Doorly's 12-Year rum

Doorly's 12-Year

Barbados | Aged | 43.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

7.9/10
226 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
12
52
114
38
8

Rate Doorly's 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

226 Doorly's 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Heliumiami 🇺🇸 | 4 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

After sipping some XO and 8yr old, I was a bit unimpressed - though they weren't bad rums for the price. However, they just lacked something. My guess is that a higher ABV the nice flavours would be more bold and enjoyable. So I was hesitant to purchase the 12 yr. Though it is not bottled at a higher proof, for some reason the delicious flavours just stand out so much more. It SEEMS as if it's stronger. I'm not ready to dissect all the component flavours, just state that they work very well together.

nomad 🇺🇸 | 137 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

OK, it taste like a Barbadian rum, but there's something unique. Ash? pickles? IDK, but whatever it is, it's good. Dry with cherries and the requisite Barbados bananas, also a nice long finish that dare I say, is better than the R L Seale. The more I come back to this the more I like it, especially paired with the XO.

sugar test results-0

Marty 🇺🇸 | 102 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Thank you Richard Seale. Thank you Total Wine. Thank you for bringing great rums to the masses for an affordable price. This is my new number one and only $25! If you have a chance, get some. Just a bit deeper that the XO, which is also fantastic. I'm not about the sugar and additive controversy, but what a great way to show the industry how it's done without them. Another home run from Seale, Foursquare, Doorlys.

David 🇩🇪 | 92 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

The screw-cap is a turn off and when I filled my first glass I regarded the scent more neutral than rounded but after taking my first sip I was in love. This is the essence of Barbados rum. A great everyday sipper. But just slightly rounder than the XO.

Beukeboom 🇺🇸 | 304 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

The more rums I sample from R.L. Seale & Co. the more impressed I am with Richard Seale. There seems to be something almost mythical about the man in the rum world. I read so many positive things about him and how he produces rum. Nothing hidden. No semantics games on the labels. No additives. It is what it is.

Also the use of macaws, parrots, et al on the labels is a bonus for me. I have a very spoiled cockatiel named Cheech who would love to be on a Doorly's label.

But I digress...

The color is a rich amber and is very clear. No murkiness or spottiness at all. It demonstrates excellent legs in my snifter when swirled. Leaving droplets that eventually make their way to the bottom of the snifter. The aroma is excellent and inviting. Again I must confess that I cannot distinguish individual odors but will tell you the aroma is one that I like.

The flavor is outstanding. A slight sweetness on the outset with a little butteriness. The oak is present but mild. This is a smooth rum well deserving to be a sipper's rum. However versatile enough to work well as a mixer. And at $25 a bottle it is a great bargain for the high quality rum. I detect some hints of vanilla and other subtle flavors. Rather complex but not overwhelming. The finish is a combination of the molasses from the cane and the tannins from the oak. A rather interesting balance. And a very smooth rum.

Doorly's continues to be a brand worth seeking. No one locally sells it. I had to go to Jacksonville to discover it. Well worth it. Definitely will pick up a spare bottle when I am in that neck of the woods. I recommend this rum highly.

Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 213 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Sugar: 0-5 GPL. There is no added sugar in most if not all Bajan rums and any sweetness occurs naturally. This one is no exception. This is a very good Bajan rum and I tasted butterscotch, oak, a trace of chocolate and fruits, perhaps coconut and banana. The strongest taste was the butterscotch and oak. Overall it's very dry and the tastes fade with the burn of a pure rum. I added a drop of water to open it up and take the edge off the burn. Mix or sip depending on your tastes.

martin jeppesen 🇩🇰 | 254 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

This rum incorporates everything I love about the Barbadian style. Elegant, characteristic, "pure" and well priced. The nose is lovely with a bit of sweet coconut, vanilla, oak, and a hint of nougat and orange. In the mouth I pick up a lighter, juicy character consisting of oranges, banana, vanilla and light oak. It's very "fresh" and clean with a subtle and natural sweetness. The finish is warming, tingling and a little spicy, but not very lengthy. Considering the price though, it's just beautiful rum. Once again, hats of to mr. seale.

Nathan French 🇺🇸 | 21 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Surprisingly delicate and light on its feet for 12 years of age. Fun to taste, this is a cognac lover's rum, with floral aromas and flavors. Eminently sippable, and fun to ponder over. Punches well above its price.

Rowdy1 🇺🇸 | 21 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Good Barbados rum. Nothing that sets it apart from the crowd, just an average good sipper. Nothing negative about this rum at this price point.

HunterRomario 🇨🇿 | 329 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Barbados
Aroma: Opět ten kokosový styl. Oproti předchozímu Relicariu je vůně méně sladká. Kůže, exotické dřevo, propolis, strouhaný kokos, cedr, hřebíček. Voní intenzivně. (88 b)
Chuť: V chuti hodně suchý, až svíravě vysychající, hodně dřeva, silná hořká čokoláda, dubové taniny. V dochuti trochu větrový. (84 b)
Body: 86
Shrnutí: Ochutnal jsem již několikrát, mám doma lahev. Kdo hledá méně sladkosti, je na dobré adrese.

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 324 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

Another well tasting rum from Barbados. I really like the rum from R.L. Seale’s.
Picture: My Bajan shelf.




Brand Details

Name: 12-Year
Company: Doorly's
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
ABV: 43.0%
Aged: 12

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading