Real McCoy 12-Year rum

Real McCoy 12-Year

Barbados | Aged | 40.0% ABV | Pot and Column Still Distilled

7.5/10
153 ratings
Recommendable to most
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
2
14
42
68
20
3

Rate Real McCoy 12-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

153 Real McCoy 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 220 ratings

Having enjoyed a bottle of The Real McCoy 5 yr rum it was time to open up a bottle of The Real McCoy 12 yr rum. Being produced by Foursquare Distillery I had great expectations and was not disappointed. This rum is smooth, unadulterated and is right up my alley. Not quite a β€œ10” but certainly a 9+ rating. Well done Mr. Seale.

Posted 6 years ago by martin jeppesen πŸ‡©πŸ‡° | 254 ratings

Another great bottle from the island of real rum.This one get straight to the point and is a little more heavily bodied then you usual Barbadian. My nose fills with notes of leather, oak, coconut and pepper. In the mouth I pick up a dark character with notes of oak, leather, tobacco, orange-peel and spices. Despite the manly character, it's a pleasingly refined rum that's well executed. The taste and color feels influenced by the barrel, but it never goes overboard. Thumbs up.

Posted 5 years ago by piratejabez πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 324 ratings

At first the name was a bit of a turn-off. I thought it was a cliche marketing trick of using a recognizable name with positive connotations but no relation to the actually product. I was pleased to learn that the name comes from a 1920s prohibition-era rum runner named Bill McCoy, who never watered-down or adulterated the rum he was selling, thus earning a reputation for himself. They called his spirits "the real McCoy." (The phrase pre-dates Bill, and there is a good amount of marketing storytelling here as there is no direct link between him and the current production, but it's nice to know there's a real story all the same.)

This is a great 12-year-old Bajan rum with no added sugar. Along with the other offerings from Foursquare and Mt. Gay, this makes for a fantastic "benchmark" sipping rum, with notes of oak and dry caramel. Took a few minutes to open up, but once it did, it was very nice, indeed. I think it has quite a bit more character than the NAS MGXO, and is a little dryer than RL Seale's Finest. This is probably also the smoothest of the bunch. To me, RM12 competes with Foursquare's cask series, just without the level of nuance/interest those ones offer.

Compared to the already-excellent Real McCoy 5-year, the taste is very similar, making it difficult to justify the extra expense of the 12. The 12-year is slightly smoother, and has a richer nose of brown/demerara sugar. The 12 is clearly a more refined/enjoyable sipping rum, so grab it if it's within your budget, but I was surprised at just how good the 5 was, so feel no regrets about trying that one instead if your budget's tighter (or if you want an exceptional mixer).

8++

I would love to do a side-by-side tasting with this, Doorly's 12-year (finished in ex-Sherry casks) and RL Seale's Finestβ€”the latter two appearing to be significantly better values from the same distillery. But you can't really go wrong with any of these :)

(PS, I don't understand how anyone could rate this less than a 6, but apparently some have very different standards than the site's rating suggestions. [Also, wow, this rum must have excellent distribution in Denmark!] At the time of this review, the rating without these peculiar outliers would be 8.04, rather than 7.58.)

Update: 8+, 8 :)

Posted over 1 year ago by 5691Aa πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 30 ratings

This is a well made rum. Lovely vanilla aroma. At 1st opening, the bourbon oak on the palate is quite pronounced. By 2nd round it mellows to the pleasant oakey notes you get from a fine Barbados rum. It's only sin is the fact it is distilled at Four Square. The natural thought is to compare to other Four Square rums. While this is a fine rum, it is plain vanilla relative to the others. If made at another distillery I'd give it 2 more stars.

Posted over 1 year ago by Earl Elliott πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 213 ratings

Sugar: 0-5 GPL. I have had this one on my list for quite some time and decided that it's Thanksgiving and I need a new bottle of rum. It was as expected. Dry but really well balanced rum with a great burn that lasts and lasts. Caramel-Brown Sugar with some Smoke, Oak, Vanilla, and some Pepper. I believe that the charred bourbon casks really did their job with this fine Barbadian rum. It's a little hot and spicy at first but mellows out after a few minutes and has a long finish. It needs to breath a bit and a single drop of water will do to this rum what it will do to a fine scotch. It's a good Bajan rum from Foursquare and it's a bit pricey in Canada at $80. If you like Bourbon, Whiskey, or Scotch, then give this rum a try.

Posted 9 months ago by RumTraveler πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 7 ratings

Real McCoy 12 Year is a blend of pot and column still rums made from molasses and aged in ex-bourbon barrels for a minimum of 12 years. The rich, woody aroma gives a good preview of what this rum tastes like. There are prominent notes of oak and smoke on the palate, then a pleasant browned butter caramel flavor throughout the finish. This would be an excellent transitional rum for a bourbon drinker.

Posted over 1 year ago by TROY πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 16 ratings

I was really happy with this 12 year McCoy. Brought a smokiness I haven't experienced much. Excellent bottle for sure.

Posted over 1 year ago by poly.pop πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 38 ratings

Opens with light, warm oak and pineapple followed by vanilla and maraschino cherry. Excellent on the rocks or neat. A classic vanilla forward bajan rum.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Don πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 161 ratings

A rum from R.L. Steale at the Foursquare Distillery in Barbados. A 12 year single blended rum with no added sugar, flavour or artificial colour aged in American bourbon barrels. It has a medium mahogany colour and a light nose. It is well balanced with a bit of spice but quite smooth sipped neat. 40% abv, Batch #1218. $80 at LCBO

Posted almost 2 years ago by Neman3 πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ | 150 ratings

Absolutely one of the best out of my 50+ sorts I've tried. Likely the first one from a single barrel.
Easy on nose, smooth, delicious, yota of natural sweetness, long aftertaste, everything is perfect in there.

The Real McCoy - 10+1+1!

Posted 4 years ago by Michael N πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ | 72 ratings

I was on the fence about trying this one after reading the reviews, but finally decided to give it a try. If I had to rate it right out of the bottle it would be lower. I inadvertently let this one sit in the glass for 30 minutes while I was distracted. When I got around to trying it I was pleasantly surprised. Not to overbearing or sweet and very smooth. A nice sipper. Tried another glass without the wait and it was good but not quite like the first. Give it a try but let it sit a while.




Brand Details

Name: 12-Year
Company: Real McCoy
Type: Aged
Distillation: Pot and Column Still
ABV: 40.0%
Aged: 12
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Professional Reviews

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
2886
2. Kieron wood πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§
559
3. Michal Micko πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
545
4. Adrian Adame πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ώ
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ
514