Ron Zacapa Centenario XO Premio Platino rum

Ron Zacapa Centenario XO Premio Platino

Guatemala | Aged

8.8/10
38 ratings
That's some good stuff
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
11
14
12

Rate Ron Zacapa Centenario XO Premio Platino

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

38 Ron Zacapa Centenario XO Premio Platino ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

DrMajki 🇨🇿 | 17 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Dnes jsem obdržel. Nová láhev koresponduje se skvělý degustační zážitkem jemná vyvážená chuť. Uzávěr dřevěný s korkovým uzávěrem láhve v luxusním dárkovém balení. Kde je láhev zasazena do černého "sametu"

vomi1011 🇩🇪 | 396 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Now, I have the very expensive Zacapa Platino in the glas. I'm excited to taste this stuff.

The nose is a little bit shy, less sweet than the current XO more bright and with more Bourbon wood.
I can smell mandarine, vanilla and herbs, because there is less caramel. It reminds me of Ron Botran 1983. Then I got some melon, with sweet notes of sugar syrup and the typical herbs.
This nose is less interesting for me, the new XO has much more caramel. The Platino goes more in the direction of Ron Botran.

The taste starts with mandarine and vanilla, turns sweet with aromas of sugar syrup like Monin.
Then I get herbs and wood at the end of initial taste. This is a huge difference to the current XO.
The middle has more of mandarine, melon, vanilla and sugar syrup with herbs and some wood at the end. The new XO is more heavy with stronger aromas of wood.
The finish is very mild, some spice there. Then I get again the mandarine, sugar syrup, some herbs and melon.

This is not what I have expected overall. There is also no comparison to Anniversario 30. Maybe this is a young XO where the experiment have started. But this is not comparable to Zacapa XO of the current time. The sweetness is not complex, the aromas are good but not concentrated or old. There is a lack of complexity. I would rate this one with 84 points.
We don't need to talk about the price for 600€.

Nose: mandarine, vanilla, woood, herbs, some caramel
Taste: mandarine, vanilla, sugar syrup, herbs, wood
Middle: mandarine, melon, vanilla, sugar syrup, herbs, wood
Finish: some spice, mandarine with sugar syrup and some herbs, melon

Sweetness: 3.5/5
Fruits: 3/5
Spice: 1/5
Mildness: 4/5
Complexity: 2/5
Value (700€): 1/5

Puppet Mstr 🇨🇦 | 38 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Very smooth, rich, very little burn. The cognac casks it was finalized in gives it a unique palette for a rum. Delicious. Newer bottle.

Achim Emmenegger 🇩🇪 | 72 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Nach dem black Label,30 Anniversaro und white Label einer der besten alten Zacapas.
Man merkt deutlich die 2 Jahre längere Reife gegenüber dem 23 Anos oder auch white Label,er ist dadurch noch etwas ausdrucksstärker und hat einen sehr sehr schönen langen Abgang. Die Aufmachung von Flasche und Karton auch Top wenn da nicht der Preis wäre. 250-300 Euro muss man mindestens in 2016 dafür hinlegen ,trotzdem habe ich mir einige Flaschen zur Seite gelegt,dass ist ein Rum den es so wohl nicht mehr geben wird.Daher trotzdem 10 Punkte

Hornet 🇩🇪 | 18 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This is a very good zipper. Mild sweetness. Beats a Cognac hands down for me.

Tinyhunter 🇨🇭 | 26 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I had this as I was curious and had it after an amazing beef wellngton in London. It was suprise to me and I started to enjoy good and better rum from there on..

Ramon 🇺🇸 | 76 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

I was dining at a pretty high end establishment which happened to have an extensive list of rums on their menu. This one jumped out at me, it was the highest price on the list soon thought I would splurge. It was a nice full flavored rum, a bit of a bourbon flavor but not overwhelming. Not sure it was much better than the other rims I have tried for half the price, but it was a good experience to order the top shelf stuff.

Makhao 🇹🇭 | 15 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

Yes, this one really shows, what it has. Full flavour with little sweetness, smooth and fully developed.
Not easy to stop sipping, very nice...

Ryan W 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Had this straight up and it was outstanding. Smooth as can be.

Airhammer26 🇦🇹 | 23 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Very little burn and a long aftertaste makes a great finish

Biohazzard 🇨🇿 | 15 ratings
Posted over 2 years ago

One of the best rums i had ever drank. Very rich taste smoothy and a bit afterburn in troat.