Mezan 2000 Jamaica rum

Mezan 2000 Jamaica

Multiple | Aged

7.5/10
19 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
3
7
3
2

Rate Mezan 2000 Jamaica

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image

19 Mezan 2000 Jamaica ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

JackOrion πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 61 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

I was hesitant to buy this rum at $55 but the review from Inu A Kena convinced me to do so. I purchased this along with the Brugal 1888. A perfect pairing to display the wide variety of rum. Where the Brugal 1888 is refined the Mezan Jam is wild. If rum was James Bonds drink he would surely prefer the 1888.
So whats so sad about this rum? It's a vintage and therefore limited in supply, hopefully subsequent batches continue with what I hope becomes a trend of excellence.

Just how funky can you go? There is plenty of dunder and esters going on but not even close to the funkiest funk of Smith and Cross. But I'd say if your of discernible palate and prefer sipping rums neat rather than mixing than this is a perfect example of Jamaican Wedderburn rum.

There is a lot to get into on the nose and tongue and the kicker is it's unadulterated. No fancy smoke and mirrors playing tricks on you leaving you to wonder just how much of this or that was added.

At the conclusion of the Inu A Kena review Josh laments of the pedestrian ABV. I agree. As good as this offering is I can't help but wonder what it would or could be if the heat were turned up a notch. Non the less I would without question buy this again and look forward to other Mezan offerings.

mistercoughy πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 239 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Resplendent with the aromas of tropical fruit, filled with the flavors of fresh peach pie, green peppers and baking spices. Wow. Smooth, very tasty, close to perfection. Alas, the finish disappears a bit too quickly. Still, it's a solid choice.

beeporama (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 76 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Easygoing at 40% ABV, not much funk for a Jamaican, a little sweet. Simple on the nose, but the taste is more interesting. Oak, pepper, caramel... And something savory.... Popcorn?!? I'm on the fence about whether I'd buy a whole bottle, but contemplating at least one glass is recommended.

CaptainMorgan.07 πŸ‡΅πŸ‡± | 31 ratings
Posted 12 months ago

At the beggining it is nice and smooth, but then you will find a lot od esters. For me taste great

Simon_W πŸ‡¨πŸ‡­ | 35 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

It's a Long Pond with the typical Wedderburn aroma profile, apparently mostly aged in a European climate, hence only gently altered by the long ageing. I smell lots of pineapple. What makes it stand out against other Wedderburn Jamaicans IMHO is the perfection in the aroma and flavour, there's nothing that I dislike about it. It's similar to the Mezan Jamaican XO, but slightly better.

laurent πŸ‡«πŸ‡· | 59 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

Typical aromas from Long Pond (olive brine, slightly acid fruity ester, tar...) but at only 40% it cools the things down. A bit disapointing at first if you are into cask-strengh high ester Jamaicans, but on the other side it reveals all the aromas a more subtle way and it is interesting. All in all I appreciated this one very very much. Very well balanced, a good way do discover Jamaican rums. I still think it could have been a killer at, say, 43-45% abv.

Andy (PREMIUM) πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§ | 126 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Grassy, spicy, Jamaican rum. Smoother than some comparable rums, but less complex. Relatively easy to sip on, but not inspiring. Maybe worth a try, but I wouldn’t buy a bottle

Engwild πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 153 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Well a surprise, it's slightly smooth, slightly sweet, but lacking the Jamaican funk.

Cory Wid πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 89 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Quite a mild, earthy scent. A definite hogo, but all very well behaved. This struck me as very odd, coming from a distillery like longpond... must have been a more mild pot distillate. After the first sip, there is a mild punch of spicy hogo, though everything is rather delicate, and quite oily. There is a level of mild charm to this rum, and you really have to sip slowly to detect the fruity and nutty notes.
I was originally disappointed with this rum, but it has grown on me. The oiliness is really something to be savored, even though in terms of esters, this is nowhere near some of the big blockbuster Jamaicans. I would have loved if this was a bit higher in proof... for $65, I still feel I spent more than I should have.

Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2994 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Mezan Jamaica Long Pond 2000 bottling is the last drink for tonight. Bottle looks decent, pretty basic label, very light and pale color, strong banana and glue smell and taste. Very offputting combination in my books.

Tim East πŸ‡³πŸ‡± | 7 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Very lightly cokoured with an interesting nose, a little woody with a touch of varnish. First tastes rather puts me down, too sweet like fake/cheap candy with a long oily aftertaste resembling oliveoil like some others earlier mentioned.
Not what i expected and not in the for me preferred pallet.
Still it was an interesting experience.