedar and caramel. Finish is VERY long! It carries flavors of brown sugar, balsa, and dirt (in the best way, I promise!), which swells into a delightful coconut creme brulee! Eventually, this settles into something like beef jerky, plums and just a hint of white chocolate truffle. I know that sounds weird. It IS weird! Phraya is eccentric, complex, and just amazing! If you are adventurous and ever cross paths with this curious beast, do yourself a favor and pick up of of these magnificent gilded bottles!

Bonandy ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 112 ratings
Posted 8 months ago

Pleasant, coffee aroma. Slightly sweet, smooth to drink.

ghrum52 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 9 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

Worth trying if you go to Thailand, but falls short compared to similar Caribbean rums. Not my go to rum and doesn't taste the premium rums you find in the US.

ShadowDragon ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 119 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Really unique. Slightly sweet. Excellent rum. Notes of chestnut. Didn't know what to expect from a rum from Thailand, but it's quickly becoming one of my favorites.

Avi ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 7 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Found this in Thailand duty-free. Enjoyed this while unwinding after a long day at work.

Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 506 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

They had me at the bottle quite nice and different. First scent smells ok, hmm. First taste rolls off the tongue nicely mildly sweet easy baking spices flavors, maybe one hell of an auction find. No need for ice very smooth and a good contender at 7.5.

shindler ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ | 43 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

"Max is comming and I would like to buy something to drink for him, what whiskey should I buy?". "He stopped drinking whiskey... He is now on rums, buy rum but not Bacardi's"... This is the exact conversation that my wife had with our friend which lead to, me having a "remote rum" and my exlusive disposition in my firend cabinet ;). The bottle is extra ordinary, but beyond that I cannot say anything more as nothing "recorded in my mind" in regards to Phraya beside the fact: as for a Thai rum, not from typical rum origin it quite ok ;)... For now I rate it 6/10 and give it a try next time ;)

Alas ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ท | 548 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Nose is great like a light toast, but on taste feels watery and then thereโ€™s this rancidy orange taste

thebrowndram ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ญ | 51 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Nose: Turmeric and sweet ginger, leading to baby powder, walnuts, and crushed sesame seeds. Generally, the nose is very soft and subdued. Added water doesnโ€™t change it much.

Palate: Also soft, but less complex than the nose (and the nose isnโ€™t even that complex). Toffee and molasses, accented by a hint of powdered walnuts and hot chocolate mix.

Finish: An initial burst of walnuts then a sudden drop into only traces of ethanol. Disappointing.




Brand Details

Type: Gold
Company: Phraya
Country: Thailand
ABV: 40%
Name: Gold
Raw Material: Unknown
Process: Unknown
Distillation: Unknown
Women Led: No

Professional Reviews

1. Luxurious Drinks
2. Luxurious Drinks
Loading...