Three Sheets Barrel Aged rum

Three Sheets Barrel Aged

United States | Aged | 13.8% ABV

Three Sheets Barrel Aged rum, a version of the base from their Three Sheets Rum that’s aged at least two years in new American white oak barrels and bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report
6.1/10
11 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
2
4
1

Rate Three Sheets Barrel Aged

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

11 Three Sheets Barrel Aged ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by ChameleonSkin πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 18 ratings

[NOTE: this site doesn't make it terribly clear, but the name of this rum has changed from "Ballast Point Three Sheets Barrel Aged Rum" to "Cutwater Spirits Three Sheets Barrel Aged Rum". Apparently when the Ballast Point brewery split their operations from the distillery, part of the change was in the branding of the spirits. It's the same product, just with a new name.]

This one is tough to rate. It tastes good for what it is, but if you didn't know better you'd probably think it was an unfiltered bourbon like Bookers or Stagg Jr. I *think* this is by design, as from what I've read this is the character that originally existed in New England lightly aged rums. I don't mean this in a pejorative way, but it tastes like a more refined version of something that someone could have made in their backyard with minimal distilling equipment. It's raw and fiery with a strong but intentional burn.

Having said that, I'm not entirely sure why I'd buy this over a comparably priced (and probably more refined) bourbon or rye. True, it has the barest of funky notes I'd expect in a rum, but they get lost in any kind of mixed drink and they aren't powerful enough to stand on their own as a sipper.

This probably sounds much more negative than how I actually feel about this one. It's certainly not bad, and it does have a good deal of character. It just doesn't have enough character to justify its price point when stacked up against either a comparably priced rum *or* bourbon.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Wayne Upton πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 136 ratings

Trying to buck a little tradition, these gents use new oak instead of once-used bourbon barrels. As a result, it tasted much like my learning lessons of aging spirits in small barrels at home.

Posted over 6 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 513 ratings

This rum is decent for a bourbon aged rum.

Sugarcane, vanilla, honey, spice, oak, bourbon, and tobacco. In my opinion, the bourbon aging is a bit much, but it's still decent, as it retains a hint of good rum sweetness.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jura πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ | 34 ratings

I was sceptic but rum was pretty much Ok. Tasty to most of colleagues I tried it with

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 2886 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Three Sheets Barrel Aged Rum. Bottle and label design look interesting and unique. Golden color. Very strong oak and woodiness on the nose and palate. Quite a strong burn at the end. This is a mixer rum by all counts. Whisky lovers can add 2 points.

Posted 4 years ago by Mo McGurk πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 215 ratings

Originally ordered it at a restaurant and was not blown away. Nothing special. Nothing bad. First review said it might merit a bottle purchase to try it in different forms at home, which I did. Much better experience at home, and I can write that I affirmatively like this one. Straight had a nice oaky taste, but a little more burn than I like. Mixed was delightful, with the oak really coming out with no burn.

Posted 5 years ago by Dean πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 54 ratings

Smooth well balanced. Good finish. Overall pretty good.

Posted over 5 years ago by Florian Falch πŸ‡³πŸ‡΄ | 10 ratings

The rum is not bad but like others before me said it is really close to whisky to me. Unfortunate Ballast Point has dismissed all of its spirits i was told so there will not come a older one soon. That is also the reason why i bought a bottle. I think over 40$ for this rum is a little bit pricy. The nose stings at first but then you get the barrel and somehow sweet. The taste is like the nose first a punch an then you can the barrel and it is just smooth enough to be nice.

Posted over 6 years ago by jim burnds πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 29 ratings

Taste is, of course, personal, and this one didn't suit mine. With all due respects to the other reviewers, I did not like this. I gave it a 5. It's a bit course. I think I sense the vanilla much after the burn and hint of Bourbon.
It was inexpensive - $13.( It was on the shelf without a price tag. The supermarket clerk could not find the item in its computerized inventory. He called in his supervisor who said charge him $12.99 ) I'll mix it with something and move on. After I purchased it I realized my bargain. I don't think it's worth the $38 tag I've seen online. Again, taste is personal, Cheers

Posted over 6 years ago by RumRunner πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 10 ratings

A lot of heat belied by the expected rum character on the nose. You can tell this has spent some time in a bourbon barrel. A good friend who drinks as much whiskey as rum preferred this to the Zacapa in his cabinet. As another reviewer stated, it drinks 'young.' But it has a lot of character. Does not drink like the sweeter sipping rums out there - drinks more like a single malt IMO. As a sipping rum, I'd have to give it a '7.' But on the flip side, it SINGS in any decent mai tai mix, which really brings out the roasted caramel notes that are otherwise somewhat hidden by the barrel aging process. This aspect alone elevates it to a solid '8' IMO.




Brand Details

Name: Barrel Aged
Company: Three Sheets
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown
ABV: 13.8%
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
2886
2. Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§
559
3. Michal Micko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
545
4. Adrian Adame πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
514