Bundaberg Original UP rum

Bundaberg Original UP

Australia | Gold

Bundaberg Original UP Rum is the flagship product of the Bundaberg Distilling company of Australia, which first crafted their original rum in 1888. This rum is double-distilled and aged for two years.

The Original UP Bundaberg rum brand is still sold in its traditional “Brick” bottle that goes by a variety names including Liquid Gold, Bundy, The Square Bear and Cane Champagne.

3.2/10
92 ratings
Serious improvement needed
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
17
25
16
11
5
5
4
4
1
4

Rate Bundaberg Original UP

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

92 Bundaberg Original UP ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

boyblueau 🇦🇺 | 51 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

Really just don't. It is the national spirit but even that won't be enough to get you to enjoy this. I don't know why anyone would think an underproof rum was a good idea. Well actually I guess it means you can get more bottles from the same amount of rum because it's spread out a bit more. "Aged" in 20,000 litre stainless steel vats and it tastes like it. Only way to drink this is as a Black Rat (bundy and coke).

Anthony 🇦🇺 | 1 rating
Posted over 6 years ago

We are Australian and we love our Vegemite and our Bundaberg Rum. We don't really mind if the world doesn't agree or not, it means more for us!
Huzzah

Ben Mitchell 🇦🇺 | 18 ratings
Posted 8 years ago

Great if you are on a budget night out and like molasses and coke and fancy a punch up later

Jason Hanna 🇦🇺 | 1 rating
Posted over 8 years ago

Its Australia's national drink whether we like it or not!
When you ask for a Rum & Coke then this is what is expected, what dis you think a bunch of convicts would have come up with, an Anejo?

Tommy 🇦🇺 | 15 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

I would't run my car on this god forsaken swill. This is a domestic dispute aching to happen. Save yourself the family court drama and buy anything and I mean absolutely anything else instead.

Scott 🇬🇧 | 32 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

Discovered this when travelling through Bundaberg itself in Australia. Really tasty, with coke or Bundaberg ginger beer as a 'Dark & Stormy'

Martin Kennedy 🇦🇺 | 222 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Well it started off ok then this taste filled my mouth.. How do i describe it ? Sort of a cross between Moonshine and tart marmalade , horrible. My brain urged me to swallow it but i couldn't , i just spate it out ! The taste stayed in my mouth for ages even drinking a glass of water didn't shift it ! Did not want to waste a decent Ginger Beer with it ironically also made by Bundaberg.
The only reason i upped my score from -1 to 2 is i might get to visit their Distillery in the near future.

rhum boogie 🇬🇧 | 30 ratings
Posted over 8 years ago

It's not often one finds a rum that is almost undrinkable, maybe the australians have a different taste to the rest of the world....this is one to avoid, but they do have a lot of t'shirts!

muppet 🇺🇸 | 49 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

If you like the taste of news paper this rum is for you

Bryan Gehrett 🇺🇸 | 28 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

I tasted this rum as a result of both curiosity and a friend's recommendation that I had to experience it. We both knew I was in for a shock. Sweet Mother of God! Why anyone would call this rum is entirely beyond me. The nose is more akin to turpentine or some kind of industrial cleaner then it is to any spirit I have tasted, and that is saying something because I have tasted some really horrendous stuff. I cannot in good conscience recommend this rum even for a mixer there isn't enough lime and Coca Cola in the world to mask the monstrosity contained in that bottle.

Fraser Galloway 🇦🇺 | 1 rating
Posted over 5 years ago

It is a taste thing. Rum without body is just another ethanol spirit. This is THE rum to drink with coke and never any other cola. If yo drink it with water is 1 star, With milk or coke 5 star.