Real McCoy 12-Year rum

Real McCoy 12-Year

Barbados | Aged | 40.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

7.5/10
159 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
2
14
45
70
20
4

Rate Real McCoy 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

159 Real McCoy 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Shanon 🇺🇸 | 26 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

This is ok, just not my favorite rum. For the price I think its over rated.Price is not bad but I would prefer different rums over this at same price. It was more like a whiskey taste for me. Im a rum drinker, if I want whiskey I would buy whiskey.

martin jeppesen 🇩🇰 | 254 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

Another great bottle from the island of real rum.This one get straight to the point and is a little more heavily bodied then you usual Barbadian. My nose fills with notes of leather, oak, coconut and pepper. In the mouth I pick up a dark character with notes of oak, leather, tobacco, orange-peel and spices. Despite the manly character, it's a pleasingly refined rum that's well executed. The taste and color feels influenced by the barrel, but it never goes overboard. Thumbs up.

piratejabez 🇺🇸 | 324 ratings
Posted over 5 years ago

At first the name was a bit of a turn-off. I thought it was a cliche marketing trick of using a recognizable name with positive connotations but no relation to the actually product. I was pleased to learn that the name comes from a 1920s prohibition-era rum runner named Bill McCoy, who never watered-down or adulterated the rum he was selling, thus earning a reputation for himself. They called his spirits "the real McCoy." (The phrase pre-dates Bill, and there is a good amount of marketing storytelling here as there is no direct link between him and the current production, but it's nice to know there's a real story all the same.)

This is a great 12-year-old Bajan rum with no added sugar. Along with the other offerings from Foursquare and Mt. Gay, this makes for a fantastic "benchmark" sipping rum, with notes of oak and dry caramel. Took a few minutes to open up, but once it did, it was very nice, indeed. I think it has quite a bit more character than the NAS MGXO, and is a little dryer than RL Seale's Finest. This is probably also the smoothest of the bunch. To me, RM12 competes with Foursquare's cask series, just without the level of nuance/interest those ones offer.

Compared to the already-excellent Real McCoy 5-year, the taste is very similar, making it difficult to justify the extra expense of the 12. The 12-year is slightly smoother, and has a richer nose of brown/demerara sugar. The 12 is clearly a more refined/enjoyable sipping rum, so grab it if it's within your budget, but I was surprised at just how good the 5 was, so feel no regrets about trying that one instead if your budget's tighter (or if you want an exceptional mixer).

8++

I would love to do a side-by-side tasting with this, Doorly's 12-year (finished in ex-Sherry casks) and RL Seale's Finest—the latter two appearing to be significantly better values from the same distillery. But you can't really go wrong with any of these :)

(PS, I don't understand how anyone could rate this less than a 6, but apparently some have very different standards than the site's rating suggestions. [Also, wow, this rum must have excellent distribution in Denmark!] At the time of this review, the rating without these peculiar outliers would be 8.04, rather than 7.58.)

Update: 8+, 8 :)

Rene Rum (PREMIUM) 🇨🇭 | 510 ratings
Posted 5 months ago

Schönes helles, sattes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase weich und samtig. Ein ganzer Teppich voller karamellisierten Blumen breitet sich aus und du pflückst die schönsten davon. Der schon mit vielen tropischen Früchten gefüllte und mit Vanille Schoten Marck eingeriebene Holz Korb bietet sich zum verstauen an.
Am Gaumen ehrlich und direkt. Du zupfst die karamellisierten Blütenblätter ab und lässt sie auf der Zunge zergehen. Die tropischen Früchte sind kandiert und mit Vanille verfeinert. Holz, Harz und Tannine sind präsent aber in keiner Weise aufdringlich. Mmmm, du willst dieses Körbchen auslecken.
Im Abgang klingen Karamell und Früchte noch lange nach, Holz und Vanille noch etwas länger und die Zunge zerfällt zu Staub.
Ein toller Bajan Rum der im Sommer sicherlich ein wahrer Genuss sein wird. Für Barbados Fans, Rum-ohne-Zucker Liebhaber, und alle Geniesser.
- 4cl Muster -

Beautiful light, rich amber in the glass.
Soft and velvety on the nose. A whole carpet full of caramelized flowers spreads and you pick the most beautiful of them. The wooden basket already filled with lots of tropical fruit and rubbed with vanilla pod marck lends itself to stow away.
Honest and direct on the palate. You pluck off the caramelized petals and let them melt on your tongue. The tropical fruits are candied and enhanced with vanilla. Wood, resin and tannins are present but in no way intrusive. Mmmm, you'll want to lick this basket out.
Caramel and fruit linger on the finish, wood and vanilla a bit longer and the tongue crumbles to dust.
A great Bajan rum that will certainly be a real treat in the summer. For Barbados fans, rum-without-sugar lovers, and all connoisseurs.
- 4cl sample -

5691Aa 🇺🇸 | 30 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

This is a well made rum. Lovely vanilla aroma. At 1st opening, the bourbon oak on the palate is quite pronounced. By 2nd round it mellows to the pleasant oakey notes you get from a fine Barbados rum. It's only sin is the fact it is distilled at Four Square. The natural thought is to compare to other Four Square rums. While this is a fine rum, it is plain vanilla relative to the others. If made at another distillery I'd give it 2 more stars.

Earl Elliott 🇨🇦 | 215 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Sugar: 0-5 GPL. I have had this one on my list for quite some time and decided that it's Thanksgiving and I need a new bottle of rum. It was as expected. Dry but really well balanced rum with a great burn that lasts and lasts. Caramel-Brown Sugar with some Smoke, Oak, Vanilla, and some Pepper. I believe that the charred bourbon casks really did their job with this fine Barbadian rum. It's a little hot and spicy at first but mellows out after a few minutes and has a long finish. It needs to breath a bit and a single drop of water will do to this rum what it will do to a fine scotch. It's a good Bajan rum from Foursquare and it's a bit pricey in Canada at $80. If you like Bourbon, Whiskey, or Scotch, then give this rum a try.

Martin55 🇨🇦 | 13 ratings
Posted 2 months ago

I think this is the first rum I purchased to sip. Very enjoyable; a much richer mouth feel and flavour than rums I had previously had.

Triton Ogletree 🇺🇸 | 116 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

It's smooth, complex and tasty! It's lighlty sweet and it smells nice. All around good rum and definitely worth a try. If you can find it, get it!

RumTraveler 🇺🇸 | 7 ratings
Posted 1 year ago

Real McCoy 12 Year is a blend of pot and column still rums made from molasses and aged in ex-bourbon barrels for a minimum of 12 years. The rich, woody aroma gives a good preview of what this rum tastes like. There are prominent notes of oak and smoke on the palate, then a pleasant browned butter caramel flavor throughout the finish. This would be an excellent transitional rum for a bourbon drinker.

TROY 🇨🇦 | 16 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

I was really happy with this 12 year McCoy. Brought a smokiness I haven't experienced much. Excellent bottle for sure.

poly.pop 🇺🇸 | 38 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

Opens with light, warm oak and pineapple followed by vanilla and maraschino cherry. Excellent on the rocks or neat. A classic vanilla forward bajan rum.




Brand Details

Name: 12-Year
Company: Real McCoy
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
ABV: 40.0%
Aged: 12

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading

Loading