Afrohead XO 15-Year rum

Afrohead XO 15-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged | 40.0% ABV

7.6/10
17 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
3
3
6
1

Rate Afrohead XO 15-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

17 Afrohead XO 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 515 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

This is a very nice tasting rum.

Vanilla, spice, toffee, oak, and bourbon. A bit strong at 43%abv, but I find the taste good enough for that strength (I only like stronger rums if they're really good).

Capt. Rick 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Incredibly smooth and so sippable either on the rocks or straight up. This rum is always my go-to rum when friends come over. And knowing the history of how it's made, I have gotten my whiskey drinking friends to really appreciate a good rum.

Ramon 🇺🇸 | 76 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I first tasted this rum when my local purveyor had a bottle on the sample table. They also had a representative from the distributer on hand who shared the story of the rums origin. This is a very well balanced good tasting rum as one would hope. I tend to like a good dark rum and this one is close to the mark but the barrel flavour makes it taste a bit like bourbon. I think my whiskey drinking friends would be turned on to rum after sampling it. I would drink this straight up or on the rocks with a side of Coke, I wouldn't mix it, I kinda like the burn. The price is a bit high, but it may be hard to find. When you do find it, the box and the bottle look great, it's like a gift set year round so treat yourself - YOLO

Juno 🇺🇸 | 51 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Had this rum in Miami and had to buy a bottle. Very floral taste that leaves sugarcane on the palate. Not a fan of the XO bottle because it hides the caramel color.

beeporama (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 64 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Despite the attestation of Toby Tyler (master blender) that there is no added sugar, this had a vanilla sweetness that reminded me of Zaya. For something of this age, I would have expected more oak... it's there, but not the kind of smokiness I'd like. I know this is aged in bourbon barrels, but overall, it was way smoother than I expected. Which would be a good thing for almost anyone, so I do recommend this as a sipping rum, but I think I prefer styles with more character.

je_farley 🇺🇸 | 106 ratings
Posted 3 years ago

Very floral to both the nose and tongue with a strong bite at the end. A very interesting taste but not to my liking...felt there was not a lot of body for an aged rum. It was nice to try but will not be a stocker.

Russ 🇺🇸 | 85 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

I recently discovered this rum in the Bahamas.

I was skeptical. I understand and appreciate the cultural and ethic significance of the bottle but at first glance I found it bizarre and not typical of a high quality rum. But, this is a high quality rum.

The nose is floral and maple. Its very balanced, a little on the spicy side but still has a nice strong sweetness. It really has a bit of everything going on which I found very unique. The finish is smooth with an added oak and citrus note.

Anything less than a 9 for this rum is ridiculous... This is a must try.

This is a sipper.

DucksFan16 🇺🇸 | 52 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

VERY deep and complex aroma, oaky, delicious. Taste is very complex, deep, bold, vanilla, slight alcohol, smooth. Tastes very similar to El Dorado 21 to me, except more bold and dry. 90+

Amalas 🇺🇸 | 69 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

A little bit of burn, but in a good way. Following that is a ton of flavor, including botanicals and oak.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2925 ratings
Posted almost 4 years ago

Had a rum tasting on a sunny afternoon, because why not. Afrohead XO Rum bottle and label design looks nice and unique. Light golden color from artificial flavoring. Strong alcohol, wood and vanilla to the nose and palate. Strong burn at the end. Whisky lovers can add 2 points, but this is not my cup of tea.




Brand Details

Name: XO 15-Year
Company: Afrohead
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 40.0%
Aged: 15

Loading

Loading

Loading

Loading