Domaine de Severin XO 6-Year rum

Domaine de Severin XO 6-Year

Guadeloupe | Aged | 45.0% ABV | Column Still (1-4) Distilled

5.3/10
39 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
9
6
7
10
2
1

Rate Domaine de Severin XO 6-Year

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

39 Domaine de Severin XO 6-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 3 years ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) 🇸🇪 | 317 ratings

Just back from this years rumcruise at the Baltic Sea with Birka cruises. Tested this and bought me a bottle to my Guadeloupe collection. It’s a blend of Rhum that’s at least six years old.
I’m a big fan of Guadeloupe Rhum, but I don’t think that this one can compete with best ones. But don’t get me wrong it’s very good and smooth. In nose and in mouth you can recognise vanilla, banana, citrus and wood. It’s having a fresh taste.The afterburn is quite long, dry and spicy.
Picture: My single bottles/Guadeloupe distilleries & My opened bottle.

Posted over 3 years ago by RoyalRum 🇦🇺 | 11 ratings

I think most of the negative comments I have read about this rum comes from the fact that it is an agricultural rum, which is therefore quite different from what most (=non-French) people call rum. I am not into agricultural rum, but I found this one interesting and refined. The smell and taste are that of sugarcane, which is pretty good. This is to me what most people would refer to as a taste of herbs. Agricultural rums form a category of their own, and I suspect this one to be a very decent one. I would therefore recommend non-French rum afficionados to taste it, if they have a chance, keeping in mind that it will be different from what they know.

Posted 1 month ago by bar la moura 🇭🇷 | 97 ratings

i like whisky but i m not a fan of heavy peated whiskies from islay, this rum is very sweet and
it s so smoky that it s like a peated malt ! sometimes i offer it to friends who like those whiskies,
probably aged in ex peated malt barrels ?

Posted 6 months ago by Staal 🇩🇰 | 59 ratings

Light in colour. Horrible odor. Again a smokey rum. Absolutely bad rum. Absolutely not for me. Horrible!

Posted over 1 year ago by Michal Micko 🇨🇿 | 546 ratings

Aroma is complex with fruits, grass, fresh and typical agricole tones. Tasze is well rounded typical agricole. Not so sweet, with bitter and naturaly sweet/fruity tones. Aftertaste is longer with woody, iodine tones.

Posted over 1 year ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) 🇨🇦 | 233 ratings

This is Day 4 sampling from my Advent calendar. While this rum is definitely dry I am not enjoying the taste, which reminds me of hazelnut, a flavor I can’t get used to.

Posted almost 2 years ago by krasnal 🇵🇱 | 49 ratings

Czy ja muszę trafiać na takie słabe rumy? Czy to kara jakąś?

Posted over 2 years ago by jancewicz 🇵🇱 | 33 ratings

First sip reminds me a whisky, it's a little bit smoky with a hint of sweetness but generally it is a dry rum. Quite complex. Some hogo funk. Drinkable and quite nice but not the best one.

Posted over 2 years ago by Rums-of-the-World 🇺🇸 | 8 ratings

This rum quickly grew on me. At first I wasn't thrilled with the musty, astringent nose, but those characteristics faded, and I was left with a vanilla and oak bomb. Very nice:

Domaine De Séverin XO is distilled in Guadalupe from fresh pressed cane and aged for at least 6 years in ex bourbon barrels. It's then bottled at 45%. In the glass it's light copper, with tones of brown in color, and has thick sticky legs.

The nose starts mildly astringent, which quickly fades, and allows the powerful wood to dominate. As time passes, the scent of vanilla begins to build. There is also a slightly musty smell that lingers on the background.

The palette is warm, dry and creamy. The taste of oak is noticeable on the front of the tongue, while the back of the tongue is hit with mild caramelized bananas.

The finish is medium to long, remains dry and has hints of pepper.

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 🇺🇸 | 2923 ratings

Visited Guadeloupe over the Holidays and truly enjoyed a great distillery tour at Domaine de Severin. Bought a bottle of XO from the distillery since they had a very limited tasting bar. Nice and sturdy bottle and label design. Surprisingly dry Rhum Agricole flavors complemented with grass, citrus, floral notes and plenty of oak to your nose and palate. Strong burn at the end being so dry. Rhum Agricole lovers can easily add 2 points to my score.




Brand Details

Name: XO 6-Year
Company: Domaine de Severin
Type: Aged
Distillation: Column Still (1-4)
ABV: 45.0%
Aged: 6
Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Reviews
1. Joola69 🇺🇸
2923
2. Kieron wood 🇬🇧
559
3. Michal Micko 🇨🇿
546
4. Adrian Adame 🇨🇿
529
5. Falcon91Wolvrn03 🇺🇸
514