loading

Diplomatico 2001 rum

Diplomatico 2001

Venezuela | Aged

8.7/10
86 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
10
16
42
16

Rate Diplomatico 2001

Tap to Rate

Review Images

User review image
User review image

86 Diplomatico 2001 Ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Andy (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 133 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

You can really tell this is an aged rum by the different flavors that come out over the finish. The nose starts almost like a sweet wine, but a sip proves not as thick as expected. Taste starts a little too spicy for my preference, but turns sweet and nice about half way though the finish. I don't like it enough to buy a bottle, but I certainly wouldn't turn down a double once and a while just for the unique flavoring.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (TASTING CLUB) 🇺🇸 | 560 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Diplomatico single vintage rums are one of my all time favorites. I drank the 2000, 2001, and 2002 side by side, and I really struggled to tell them apart.

Has an amazing smell of rich butter toffee, caramel, and butterscotch, with a light sherry taste that isn't strong enough to detract from the rum. Taste is an amazing follow up to the nose. Strong at 43%abv, but so good the added strength is perfect. Another amazing rum from Diplomatico.

Mikkel Nielsen 🇩🇰 | 32 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

I like this one alot, great taste but it is abit expensive.

hyenik 🇨🇿 | 159 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

fruit, fruit, fruit :) smooth, sweet rum with touch of power = diplomatico

Jonny Olsson 🇸🇪 | 162 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

So cloose to excellence it can be and only bitten by its own brother Ambassador and some few other products. The whole Diplomatico range I really love and recommend as the base sipping dark Rum.

Niclas Carlman 🇸🇪 | 80 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Great rum with tastes of fruit, wood, caramel and also coffee.
Smooth long lasting taste.
Add some ice to enrich the flavours.

Mihai 🇷🇴 | 212 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Great sipper, long aftertaste. În buna tradiție Diplomatico un rom minunat!

Tomy 🇷🇴 | 439 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

For the first time, I sippted I felt woody notes. After that I felt frutty notes, and also some intense tabaco and coffee flavours. Good choice.

Mr.B 🇬🇧 | 70 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

My first foray into the Diplomatico range and must say interesting but a very welcome to have a single vintage which I have never come across within my short rum journey.

Dark Amber/reddish in colour. Very nice aroma, complex am getting notes of burned sugar, some tobacco, maybe dried fruits.

This tastes silky smooth, mouth enveloping, sweet but balanced with the other flavours of spice. Long sweet, rich dry finish with a spicy tingling.

Perfect after dinner drink.

Marcus7601 🇸🇪 | 7 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

More refined taste than normal Diplomatico. Lovely taste

Anthony 🇳🇱 | 4 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

I've tasted multiple series. The 2007, 2005, 2002 and the 2000. But the 2001 is in my opinion the best I've tasted.