loading

Mezan XO Jamaica rum

Mezan XO Jamaica

Multiple | Aged | 40.0% ABV

6.9/10
89 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
4
16
27
28
5
2

Rate Mezan XO Jamaica

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

89 Mezan XO Jamaica ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Bamboleo 🇩🇪 | 21 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

I think I rated this too low the first time around. It is actually a pretty decent jamaican rum, not super funky, a good entry jamaican.

TommyVinegar 🇧🇪 | 46 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Mezan calls itself "The Untouched Rum" which means no added sugar, no added colouring (like caramel) and only a light filtering. The Jamaican XO is the only rum that's currently permanently in their portfolio (others are single years vintages). It's a blend of selected casks from different Jamaican distilleries aged between 4 and 23 years and reaged after blending until deemed ready for bottling. Mezan do not put an age statement on their rums and rightly so. It's about creating a consistent flavor profile year in year out, in order to achieve this the actual age fluctuates. I wish more rums would abandon age statements, seeing as they are often misleading and little more than a marketing thing. Taste is what matters, not numbers. And this is tasty! Smelly too. Lots of overripe banana, as can be expected from a Jamaican pot still rum. Some caramel scent too, giving the impression of bannofee pie. Taste is less sweet than expected based on the aroma. Very light body, very smooth, no burn. Quite a lot of oak, you can taste this has some age. Finish is quite dry and medium long. All in all I'd have preferred a slightly fuller body and some bolder flavours, but this is a very pleasant effort nonetheless by an sympathetic brand.

beeporama (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 79 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Typical Jamaican funky sweetness, well balanced with light oak, a thoughtful blend that straddles approachability with the explosive esthers I crave. Oily mouthfeel, not too heavy, doesn't linger as long as I'd like. Very little alcohol burn. Not my favorite (my tastes are not subtle) but quite good and not overpriced.

Steven Richardson 🇬🇧 | 124 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

One of those rums that seems more like a whisky to me.

Loldelagohelle 🇫🇷 | 189 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Ce rhum est tres bien maitrise il est tres precis en gout.apres des premieres notes de reglisse et de fume il retrouve de la douceur et une note legerement ducree en fin de bouche.tres bien fait.note 8.5.j ai hesite pour mettre un 9 que je garde pour mes tops 10.mzis certains y mettront des 10 car fameux.....

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

This is an elegant masterpiece, smooth yet full of overripe fruit, pot still funk, freshly sawed sandalwood and a touch of allspice. Not nearly as intense as more traditional Jamaicans (Hamilton, Smith & Cross, Wray & Nephew), this is a more nuanced and refined rum which deserves to be enjoyed neat. It's wonderful.

Zipper 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Lots of ripe banana and just a hint of grassyness. Smells like maybe overripe pineapple or banana skin. No added color, no Carmel, more rums need to be honest about the real color from aging and added color.

Rene Rum (PREMIUM) 🇨🇭 | 532 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Helles Gelb Gold im Glas.
In der Nase frisch und fruchtig. Ein grosser Korb voller Früchte, hauptsächlich mit Bananen, baumgereifte duftende Bananen. Ananas, Mango, Papayas finden sich weitunten.
Am Gaumen dezent und doch sehr fruchtig, der funk ist nicht aufdringlich. Die Bananen haben Ihre Dominanz verloren und lassen den anderen Früchten mehr Platz. Karamell und Vanille Aromen können sich auch partizipieren.
Im Abgang mittellang, fruchtig und geschmeidig.
Ein toller Rum für diesen Preis (ab 33.- Chf). Erfreut irgendwie Jeden, für gesellige Runden und Eremiten.
dwf

Pale yellow gold in the glass.
Fresh and fruity on the nose. A large basket of fruit, mainly bananas, tree ripened fragrant bananas. Pineapple, mango, papayas are found far below.
On the palate discreet yet very fruity, the funk is not intrusive. The bananas have lost their dominance and leave more room for the other fruits. Caramel and vanilla flavors can also participate.
The finish is medium long, fruity and smooth.
A great rum for this price (from 33.- Chf). Pleases somehow everyone, for convivial rounds and hermits.
dwf

Midgarn 🇺🇸 | 33 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

I tried to like this, but the tobacco strength is just too overpowering. It comes out no matter what I try to cut it with. I couldn't finish it.
I am a life-long non-smoker, so I think this would be much better for someone who smokes. But as a personal rating, I have to acknowledge that I could not finish a glass, much less the bottle.

Simon_W 🇨🇭 | 36 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Typical fruity Wedderburn style aroma, altered through long years of tropical aging. Nice and fruity, but you taste the aging, it's not like bold unaged funky Jamaican rum, it does have that certain extra that makes it more pastry-like, deep and complex. I must say it reminded me a lot of the Plantation Jamaica Vintage 2005 13 yo. rum. The flavour and aroma are very similar. Hence I'm rather surprised about the difference in their ratings on this site! Apparently the Plantation rum does have some added sugar, while this Mezan doesn't. But in the big scheme of things this is a small detail. It wasn't a striking difference to me. To me this great rum is the perfect choice for the Tiki cocktail classics Test Pilot and (with the addition of a nutty Spanish style Sherry cask aged rum) the Mai Tai.

EDIT: IIRC the Plantation 2005 Jamaican is even somewhat more intense in the nose.

martin jeppesen 🇩🇰 | 256 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

A very lightly colored Jamaican. The nose is nice and inviting with lightly fermented notes of pineapple, prunes, banana peel and soaked raisins, but also a vinous character with spicy hints of cloves and nutmeg.
The taste has less sweet elements then I would have geussed from the nose but it’s still what i would describe as a well tempererede Jamaican with notes of walnuts, apple wax, leather and milds spices in the drying finish. I’m a little surprised at the delicacy of this rum, given it’s Jamaican. But that’s not a bad thing I geuss, unless your looking for an explosive ester adventure.