Diplomatico 2001 rum

Diplomatico 2001

Venezuela | Aged

8.7/10
85 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
10
16
41
16

Rate Diplomatico 2001

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image

85 Diplomatico 2001 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Andy (PREMIUM) 🇬🇧 | 126 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

You can really tell this is an aged rum by the different flavors that come out over the finish. The nose starts almost like a sweet wine, but a sip proves not as thick as expected. Taste starts a little too spicy for my preference, but turns sweet and nice about half way though the finish. I don't like it enough to buy a bottle, but I certainly wouldn't turn down a double once and a while just for the unique flavoring.

Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 534 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Diplomatico single vintage rums are one of my all time favorites. I drank the 2000, 2001, and 2002 side by side, and I really struggled to tell them apart.

Has an amazing smell of rich butter toffee, caramel, and butterscotch, with a light sherry taste that isn't strong enough to detract from the rum. Taste is an amazing follow up to the nose. Strong at 43%abv, but so good the added strength is perfect. Another amazing rum from Diplomatico.

Mikkel Nielsen 🇩🇰 | 32 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

I like this one alot, great taste but it is abit expensive.

Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2994 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Diplomatico 2001 Single Vintage is an amazingly smooth rum, but the reality is that Reserva Exclusiva is less than half the price and offers you 98% the same experience. Both 2000 and 2001 Single Vintage bottles are very hard to find in the US, but taste exactly the same. If you find one, you have tasted both.

Here's my top 30 list:
1. Ron Tres Loco de Vinos from Vinoble Skanderborg
2. Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength
3. Legendario Gran Reserva 15y
4. Cubaney Centenario 25-30y
5. Companero Panama
6. Ron Esclavo XO
7. Ron Millonario XO and 15y
8. Plantation Barbados XO 20th Anniversary
9. El Dorado 25y
10. Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva and Single Vintage
11. Presidente Marti 23y and 19y
12. Cubaney 18y
13. Pusser's 15y
14. Black Tot
15. El Pasador de Oro XO
16. Bavaro Black Ultra Premium
17. Punta Cana Esplendido
18. Edmundo Dantes 15y
19. Pampero Aniversario
20. Bacoo 12y
21. Ron Esclavo 15y and 12y
22. El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva
23. Brugal Leyenda
24. Exquisito 1990 and 1995
25. Koloa Kaua'i Coconut
26. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize
27. Unhiq XO
28. Ron Hero 21y Solera
29. Punta Cana XOX
30. Ron Cartavio XO

hyenik 🇨🇿 | 141 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

fruit, fruit, fruit :) smooth, sweet rum with touch of power = diplomatico

Jonny Olsson 🇸🇪 | 162 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

So cloose to excellence it can be and only bitten by its own brother Ambassador and some few other products. The whole Diplomatico range I really love and recommend as the base sipping dark Rum.

Niclas Carlman 🇸🇪 | 80 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Great rum with tastes of fruit, wood, caramel and also coffee.
Smooth long lasting taste.
Add some ice to enrich the flavours.

Mihai 🇷🇴 | 212 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Great sipper, long aftertaste. În buna tradiție Diplomatico un rom minunat!

Tomy 🇷🇴 | 439 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

For the first time, I sippted I felt woody notes. After that I felt frutty notes, and also some intense tabaco and coffee flavours. Good choice.

Mr.B 🇬🇧 | 70 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

My first foray into the Diplomatico range and must say interesting but a very welcome to have a single vintage which I have never come across within my short rum journey.

Dark Amber/reddish in colour. Very nice aroma, complex am getting notes of burned sugar, some tobacco, maybe dried fruits.

This tastes silky smooth, mouth enveloping, sweet but balanced with the other flavours of spice. Long sweet, rich dry finish with a spicy tingling.

Perfect after dinner drink.

ripperussr 🇨🇿 | 164 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Nice smoked cocoa, hard chocolata and caramel aroma. Full body with tropic fruit scent and cocoa. Very pleasant tail.




Brand Details

Name: 2001
Company: Diplomatico
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Distilled: 2001

Loading

Professional Reviews

Articles

Loading

Loading