Gold of Mauritius Dark rum

Gold of Mauritius Dark

Mauritius | Dark

Gold of Mauritius Dark Rum is produced from molasses which is aged for 3 months in port wine barrels before being filtered, followed by another 8-12 months.

The Gold of Mauritius Dark Rum molasses is supplied by Grays Distillery, a wine, sprits and liqueur producer founded in 1935 in Mauritius that makes 6 million litres of alcohol each year.

6.8/10
148 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
2
4
4
12
23
47
35
15
3

Rate Gold of Mauritius Dark

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

148 Gold of Mauritius Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Simones 🇸🇰 | 42 ratings
Posted 11 months ago

This rum has pretty not specific smell and brown gold color. The first taste after sip is sweet with a little aromatic and smoky afterflavour and stronger alcohol taste at the end. It is somehow "average", because it has expectable smoky rum taste, but that is good thing in this case. I would recommend
to someone, who starts with rums and is looking for something trully rum tasty :)
It does not have any special too fruity or specific additives like banana Bumbu or vanilla Don Papa.

Mikkel Nielsen 🇩🇰 | 32 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

This is a good rum, not that expensive, but still good.

Scepticalist 🇬🇧 | 1 rating
Posted 7 years ago

Coffee, chocolate and caramel apple can all be found in this surprise package. Fabulous bottle and the labelling oddly plain but don't let this put you off trying!

Good straight up as part of a tasting evening to showcase where rum can go, but the real forte of this is in a rum oold fashioned - delectable.

Henrik Krogh 🇩🇰 | 26 ratings
Posted 7 years ago

Flot kulør i en sjov flaske. Lidt for sprittet og lidt for meget frugt/appelsinsmag.

taz.c 🇫🇷 | 85 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Le 1er de cette ile que je goute et qui est si travaillé...
il a du corps, du parfum, et une bonne longueur en bouche. du coup, il a vraiment du caractère

Tomazet 🇫🇷 | 16 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

Je savais qu'on faisait du rhum sur Maurice mais je ne pensais pas qu'il en déjà à ce degré de raffinement. Rhum très accessible sans rogner sur la qualité gustative. A tester à coup s^r. Vous ne serez pas déçu... Enfin je crois !

Peter 🇭🇺 | 91 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

I didn't know about Mauritius as a rum producer but i really liked the experience.
In my opinion a candied apple was dominant both in the nose and on the palate. A strong similarity to Dominican rums and the absolutely fabulous
heavy quadratic bottle guarantees a follower of the now empty bottle

flaviolardi 🇨🇭 | 2 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

An der Nase sehr komplex nach Schokolade und Haselnuss. Im Gaumen sehr voll, aber eintönig und scher, aber sehr angenehm und zum genießen. Abgang Mittel mit wenige Nuancen. Jeder Franken wert

Steven James 🇬🇧 | 33 ratings
Posted over 7 years ago

With flavours and aromas of chocolate, malt, peanuts and coffee, this Rum is a unique one for sure. Makes a great old fashioned and is tasty neat.




Brand Details

Name: Dark
Company: Gold of Mauritius
Type: Dark
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading