Posting your rating...
The Duppy Share Caribbean rum

The Duppy Share Caribbean

Caribbean | Aged

The Duppy Share Caribbean rum is produced using a combination of 3-year Jamaican and 5-year Barbados rums. Both are aged in bourbon barrels and brought to London for bottling.

The name 'Duppy Share' comes from Caribbean folklore where the dark spirit 'duppies' take their share of rum from distilleries, similar to the traditional term 'angel’s share' when rum is lost due to evaporation during the aging process.

6.4/10
94 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
2
10
29
28
16
1
4

Rate The Duppy Share Caribbean

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

94 The Duppy Share Caribbean ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 10 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 177 ratings

taste - 6/10
smell - 6/10
sweetness - 7.5/10
price/value rating - 7/10

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 252 ratings

Funny how some people mistake uncoated real rum as "artificial". No doubt the nose gives of some of the classic Jamaican funk, which is very aromatic, fruity and slightly fermented. Combined with the more subtle, but also fruity and lightly oaky barbadian profile, it all starts to get very interesting. I love the nose. It's bustling with exotic notes of pineapple, banana, mango and peaches. It's slightly sweet with an underlying woody spiciness. The taste delivers with a lightly bodied, elegant and smoothe rum that retains an interesting and very flavourful profile with subtle fruity notes, descretely woody spiciness and a little hint of the fermented Jamaican funk. The Jamaican/barbadian combination works supremly in my book. At this price it's a real steal for a very sippable rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 439 ratings

In the whisky world, the angels take their share of whisky from the casks maturing it. In the Caribbean, it's the mischievous Duppy spirits that travel from island to island, taking their share of rum from the casks. This legend is where the stylish Duppy Share Caribbean Rum takes its name. It's made from a blend of bourbon-barrel-matured 5 year old rum from Barbados and 3 year old rum from Jamaica. A bright, bold and altogether very handsome rum.
Nose: Green banana, cinnamon, slightly oily, caramel.

Palate: Sultana and raisin, followed by vanilla and a hint of brine.

Finish: Lasting brown sugar, ginger and fresh lime.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Halsey from United States with 27 ratings

This is one of 24 rums "Drinks by the Dram" given to me as a present.

Never heard of this, and honestly the name didn't impress me much. So, "never judge a book"...and all that.

So, on to the review. Light color with a pleasant slightly spicy nose. ( I get that "funk" others have mentioned, but not unpleasant). First sip-big mouth feel, cinammon and other spices, a lot of alcohol burn and finish. I don't love this as a stand alone sipper, but suspect it would be terrific with some tonic as it has tons of body and flavor. Not overly sweet. I'd give it a 6.5 if I could, but will settle on a 7.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Shaun from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

This was bought locally in UK and the bottle promised a lot. Unfortunately nowhere near a sipping run for me (admittedly not sure it's meant to be a sipping rum but was very expensive if it was). As 007 would say... this is "indifferently blended" !! (Ok that was a line about a brandy but you get my point!).

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 140 ratings

The Jamaica is present on the nose as overripe banana, moderately funky, mixed with Bajan citrus fruits, the taste is similar mix of the two styles, first few shots are dominated with Jamaica, but then the Bajan starts to get more noticeable, the body starts to resemble Doorly' y, which is fine by me. The body is fruity, spicy, on the sweet side (as far as rum can be without added sugar), with a bit of sour twist, the aftertaste is long and spicy and has some alcohol burn in it, but the mix is still sippable, especially after the first third of the bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 91 ratings

I really like this blend; a dry Bajan spiced up with a drop from Jamaica. A very flavourfull rum with lots of floral and fruity notes both in scent and taste. Easy drinking for sure and always seducing to take a glass more than planned.

So why just a 7? Well that is because over the last year I tasted 3 more blends that are built around the same theme; Mates (by Mates), Selected Rum (by Ultimatum) and Sample Eleven (by Kintra) and they are all (a lot) better than the Duppy Share while still in the same price category (€25-30). The cheapest of them, and closest in taste, is Mates and that surpasses the Duppy Share by 4 steps; more flavour, more complexity, more fun and costing less money. So despite being a really nice rum and finishing this bottle will be no punishment there is no reason to buy another one; there are simply too many better rums around.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Pete034 from Australia with 25 ratings

Wow a little surprise packet. Floral to the nose and a little sweetness makes this a nice sipping rum

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 87 ratings

The bottle looks fun, with an enticing story on the label but the contents disappoint. The blend just doesn't work. It smells like rum flavour liqueur and the taste is forgettable. Mix it to enjoy but neat it's nothing special unfortunately.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

This is not a pleasant drink to drink straight, paid £26 and can not justify the price. Havana club no 7 is £20 and 10 times the drink this is

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2839 ratings

The Duppy Share Caribbean rum has a pretty decent bottle and label design, but what's inside really matters. The 3y portion of the Jamaican funk has not melted into the 5y portion of the Barbados flavors, so you get artificial vanilla and good old genuine glue for your taste buds.