Mezan XO Jamaica rum

Mezan XO Jamaica

Multiple | Aged

7.0/10
83 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
4
14
25
27
5
2

Rate Mezan XO Jamaica

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

83 Mezan XO Jamaica ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

rumfan69 🇬🇧 | 6 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Ok I feel really mean giving this a 4 as others really loved it and it does have some plus point, ie no detectable added sugar and only a small amount of added E150. The thing is even with all that, I didn't like it and here's why - that overripe stewed banana taste. Now don't get me wrong, I like bananas but not the banana that’s in this. You can taste other things too, it gives complex oaky tobacco and I'm guessing it's been aged in American and the finish is fairly long but.. it's not for me. Sorry all the folks at Mezan and thanks for trying to really cut down on additives too.

TommyVinegar 🇧🇪 | 46 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Mezan calls itself "The Untouched Rum" which means no added sugar, no added colouring (like caramel) and only a light filtering. The Jamaican XO is the only rum that's currently permanently in their portfolio (others are single years vintages). It's a blend of selected casks from different Jamaican distilleries aged between 4 and 23 years and reaged after blending until deemed ready for bottling. Mezan do not put an age statement on their rums and rightly so. It's about creating a consistent flavor profile year in year out, in order to achieve this the actual age fluctuates. I wish more rums would abandon age statements, seeing as they are often misleading and little more than a marketing thing. Taste is what matters, not numbers. And this is tasty! Smelly too. Lots of overripe banana, as can be expected from a Jamaican pot still rum. Some caramel scent too, giving the impression of bannofee pie. Taste is less sweet than expected based on the aroma. Very light body, very smooth, no burn. Quite a lot of oak, you can taste this has some age. Finish is quite dry and medium long. All in all I'd have preferred a slightly fuller body and some bolder flavours, but this is a very pleasant effort nonetheless by an sympathetic brand.

beeporama (PREMIUM) 🇺🇸 | 64 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

Typical Jamaican funky sweetness, well balanced with light oak, a thoughtful blend that straddles approachability with the explosive esthers I crave. Oily mouthfeel, not too heavy, doesn't linger as long as I'd like. Very little alcohol burn. Not my favorite (my tastes are not subtle) but quite good and not overpriced.

Steven Richardson 🇬🇧 | 124 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

One of those rums that seems more like a whisky to me.

Loldelagohelle 🇫🇷 | 188 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Ce rhum est tres bien maitrise il est tres precis en gout.apres des premieres notes de reglisse et de fume il retrouve de la douceur et une note legerement ducree en fin de bouche.tres bien fait.note 8.5.j ai hesite pour mettre un 9 que je garde pour mes tops 10.mzis certains y mettront des 10 car fameux.....

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This is an elegant masterpiece, smooth yet full of overripe fruit, pot still funk, freshly sawed sandalwood and a touch of allspice. Not nearly as intense as more traditional Jamaicans (Hamilton, Smith & Cross, Wray & Nephew), this is a more nuanced and refined rum which deserves to be enjoyed neat. It's wonderful.

Zipper 🇺🇸 | 3 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Lots of ripe banana and just a hint of grassyness. Smells like maybe overripe pineapple or banana skin. No added color, no Carmel, more rums need to be honest about the real color from aging and added color.

Midgarn 🇺🇸 | 25 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I tried to like this, but the tobacco strength is just too overpowering. It comes out no matter what I try to cut it with. I couldn't finish it.
I am a life-long non-smoker, so I think this would be much better for someone who smokes. But as a personal rating, I have to acknowledge that I could not finish a glass, much less the bottle.

Robert Ferron 🇬🇧 | 166 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

I find this more like a fine brandy than a rum it's fruity, floral and fresh. It's mezans way of untouched rum you can see that on the colour it's pale strawish with a grassy fresh aroma. But it mixes well with fruit juice rather than cola

Samurdavidov 🇱🇻 | 60 ratings
Posted 4 years ago

Цена, 01.04.2018 , приобрёл его за 35 евро
Люблю подобный дизайн бутылок - не слишком высокие, но раздутые, толстые. Сам дизайн достаточно прост, и тем самым и привлёк моё внимание.
Сразу обратил внимание на пробку, она винтовая. Не слишком часто встретишь пробки с винтовые пробки уже в этой ценовой категории. Но взглянув ещё раз на общий образ бутылки и дизайна, соглашусь, что «винт» в данном случае даже более уместен.
Открываем...
Первое - аромат. Напиток кажется очень ароматным по запаху и в уже предвкушаю его фруктовый вкус.
Наливаем в бокал. Напиток достаточно светлый. Я бы сказал цвета светлого вина, по типу рислинг. Запах все ещё такой же хороший, очень приятный. Чувствуется сладость и фруктовый букет.
Пробуем. Данный ром действительно очень ароматный, он определенно выделяется на фоне многих других. Достаточно сладкий, но в меру. Как по мне, то сладости ровно столько сколько нужно в нем. Но по долгу держа во рту - мне уже было не приятно. После нескольких последующих глотков пришёл к выводу, что намного приятней его сразу проглатывать, не задерживая во рту.
Послевкусие очень двоякое: именно из за него я и поставил, казалось бы столь низкую оценку данному напитку. Есть ароматное послевкусие, которое ещё долго прибывает. И как мне кажется, преимущественно это не цитрус, а скорее банан, ананас. С другой стороны есть что-то не очень приятное, что остаётся в послевкусии. То же ощущение если задержать во рту напиток, не глатая сразу.
Опробовав несколько бокалов данного напитка, пришёл к мнению, что мне не доставляет большого удовольствия его пить. Толи в спиртовых испарениях дело, хотя на запах напиток очень приятен, толи ещё в чем...
Нужно попробовать его в сочетании с сигарой.

Martin Kennedy 🇦🇺 | 222 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

I try and alternate between sweet , spiced and real rum. This is real rum , light in colour , no sugar or other additives.
Not as funky on the nose as I expected , left in the glass for 10 minutes , I found banana , pineapple plus a bit of vanilla. Quite dry , lots of esters in the taste , a bit of a burn but in a nice way.. Even better with an ice cube..
Excellent rum and coke with a slice of lime.. just not too much mixer as it kills the taste. If you factor in price ( Marks & Sparks) this is great value as well as taste.
Not available here in Aussie so will have to try and make the bottle last ! Oh and no headache the next morning , very important !!