Dictador Amber 100 rum

Dictador Amber 100

Colombia | Gold

6.1/10
17 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
3
6
4
2

Rate Dictador Amber 100

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image

17 Dictador Amber 100 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

B.P.O. 🇳🇱 | 55 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

The Dutch would label this as Jong Belegen (Young Mature). Like some of the other commentators this lacks a place within the line up of Dictador.
Smell is smooth-ish with a hint of cinnamon and 5-spice but taste is sharp & spicy, showing what seems to be its age.
It’s not a rum mixer, whilst at the same time I struggle to drink it straight.

Swisslet 🇬🇧 | 30 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

This rum has a beautifully rich, sweet nose. Before I’ve tasted a drop, it’s already delicious. Once it’s warmed up a bit, this sweetness can be found in the rum itself. Slightly alcoholic on the tongue, but really very drinkable.

Rsvec 🇦🇹 | 80 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I like all Dictadors - it is great to be able to follow the maturing of their products. One each stage they are special - Chapeau

Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

In the interest of full disclosure I approach my personal review knowing that Dictator is one of my favorite brands.

As with the Dictador Claro 100 (which I reviewed earlier) the "100" refers to how many months it has been aged (a little over 8 years). The hue becomes a nice shade of mahogany with bronze highlights..

I repeat myself but just as with the Dictado Claro 100 the metal screw cap was substandard and would not release thereby stripping the groove and making it difficult to open. Eventually I managed to get the stupid thing OFF the bottle by using my Spyderco pocketknife (without ruining the point BTW). Apparently I am not alone with this gripe. Hopefully someone there will get the hint.

I noticed very good legs when I swirled it around in my snifter. Lengthy streams. The aroma is quite nice.

I detect butterscotch, toffee, and some vanilla in the initial flavor along with natural sweetness. Some oak and pepper, but not all that much surprisingly. It is quite smooth with little burn. The finish highlight the butterscotch and vanilla flavors which slowly fade enticing one to take another sip.

Along with the Dictador Claro 100 this is a very nice sipping rum. I've given both an 8 but if I had to choose, the Amber would be my choice over the Claro but both would be welcome.

Per Rosenhave 🇩🇰 | 158 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

I must collect something, else i get crazy, so why not Rum?

Posted over 6 years ago

when you look at Dictador's lineup, you have to ask yourself where does this one fit in... it's definitely not aimed at true rum drinkers... does that mean it's aiming squarely at Bacardi drinkers?

if the latter, it makes sense.

if the former, you are ruining the brand image for brand's other products.

RonRumHead (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 33 ratings
Posted 1 month ago

Initial smell wasn’t very good - chemical/alcohol. Then I’m thinking … oh no. But then I sipped. I’m an advanced intermediate rum drinker - by no means an expert.

I could taste the caramel immediately, but in a good way. To me, it’s not as sweet as Diplomatico Reserva. Reminded me of Brach’s caramel candy squares I used to eat as a kid.

No burn, no bad after taste. And after a few great sips, I smelled again and could cleanly smell caramel.

I can’t wait to taste the “better” Dictador’s. But I will say that this was a fine introduction. I look forward to sipping XO.

But in the meantime, I’m going to enjoy the rest of the bottle. For $25 US, I’d say it is one hell of a rum. I’m kinda sad that it was the last bottle at TWN & they didn’t have a label on the shelf, so it was the last bottle :(

Can’t believe that the coffee and orange bottles were a higher price. I definitely recommend giving it a try!

Mo McGurk 🇺🇸 | 215 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

They have to add caramel, it’s just too strong in the nose and flavor. But I couldn’t see any hints or suggestions in a quick search, so I will give them the benefit of the doubt as I did enjoy it. Little afterburn and it mixes fine.

Florin 🇷🇴 | 47 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Un Dictador , are acel superb gust dictador in fundal, mai pronuntat si mai echilibrat decat toate celelalte din seria 100. un pronuntat gust de zahar ars, ars nu caramelizat de aici si o amareala de unde isi trage si numele de amber . am spus un dictador deci nu trebuie sa mai specific ca e un rom bun ) prefer totusi dictadorul 12 chiar daca e ceva mai scump .

.............................................................................................................................................................

A Dictator, has that superb dictator taste in the background, more pronounced and more balanced than all the others in the 100 series. it has a pronounced taste of burnt sugar, burnt not caramelized from here the bitterness from which it derives its name amber.
I said a dictator so I don't have to specify that it's a good rum) I still prefer dictator 12 even if it's a bit more expensive.

Thoomas 🇸🇰 | 29 ratings
Posted 10 months ago

Kind of harsh rum with strong notes of wood and little bit smoky. The end is very dry and unpleasant for me. I could not feel anything else.

Isegal 🇩🇪 | 77 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

My first dictador, that waas a mistake. I will try soon other dictadors and i hope they will tast better.