Phraya Gold rum

Phraya Gold

Thailand | Gold

6.8/10
25 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
3
5
6
3
2

Rate Phraya Gold

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

25 Phraya Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 2 months ago by Alas ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ท | 161 ratings

Nose is great like a light toast, but on taste feels watery and then thereโ€™s this rancidy orange taste

Posted over 1 year ago by ManhttanProject ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 6 ratings

(my first review, take this with a grain of salt)

Nose: Very sweet, with a light fruit scent reminiscent of other young Jamaicans (albeit MUCH less pronounced and more sweet than savory), banana, with hints of molasses.
Palate: Hints of pineapple, orange, burnt sugar, candy corn. Very smooth, not much alcohol flavor.
Tail: Mostly burnt sugar, with a little pepperiness.

Overall, a very solid light rum, and one of my favorites of its kind in my collection. I'm partial to very aggressive overproofs and Jamaicans though, so I would usually look for something with a bit more character to it when reaching for a sipping rum. However, I'd definitely go for this one if I needed a light, less out-there rum for a cocktail or to give my palate a break.

Posted over 1 year ago by abrarey ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 49 ratings

This is supposed to be a stellar mixing rum, but damn is pretty good for sipping. Very creamy feeling and you can taste some funkiness. This is the same as the Veritas, but this the brand name used for the US market.
Nose: ripe banana.
Taste: Ripe tropical fruits, very creamy, and sweet in a good way.
After taste is even better, the fruit flavor dominate your palate for long time.
I will need to try it on cocktails but damn I already love it like that.

Posted 1 month ago by Captain_Tyson ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 65 ratings

A mix of Foursquare and Hampden this is probably the best lightly aged white rum you can snag and only $30. Donโ€™t sleep on it. This is the go-to. Daiquiri, done. Tiโ€™Punch too.

Posted 3 months ago by Bennyboy ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 13 ratings

We all love a toasty Jamaican rum and a light, fruity Barbadian rum. This bottle brings the best of both worlds and presents numerous possibilities. Sipping neat and on the rocks is a smile-inducing experience, led through the bodies of two very separate flavour profiles using the same taste buds separate from a cocktail. Speaking of mixed drinks, it is also a fun tool for bartenders who mix their rums. While less of a daiquiri base in my opinion, it finds a comfy home in mai tais and honeysuckles.

Posted 8 months ago by MaxMunafo (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 67 ratings

Best of both worlds, truly a masterpiece. Hampden and Foursquare come together with fireworks! My two favorite distilleries in one bottle? I'll be buying a case...

Posted over 1 year ago by sebastospud ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 16 ratings

Sipping, just great with a lot of pineapple and bananas on the nose, along with burnt caramel. Then on the palate, bananas, funk, anise, and some cedar or pencil shavings. A bit hot at first, but, really lovely to hang out with for a while.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง | 559 ratings

Good daquiri and flavour of both Barbados and Jamaica .. what is not to love in rum ....both my favourite islands ..

Posted almost 2 years ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 326 ratings

My second Foursquare rum. My second reason to question โ€œwhy all the hypeโ€? Again, clearly a quality rum. But Plantation 3 star blows this away and costs 30% less! I will continue to try Foursquare rums. I am certain I will find one that will substantiate the hype. I know a bar by me that has The Sagacity. That will be my next Foursquare test. But as of right now Foursquare is all marketing. Brilliant marketing as I see it. They are the Wall Drug of liquor. Long on words and reputation, short on substance.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Marty ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 102 ratings

You have both on this site, and some have rated this one on the Veritas page.

I think this ranks with some of my other whites, but a little too much funk . . . and not the 9 or 10 I was hoping for . . . aren't we all? As seen below, the label makes a statement. Good for Foursquare and Richard Seale. Keep up all you work for and stand for. Another worthy product!

Is the Veritas a similarly top choice? I don't know. I haven't tried it. Not sure it available to me in the US.

Posted 13 days ago by PapaKielbasa ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 32 ratings

A slightly toned down version of the current caribbean white rums on the market now. I like this in an El Presidente cocktail. Great mouth feel with the vermouth and Curacao. I don't much like this with citrus in a sour cocktail.

Price point is great for what you're getting.

I love the color too. Slightly yellow.




Brand Details

Name: Gold
Company: Phraya
Type: Gold
Distillation: Unknown
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2902
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
546
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
514