Brugal Añejo rum

Brugal Añejo

Dominican Republic | Gold

Brugal Anejo rum is a blend of rums aged 3 to 5 years in used American white Oak barrels that previously held whiskey and bourbon.

The rum is produced in the Dominican Republic by Brugal & Co., a company that was founded in the late 1800s by the Spaniard Andrés Brugal Montaner. Today, the Brugal rum company remains largely in the control of Montaner's direct descendants.

5.5/10
306 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
11
14
29
81
87
54
18
6
2

Rate Brugal Añejo

Tap to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Review Images

User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image
User review image

306 Brugal Añejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Newest | Oldest | Rating

Trini Yank 🇹🇹 | 41 ratings
Posted over 9 years ago

Excellent rum when you factor the price in. Definitely sippable - smooth and sweetish. Has a smoky note that reminds you it's Dominican but it doesn't overpower the rum like Havana Club or Matusalem. When you can get this for about $20 in the US and $15 in Puerto Rico, it makes it quite a nice purchase.

shelteredexistence 🇺🇸 | 49 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

This is a solid rum, preferably for drinks that require a dynamite rum that can "show through". This rum gives you the sense of a fine Caribbean rum, but doesn't quite have the age required to bring it to the levels of the island sippers.

Rorschach 🇧🇬 | 32 ratings
Posted 7 months ago

Note: I'm a sipper. My opinion is based on sipping characteristics.

Frankly, I'm leaning more towards a 4 but let's be a bit generous. One thing that's certain however is I won't be having another bottle. It was the first time in my experience I was puzzled whether what hit me as soon as it entered my mouth was a mold or earth. Either way, it was not a pleasant thing to taste. Actually I threw away the contents of first glass and switched glasses but unfortunately that did not help. It's not a bad rum per se, it's just this particular feeling you are sipping something that ain't right.

Beneluxor 🇧🇪 | 16 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Brugal Añejo rum from the Dominican Republic - in the perhaps updated version, with the more-blue label appearing as in photos from other commenters - is to my taste very pleasant, smooth, drinkable, a bit towards the elegantly dry side as Brugal suggests, without harshness as is sometimes found in rums of this modest price level. Not as distinguished in flavouring as others, but to me very drinkable on its own without mixing. Not sure about the fishnet on the bottle LOL

Root-theory 🇵🇱 | 84 ratings
Posted almost 2 years ago

BRUGAL ANEJO

Zapach: Melasa, karmel, skórka pomarańczy, delikatna orzechowa nuta. Zapach niezbyt skomplikowany oraz alkoholowy.

Smak: Karmel, nuta pomarańczowa, trawiasta, lekka słodycz, delikatna melasa, stara beczka. Jest płasko oraz dość alkoholowo.

Rum w odbiorze sprawia wrażenie surowego, młodego oraz niezbyt skomplikowanego. I tego należy od jego oczekiwać. W drinkach jest jak najbardziej w porządku i tam się najlepiej czuje. Do zdobycia na półkach pewnego polsko-portugalskiego dyskontu. Rum mimo dość niewielkiej ceny 50-60pln cechuje jakość - nie ma tutaj nut mało przyjemnych, nie jest odrzucający.

Po wizycie w fabryce tego rumu również doceniam fakt iż niesie ze sobą coś co odkryłem dopiero degustując dość sporo wyprodukowanych tam rumów - nawet młode nie otrząsają oraz sprawiają wrażenie dobrej bazy destylacyjnej. Z czystym sumieniem polecam jako zamiennik Havanna Club 3YO oraz Bacardi Carta Negra

Ocena: 62/100

Dumle2000 🇸🇪 | 26 ratings
Posted 5 years ago

Not much to say really. I could be biased from drinking this rum in cold rum n'cokes in late night merengue clubs over in DR but then I could also have an incredible taste ;-)

Sip it with a little ice and a splash of water. Add honey if you want.

martin jeppesen 🇩🇰 | 254 ratings
Posted over 6 years ago

For the money not to shabby and not overly sweet. Neat it's slightly neutral with clean light oak supplemented by subtle vanilla and caramel without being edgy, but it's obviously meant for mixing. Makes for a good cheap cocktail base.

OdysseusUnbound 🇨🇦 | 40 ratings
Posted 3 months ago

I sipped this one neat at first and it didn't work for me. Very alcohol-forward on the nose (acetone/nail polish remover), and a very thin mouthfeel. There's a dankness on the palate that isn't pleasant..it kind of reminds me of a moldy basement. Now it's not THAT pronounced but it's there for sure. This works well enough with cola or in a punch but there are better choices imho.

Appie 🇳🇱 | 1 rating
Posted 1 year ago

I'm a rum newbie, usually a whisky lover. My friend told me rum's can be also very good. I remember Rum's I drank back in the day in Venezuela, those were very nice. One of them I remember finished regurarely as one of the best Rum's in the world, something they were very proud of. And deservedly so.

So I decided to buy a few reasonably priced Rum's with good ratings, looking at the ratings here I should have known better, but this is just not that great. Initially It's nice, raisins, caramel and vanilla with some mild oakiness, but men ... that finish is just like any cheap liquor. A waste of money, spend 20% more on a whisky and you'll have a completely different experience.that's actually worth drinking.

Anyway, this is not the one that convinced me. Also not better in my coke than a cheaper Vieux.

alseick 🇵🇱 | 8 ratings
Posted over 1 year ago

Sipping: low flavour, watery, whisky wood, a little bit alcoholic, but not in a bad way, smooth.

Mix: whisky woody notes. IMO it has a taste of rum and whisky mix.
Alternatives if you like woody rums:
Dictador 12(old wood french polish smell), Flor De Cana 12(more fresh, sweeter, a little bit more taste, rum-like wood notes), for me - only this one had this typical whisky wood smell.

Considering the price, it is a bargain for mixing if you like such notes. I do.

Notes: Scotch whisky wood, alcoholic, watery
Wood: Scotch whisky wood
Fruits: none
Sweet: almost none
Kick: medium-high
Salty: none
Flavour: low
Aftertaste: low-medium(wood)
Wine: none
Funk: none

Mchess1 🇺🇸 | 1 rating
Posted over 1 year ago

For the price, it’s not a bad everyday rum with some coke and a squeeze of lime.