Captain Morgan 100 rum

Captain Morgan 100

Puerto Rico | Spiced

4.6/10
106 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
9
8
25
18
23
9
6
1
1

Rate Captain Morgan 100

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image

106 Captain Morgan 100 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Petnek 🇨🇿 | 8 ratings
Posted almost 3 years ago

Good for Coke or other coctails. For drinking? Nope!

Sammie 🇺🇸 | 15 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Originally posted on my blog...

First taste… WOW! That will wake you up. At 100 proof it can also put you down in a hurry. There is no hiding that strength. No Captain Morgan rum has ever been accused of being shy. There is some burn of course, but much less than many weaker rums i have tried. Captain Morgan 100 proof reminds me of drinking vanilla extract. There’s a little more going on of course. But Captain Morgan is a simple drink. Even with the burn I wouldn’t call this rum rough at all though. It doesn’t smack your face like Captain Morgan Black Spiced does. Oh you do know this alcohol, no doubt about it. More importantly with all that sweet vanilla you know you are drinking RUM. After getting Captain Morgan Black Cask nice and chilled it was actually a very pleasant sipper. I had it nice and neat in a little glass jar. No ice, no water. There was no bitter aftertaste in the finish whatsoever. The finish is short and dry but that’s not really a bad thing. This Captain Morgan doesn’t linger on the tongue except for a mild vanilla aftertaste. Mixed with diet cola it was pretty much Vanilla Coke with some punch…and kick… Really though, i preferred it straight up.
I can’t see any reason to bother with the 70 proof version other than just to compare the two. This is a good rum. Is it a delciate balance of fine aged rum and spices? NO! What is it then? Captain Morgan Spiced 100 Proof is smooth, tasty, and STRONG. It’s a simple and uncomplicated high proof rum. This makes it fun and easy to drink, which is probably why the brand is so popular. I find this rum to be a perfectly acceptable sipper. There are better sippers for sure, but don’t underestimate this one. On top of that Captain Morgan Black Cask Spiced 100 mixes wonderfully in cola and tea. The tea was an accident, but a happy accident indeed.
The Captain has earned his spot in the marketplace by being accessible and consistent. Introducing a smooth more potent big brother to the classic is a huge step in the right direction! Captain Morgan Black Cask 100 Proof Rum will always have a home in my liquor cabinet.

Chris 🇺🇸 | 21 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

This is a powerful rum very strong strictly for Hunch Punch

Alden Mosher 🇺🇸 | 16 ratings
Posted almost 9 years ago

Not sure the point of this offering from the Capt. but sampled none the less. It was fine, but I usually do not drink to get drunk, and I have to wonder if this is its purpose? Taste almost identical to Original Capt. and because of the extra $$, I would just stay with the original. I did not sample straight, only with coke.

Kieron wood 🇬🇧 | 604 ratings
Posted almost 6 years ago

this is too strong to do anything with my mouth is still on fire with the afterburnq

mistercoughy 🇺🇸 | 239 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

I can't imagine a universe where this stuff is useful, unless you're one of those people who drinks rum and Coke, in which case any booze will do.

B 🇺🇸 | 23 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

No mixing, no ice, no coke. Just a case of the stuff. I don't even need glasses.

Havanafan 🇬🇮 | 26 ratings
Posted 26 days ago

I simply cannot believe this drink has a 4.7 score. Why are even captain morgan drinks called rums? They are nothing more than an insult to the drink.

Coatse 🇬🇧 | 5 ratings
Posted 1 month ago

Smooth taste and hint of caramel and honey. With spice tastes.

TravellerDmitry 🇷🇺 | 24 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Это напиток на основе рома. Что уже само по себе очень плохо.
Но по органолептике это тоже ужасно, да к тому же туда напихали острого перца, наверное чтобы скрыть кошмарный вкус и запах. Я не знаю, что можно делать с этим напитком, его даже в коктейли не добавишь.

Gruvacek 🇨🇿 | 32 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

Surprisingly not that bad, i did get few glasses at barber shop and it was ok, forgettable though.