Duppy Share Caribbean rum

Duppy Share Caribbean

Multiple | Aged

The Duppy Share Caribbean rum is produced using a combination of 3-year Jamaican and 5-year Barbados rums. Both are aged in bourbon barrels and brought to London for bottling.

The name 'Duppy Share' comes from Caribbean folklore where the dark spirit 'duppies' take their share of rum from distilleries, similar to the traditional term 'angel’s share' when rum is lost due to evaporation during the aging process.

6.4/10
110 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
3
12
34
33
19
1
4

Rate Duppy Share Caribbean

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

110 Duppy Share Caribbean ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Andy (PREMIUM) 🇬🇧 | 126 ratings
Posted almost 7 years ago

I didn't have much anticipation for this rum, but I have to say... It's quite good! Nose is spicy with a nice sweet and sour mixture. Taste has caramel, hazelnut, and molasses. Not hugely complete, but not harsh at all and easy to sip straight. Medium length finish is a let down as its slightly sour and lingers (not in a great way)

martin jeppesen 🇩🇰 | 255 ratings
Posted 6 years ago

Funny how some people mistake uncoated real rum as "artificial". No doubt the nose gives of some of the classic Jamaican funk, which is very aromatic, fruity and slightly fermented. Combined with the more subtle, but also fruity and lightly oaky barbadian profile, it all starts to get very interesting. I love the nose. It's bustling with exotic notes of pineapple, banana, mango and peaches. It's slightly sweet with an underlying woody spiciness. The taste delivers with a lightly bodied, elegant and smoothe rum that retains an interesting and very flavourful profile with subtle fruity notes, descretely woody spiciness and a little hint of the fermented Jamaican funk. The Jamaican/barbadian combination works supremly in my book. At this price it's a real steal for a very sippable rum.

Tomy 🇷🇴 | 439 ratings
Posted over 3 years ago

In the whisky world, the angels take their share of whisky from the casks maturing it. In the Caribbean, it's the mischievous Duppy spirits that travel from island to island, taking their share of rum from the casks. This legend is where the stylish Duppy Share Caribbean Rum takes its name. It's made from a blend of bourbon-barrel-matured 5 year old rum from Barbados and 3 year old rum from Jamaica. A bright, bold and altogether very handsome rum.
Nose: Green banana, cinnamon, slightly oily, caramel.

Palate: Sultana and raisin, followed by vanilla and a hint of brine.

Finish: Lasting brown sugar, ginger and fresh lime.

Halsey 🇺🇸 | 32 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

This is one of 24 rums "Drinks by the Dram" given to me as a present.

Never heard of this, and honestly the name didn't impress me much. So, "never judge a book"...and all that.

So, on to the review. Light color with a pleasant slightly spicy nose. ( I get that "funk" others have mentioned, but not unpleasant). First sip-big mouth feel, cinammon and other spices, a lot of alcohol burn and finish. I don't love this as a stand alone sipper, but suspect it would be terrific with some tonic as it has tons of body and flavor. Not overly sweet. I'd give it a 6.5 if I could, but will settle on a 7.

Shaun 🇬🇧 | 14 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

This was bought locally in UK and the bottle promised a lot. Unfortunately nowhere near a sipping run for me (admittedly not sure it's meant to be a sipping rum but was very expensive if it was). As 007 would say... this is "indifferently blended" !! (Ok that was a line about a brandy but you get my point!).

JKNitro 🇫🇮 | 66 ratings
Posted 18 days ago

Amber in color. Fruity on the nose. Strong taste of arrack, nuts, fruits and honey. I would say full bodied with reserve. This really has some potential and the quality of Worthy Park and Foursquare Distilleries show. I would recommend this anytime. I tasted with and without ice, works both ways.

Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 355 ratings
Posted 4 months ago

Got a 5cl sample of this rum from RR Tasting Club.
The name Duppy Share comes from the Duppies which is a ghost taking the best part of rum around the Caribbean islands and is the same thing as Angels Share that is the “phenomenon” originally from Scotland.
It’s a blend of 3yo pot still rum from the Worthy Park Distillery and 5yo column still rum from the Foursquare Distillery.
The aroma is fruity woody and spicy.
In mouth and palate about the same with some vanilla.
The finish is medium long and tastes about the same and I recognize ginger and lime.
Overall a recommendable rum especially when taking the price into account.

Seko 🇨🇿 | 190 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

The Jamaica is present on the nose as overripe banana, moderately funky, mixed with Bajan citrus fruits, the taste is similar mix of the two styles, first few shots are dominated with Jamaica, but then the Bajan starts to get more noticeable, the body starts to resemble Doorly' y, which is fine by me. The body is fruity, spicy, on the sweet side (as far as rum can be without added sugar), with a bit of sour twist, the aftertaste is long and spicy and has some alcohol burn in it, but the mix is still sippable, especially after the first third of the bottle.

Harrie 🇳🇱 | 91 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

I really like this blend; a dry Bajan spiced up with a drop from Jamaica. A very flavourfull rum with lots of floral and fruity notes both in scent and taste. Easy drinking for sure and always seducing to take a glass more than planned.

So why just a 7? Well that is because over the last year I tasted 3 more blends that are built around the same theme; Mates (by Mates), Selected Rum (by Ultimatum) and Sample Eleven (by Kintra) and they are all (a lot) better than the Duppy Share while still in the same price category (€25-30). The cheapest of them, and closest in taste, is Mates and that surpasses the Duppy Share by 4 steps; more flavour, more complexity, more fun and costing less money. So despite being a really nice rum and finishing this bottle will be no punishment there is no reason to buy another one; there are simply too many better rums around.

Pete034 🇦🇺 | 30 ratings
Posted 2 years ago

Wow a little surprise packet. Floral to the nose and a little sweetness makes this a nice sipping rum

Bill 🇬🇧 | 93 ratings
Posted over 4 years ago

The bottle looks fun, with an enticing story on the label but the contents disappoint. The blend just doesn't work. It smells like rum flavour liqueur and the taste is forgettable. Mix it to enjoy but neat it's nothing special unfortunately.




Brand Details

Name: Caribbean
Company: Duppy Share
Type: Aged
Distillation: Unknown

Loading

Professional Reviews

Loading

Loading