Mezan 2000 Jamaica rum

Mezan 2000 Jamaica

Multiple | Aged

7.5/10
19 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
3
7
3
2

Rate Mezan 2000 Jamaica

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

19 Mezan 2000 Jamaica ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 2 years ago by laurent ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท | 60 ratings

Typical aromas from Long Pond (olive brine, slightly acid fruity ester, tar...) but at only 40% it cools the things down. A bit disapointing at first if you are into cask-strengh high ester Jamaicans, but on the other side it reveals all the aromas a more subtle way and it is interesting. All in all I appreciated this one very very much. Very well balanced, a good way do discover Jamaican rums. I still think it could have been a killer at, say, 43-45% abv.

Posted over 4 years ago by Puppet Mstr ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ | 38 ratings

Absolutely delicious. Vanilla, caramel, chocolate, and cigars are the major players. Tickles the tongue, no burn. Starts with an immediate hit of vanilla and caramel, as it dances across the tongue, the chocolate and cigar flavours make their debut. 30 year perfection. Best enjoyed neat with dark chocolate.

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช | 399 ratings

Nice amber color with golden reflections. The nose is very pastry and well balanced with notes of caramel, citrus, candied fruits, vanilla and after some time chocolate. On the palate we can feel a very nice and hot sweet sensation. Vanilla still present with citrus fruit, but also apricot; banana. The final is very long with tobacco and the chocolate is coming back. Very nice rum to finish a beautiful evening.

Posted over 1 year ago by SylvieG ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช | 25 ratings

Une douceur absolue, caramel cafรฉ ansence totale d'agressivitรฉ de l'alcool

Posted over 3 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช | 317 ratings

Bottled in 2015 gives 30yo, wow!
When warmed up in your hand with the other hand over the glass opening it has sting when coming to the nose.
Itโ€™s very smooth, balanced and complex. The sweetness is much lower than expected.
Thereโ€™s amongst other tastes vanilla, caramel etc but also tobacco which fades out a little if you let the rum stand in your glass for a while.
The afterburn is medium long.
As a summary a fantastic rum thatโ€™s very close to a 10.
Picture: My Opened bottle & My Malecon shelf.

Posted 8 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 329 ratings

I just cannot score any rum a 10. I figure that there could always be one just a tiny bit better. But this one will be near impossible to beat. It is luxurious. First the nose is incredible but not overstated. Make sure you pour this into a glencairn or brandy snifter glass. This is a must for 2 reasons; 1 to trap the fantastic nose; 2 to allow your hand to warm the rum within slightly. This warming adds to the complexity of this rum. At the onset your mouth is filled with a delicate vanilla with wood oak and faint fruit. I mean this coats the pallet. It is very complex with cherry and some caramel but so balanced it literally floats down your throat. The longest finish of any rum I have ever tasted. It is exquisite. It drinks so easily and is so smooth it defies description. It is a sweet rum but in the background it has plenty of spirit. This is real rum all the way. A true artistic expression. Proof that fine liquor can be greater than the sum of its parts. ONE OF THE VERY BEST. WORTH EVERY PENNY!

Posted 2 years ago by Francois ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท | 106 ratings

I had previously tasted the 15y old while you still can find some common markers this 30y old is obviously at another level.

The tobacco is still very present especially on the palate but much more balanced.
The smell is a lot on the vanilla due to the long casking period, but still a little bit tropical. I read candied fruit by other, I am not good enough to define it more.

Very good rum but maybe a bit too expensive comparing to an Appleton 21y for instance.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joe Tortorello (PREMIUM) ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 18 ratings

Tried the 1979 version of this at London Rumfest 2019 and it was excellent but didnโ€™t buy it in London, but found out it is not available in the USA. However, I was able to find one bottle of the 1985 version and it is just as excellent. Fine aroma, wonderful taste, very smooth, great finish. Deep rich flavor.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ | 2912 ratings

Bottle number 0179. Enjoyed a bottle of Malecon Seleccion Esplendida 1985 while vacationing in Tokyo. Located the bottle from Mukawa Spirit liquor store. High end wooden case surrounds the sturdy bottle but a surprisingly boring label design. Golden color. Vanilla, mild caramel and plenty of oak to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Dry burn at the end. Whisky fan boys can add 2 points to my score. For me, this is good but far from a great rum.




Brand Details

Name: 2000 Jamaica
Company: Mezan
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
Distilled: 2000
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
2912
2. Kieron wood ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง
559
3. Michal Micko ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
546
4. Adrian Adame ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ
514